We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Noisy..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Nouvel Hotel to your Saves list
Nouvel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Paris
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice and Noisy..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Conveniently located a few steps from the main train station (and a few more manageable
steps from old town), with the inconvenients which come along with it (intense traffic, some
weirdos on the street every now and then). There is a tiny elevator to access all the floors
but you'll still have to walk up a few steps to reach the lobby. The rooms are quite basic
but very functional. The bed mattress was firm in my room, a bit of storage is available to
hang a few clothes, and a small desk as well awkwardly placed in the corner of the room. The
bathroom includes a toilet, a sink and a hose hairdryer, with a rather dim single yellowish
neon lighting. No curtain on the large bath tub, and the water pressure was low in both the
shower head and the sink. The room window was facing the street (maybe the rooms on the
opposite side in the hall are facing an inside courtyard which should be quieter) and
despite having double layers the noise outside woke me up in my sleep twice during my stay
which was unpleasant. This was partially made up for thanks to their extensive buffet
breakfast provided on the 2nd floor, which could easily be attributed to a higher starred
hotel. It comprised a few varieties of hams, cheeses and breads, yogurts, fruit salad and
decent juices. The cleaning was efficient and the managers very polite. The wifi was broken
for most of my stay but when it was fixed it was of average speed - enough for reading email
and browsing a bit but not good enough for high quality VoIP. I'd probably stay there again
if I could be guaranteed a less noisy room.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room not facing the train station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    37
    12
    10
See reviews for
18
47
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel provided enough for a great stay in beautiful Annecy. We had a last minute booking in peak season and arrived in town at midnight - it is so close to the train station and the reception is open 24 hours, which made our arrival nice and easy. The room was pretty basic and comfortable, however there is no aircon so it was pretty hot at night!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel whilst watching the Tour de france. Good points: great location, clean, receptionist helpful, public underground parking round the corner (la poste) which was discounted. Not so good points: no air conditioning in our room - fan provided, no tea/coffee making tray. Didn't have breakfast so cannot comment. Basic hotel in great position but would not stay again due to no air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my family for a weekend during the Tour de France.
Check out the room types when youa re booking, they differ a lot (size, bath yes/no) as their prices. As I traveled with a 1 yr old baby I chose the comfort room and it was fit with my expectations for a 2-star hotel: spacious enough to have a cot, bathroom not very renovated but absolutely clean. Price for that room was higher but it was a good choice for me and my family
Breakfast is served in a nice room looking over an internal courtyard.
Located in the city centre, everything is at walking distance
Municipal indoor parking available at 1 min walking with convenient rates (9€-day)

Room Tip: check out room types, go for a comfort room if you look for a 3-star quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very good location: 5 min from railway/bus station, 5 min to old city. Room is very simple.

There is no door at the bathroom, just a curtain. Very unfriendly kitchen-lady, hates children, I suspect. A bit weird pictures on the corridor walls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for one week for an workshop. It was a twin room that I shared with my colleague. In the mail of reservation, we clearly indicated two names but when I arrived (after my colleague), they said they didn't find my name in their list of reservation so I had a hard time getting the key for my room. But that's not the end of the story. When we left, we need to have the bills separately in order to get the payment from the laboratory, but we couldn't get them. First of all, the only bill we got is some simple piece of paper with no name on that. The total price we had to pay is 300 euros for 5 nights. My colleague (who stayed one more night) paid 180 euros. My turn, they let me pay 130.15 euros and explained that the 10.15 euros comes from the "taxe de sejour" and a (very bad) coffee that I took in the first morning (which costs 2.50 euros). I was very surprised by the fact that they made me paid something which is not indicated on the bill but since I was in a hurry for the session in the morning, I didn't want to make it complicated. With my colleague, we politely asked again for two separate bills, and that was the moment when I got very upset. They let us standing there waiting. Meanwhile they did other things with people that wanted give back the keys, though we were there in advance. After like half an hour, I said I couldn't wait anymore and left.
And one more important comment, if you have no other choice but staying at this hotel, don't ever have breakfast here. You pay 10 euros for very very bad quality food.
So except if you really need to stay close to the TGV station, I don't recommend you to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Address: 37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nouvel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nouvel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.