We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ansome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nouvel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ansome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Really nice hotel, staff are really friendly and helpful.
It is great values for money!
Breakfast is especially good, it Is fresh and very simplistic but brilliant!

Will always remember this place :)
It is also a very central location, really ideal to see what Annecy has to offer.

Would come back again!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    38
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
18
41
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed during our vacation a couple of days at the Nouvel hotel. The hotel is quite basic, rooms small. so are the bathrooms - and the breakfast at 6 euro per person also quite basic. The good thing about the hotel is that it is centrally located just 100 meters from the train- and bus station with connections to Geneva, Lyon, Chambery, Albertville, Charmonic and several other great places in the French and Swiss alps. And the hotel is very centrally located to the charming center de ville, with the canals and the ancient town center, Annecy is a very, very pretty and charming town with everything in walking distance. We rented bikes down by the lakeside, and took the 40 km´s around the lake - very nice tour with small lakeside towns where you can have a pit stop whenever you feel like it.
The staff at the front desk and in the hotel has quite a limited knowledge to the english language, but with a few french frases you will be able to get along.
Closest international airports are Geneva and Chambery both within an hours bus or train ride.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Only positive point: the central location.

BUt in the same area there plentyof other hotels which offer better rooms at lower prices!

Our room (first floor) room was somelike "not finished" : renewed/refreshed on the corridor but very old inside with missing furnitures. The towels for the shower were extra-small. The wifi almost not existing: to have it I had to stand up in the front of the door.

To finish: extremely unpoilte staff! The hotel claim to offer a ticket for a free nigth in the close pay parkings. I forget to ask for it when I did the checkout in the morning and thus tried to collect it the middle of the afternoon when I was leaving Annecy. The staff refused to give it to me saying "you forget to ask --> you don't get it!" and smiling at me at same time! No way to have the ticket and we should had to pay rhen igth in the parking.

Don't go to this hotel: closest hotels offers better rooms at lower price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We picked this hotel because we needed to be near the train station for an early morning departure. As such it served its purpose ok but it was way over-priced for a budget hotel.
The 4th floor didn't have a lift going to it so we had to carry all our bags up from the 3rd floor - not a big issue unless you have big bags, tired children etc (which we did)!
When we arrived the lights in our family suite didn't work and it took 20 minutes of sitting in the darkness with our young children moaning to fix the problem. Staff were not really apologetic and certainly did not offer any sort of refund. Not a good start - the rooms were also too cold.
The suite was fine and clean once we could see it - basically fairly standard modern, budget hotel. Good space for a family.
Unfortunately only one room had a (noisy) heater/AC unit so the other room and the bathroom were far too cold (it being February). Even the main room was cold because it was too noisy to keep the unit on. I think the place was designed for summers rather than winters!
Although we were at the top of the building, it was still noisy throughout the night either as a result of neighbouring rooms or people/traffic outside. I would not describe it as a quiet place to be but perhaps not surprising given its central location.
All in all, it was ok as a budget, stop-over hotel close to the rail station but the suite was way over-priced!
One other thing - if you are trying to drive to this hotel (or many others in the centre of Annecy) it is a nightmare one-way road system and poor signage. We gave up and got dumped at the rail station (once we managed to find that!!). If you've got one bring a GPS/SatNav!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the main train station as well as the sights in town. The rooms are a little old but very clean. Our room faced the street so there was some noise. Overall a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MENTON
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

very good value, good location, clean, close to the train station and the old town, staff very helpfull and room very quiet. Nice roome for this price.
One of the best hotel in Annecy for this category

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saue, Estonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Good location - very close to old town.
Clean and quiet room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Address: 37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nouvel Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nouvel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.