We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced hotel - unpolite staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nouvel Hotel to your Saves list
Nouvel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Vevey, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Over priced hotel - unpolite staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Only positive point: the central location.

BUt in the same area there plentyof other hotels which offer better rooms at lower prices!

Our room (first floor) room was somelike "not finished" : renewed/refreshed on the corridor but very old inside with missing furnitures. The towels for the shower were extra-small. The wifi almost not existing: to have it I had to stand up in the front of the door.

To finish: extremely unpoilte staff! The hotel claim to offer a ticket for a free nigth in the close pay parkings. I forget to ask for it when I did the checkout in the morning and thus tried to collect it the middle of the afternoon when I was leaving Annecy. The staff refused to give it to me saying "you forget to ask --> you don't get it!" and smiling at me at same time! No way to have the ticket and we should had to pay rhen igth in the parking.

Don't go to this hotel: closest hotels offers better rooms at lower price!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    41
    38
    12
    12
See reviews for
20
48
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We picked this hotel because we needed to be near the train station for an early morning departure. As such it served its purpose ok but it was way over-priced for a budget hotel.
The 4th floor didn't have a lift going to it so we had to carry all our bags up from the 3rd floor - not a big issue unless you have big bags, tired children etc (which we did)!
When we arrived the lights in our family suite didn't work and it took 20 minutes of sitting in the darkness with our young children moaning to fix the problem. Staff were not really apologetic and certainly did not offer any sort of refund. Not a good start - the rooms were also too cold.
The suite was fine and clean once we could see it - basically fairly standard modern, budget hotel. Good space for a family.
Unfortunately only one room had a (noisy) heater/AC unit so the other room and the bathroom were far too cold (it being February). Even the main room was cold because it was too noisy to keep the unit on. I think the place was designed for summers rather than winters!
Although we were at the top of the building, it was still noisy throughout the night either as a result of neighbouring rooms or people/traffic outside. I would not describe it as a quiet place to be but perhaps not surprising given its central location.
All in all, it was ok as a budget, stop-over hotel close to the rail station but the suite was way over-priced!
One other thing - if you are trying to drive to this hotel (or many others in the centre of Annecy) it is a nightmare one-way road system and poor signage. We gave up and got dumped at the rail station (once we managed to find that!!). If you've got one bring a GPS/SatNav!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the main train station as well as the sights in town. The rooms are a little old but very clean. Our room faced the street so there was some noise. Overall a good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MENTON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

very good value, good location, clean, close to the train station and the old town, staff very helpfull and room very quiet. Nice roome for this price.
One of the best hotel in Annecy for this category

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saue, Estonia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Good location - very close to old town.
Clean and quiet room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for 4 nights in September. Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to old town and lake of Annecy. Car parking over the corner from hotel. Hotel itself is budget type but clean. Rooms are good size and clean but decor outdated and very basic. The building itself is old with thin walls. We could hear all noises from neighbouring rooms as well as outside, which was a downside of our stay. Bed mattress was very worn down as well. Breakfast not worth the price at all and no refills. So if you decided to have late breakfast I'd rather recommend to go to have it somewhere in old town for the same price. Staff speaks English and seemed nice. Overall, I would recommend it for a short stay where you only need a place to stay the night with easy access to town and car parking.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed in Annecy over the weekend - simply brilliant. Gorgeous scenery, lots of cafes, bars, street culture and surprising nightlife - well recommended. This hotel was "cheap" by Annecy standards and we paid E325 for three nights, bed only. The location was perfect, with an underground car park a few metres away so you could just forget the car. It was clean and tidy, but the beautiful facade did nor corrolate with the interior which had been renovated to include black./ purple doors to the bedrooms, strange secondary glazing to the beautiful french windows and a very dated bathroom which had clearly not received a "makeover" in some 50 years!!! But for the price, location and helpfulness of staff, I would still recommend looking at this clean establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Address: 37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nouvel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nouvel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.