We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN International Annecy

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN International Annecy to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN International Annecy
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Avenue du Rhone, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and room was quite adequate and very clean, but probably a little more "sparse" than English hotels. Although near a major road with the windows closed we couldn't hear the traffic at all. 5 minute walk from the train station and 10 minutes pleasant walk from the lake. The staff were all very helpful and always at the front desk but not always around in the bar - it wasn't ever very busy, so that may be why no-one could just be left there to wait. The breakfast choice and standard was amazing, You could help yourself to various fruits, prunes, grapefruit and whole apples and bananas, 3 types of cereal, 3 types of yoghurt, creme fraiche, croissants, pain au chocolat, pain au raisin, and homemade chocolate or plain cake, fresh French sticks and sliced breads for toasting, fruit juices, ham, large selection of cheeses, jam, chocolate spread, scrambled egg and sausages and eggs to boil for yourself. Coffees, teas and hot chocolate. Very good value for money. Would use again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    82
    70
    69
    27
See reviews for
33
101
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Donato Milanese, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed four days in this hotel. Close to the city center. Annecy is very beautiful, but...
I didn't have internet wi-fi for all time, every time that I said this problem to the reception, they replied me: "tomorrow will arrive the internet technician".
The room is very small and the breakfast was not the best.
In conclusion, the price is very expensive (room for two person, but only one guest 94 euros, plus breakfast)
Just one positive note: the personal is gentle.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As other reviewers have commented, the rooms in the Best Western are a little tired. They are clean and reasonably well facilitised with television, phone and hairdryer. One nice little touch was that my room had a clock radio next to the bed which saved having look for a watch or mobile in the night.

The staff are all very pleasant and helpful. However, the bar was left unattended for long periods in the evening. Wifi is free and worked well, for me.

The hotel is located around 15 minutes walk from the lake. Annecy is a very pretty town and well worth a visit, and the Best Western is not a bad place to stay if you do.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Hotel looks tired and grubby yet the latest brochure describes the rooms as newly remodelled. In spite of a good location and charming check in experience, there was no internet connection from our room, the TV was brokenand (not one channel was available), the telephone was not working, so every time we were told to try the internet again we had to go to reception in person to report that it still did not work. We were told to wait for the next receptionist to come on duty as he might be able to help. No joy. He moved us to another room on a different floor but still no wi-fi. The safe was not working and our non smoking room's balcony was full of sigarette butts. I prefer the stairs to a lift so I noticed that there were trays and bottles on every level. The trays I saw on arrival on the Saturday were still not collected on the Monday. The "duty Manager" was not on duty all week-end therefore our complaints could not be dealt with satisfactorily. The staff were nice enough but appeared demotivated and ineffective.

The breakfast was terrible and really poor value for money. In spite of our inconvenience we were asked to pay in full. The problem with the wi-fi robbed us of an afternoon's sightseeing in Annecy which is quite a lot when we were only there for 2 nights, but more importantly we were unable to communicate with family and friends when we needed to.

The duty manager has been asked to contact us. I will follow up when he does.

Room Tip: Not 519. Make sure wi-fi works on your floor before you are checked in. Air con. units are very nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of a party en route to Italy. I am so grateful it was a stopover and no more. The hotel was grubby and the staff in the dining room made us feel unwelcome and a nuisance. When we finally managed to get a waitress in bar she didn't seem to know her job although she was the most pleasant by far.
Not a hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is without a doubt one of the worst 'hotels' I have ever stayed in. The room we stayed in had a central heating pump running all night in spite of the fact that we had reported it to the reception. They had assured us that if they were unable to rectify the problem we could be moved.(I should point out that when we did report it we were challenged as to why we had not reported it that morning -just a bit difficult as we did not arrive until 4.00 in the afternoon) We told reception that we were just going into dinner and were told they would let us know). As no one came to us we assumed that the problem had been dealt with. When we got back to our room at 11.30 that night imagine our horror to be met with the same racket. We hardly manged to sleep and when we handed our key in the following morning we could hardly believe that we were asked how we had slept. When we replied we were told that we were not correct as another receptionist had said the noise had been fixed. Their idea of customer service is just above zero!
Our experience in the dining room was no better with a staff who were unable to comprehend or to fulfill our order. I speak pretty good French but had to ask three times for an aperitive which was subsequently offered with the main course because the waitress ..'had forgotten'. We were segregated from the main dining room because we were part of a group and we felt more like second class citizens. When we went to the bar after dinner there was not a member of staff to be seen and we had to go and find someone. She was unable to take money so we had to pay the following morning and no breakdown of the bill was provided but because we chose not to have any more conflict we simply paid up.
The electric plug had also been broken away from the wall and the carpet was less than clean. It is difficult to accept that this establishment is part of the Best Western group and I will be writing to them direct

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed four nights 30th July to 3rd August 2012. Room with double bed very compact. As a couple we needed to adopt a one-way system to get to the bathroom or use the wardrobe. Toilet is separate from the bathroom and could prove difficult to use for a larger person in a confined space. Bed very comfortable. But what the hotel room lacks in space, it is more than made up for by the staff who are very helpful and welcoming. The location is only a few minutes walk from the station, which is currently undergoing substantial modification. It is also a short walk from the beautiful old town of Annecy. Just follow footpaths alongside the canal. As mentioned by other reviewers, there are vagrants encountered on occasions along these pathways, but we were never approached or felt threatened in any way, and they are well it at night. We booked through booking.com, and although there was no booking cancellation fee, the fee was first debited at the time of booking then credited back to my credit card. This resulted in a hidden and somewhat sneaky difference of £21.86. No doubt due to currency exchange rates, but a sneaky charge nonetheless. Annecy old town is a A SHEER DELIGHT!!

Room Tip: Our room had a small balcony facing the front. We didn't ask for it, but it was nice to open the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN International Annecy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN International Annecy

Also Known As:
Best Western International Annecy Hotel
Best Western International Annecy Hotel Annecy
Best Western Annecy
Annecy Best Western
Address: 19 Avenue du Rhone, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN International Annecy 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situé au cœur de la Venise Savoyarde, découvrez le Best Western Hôtel International d'Annecy, établissement 3 étoiles multi-services, idéal pour l’organisation de vos séjours touristiques et professionnels.A 200 mètres de la gare d'Annecy et à 10 minutes à pied des rives du lac, le Best Western Hôtel International vous propose de découvrir une large gamme de services : 132 chambres modernes et confortables, une cuisine savoureuse, un bar convivial, un SPA design et relaxant ainsi qu’un espace conférence de 400m2. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN International Annecy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN International Annecy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.