We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION, STRANGE ALMOST GOTH CORRIDORS!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Save Saved
You added Nouvel Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Derby England
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION, STRANGE ALMOST GOTH CORRIDORS!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed in Annecy over the weekend - simply brilliant. Gorgeous scenery, lots of cafes, bars, street culture and surprising nightlife - well recommended. This hotel was "cheap" by Annecy standards and we paid E325 for three nights, bed only. The location was perfect, with an underground car park a few metres away so you could just forget the car. It was clean and tidy, but the beautiful facade did nor corrolate with the interior which had been renovated to include black./ purple doors to the bedrooms, strange secondary glazing to the beautiful french windows and a very dated bathroom which had clearly not received a "makeover" in some 50 years!!! But for the price, location and helpfulness of staff, I would still recommend looking at this clean establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    39
    36
    12
    10
See reviews for
18
46
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I wanted to like this place. They have a decent location and the price was pretty reasonable. The lack of air conditioning was not a problem unless it was mid-day. There were a lot of bugs in our room, but that is because we kept the windows open at night.

The major problem is that they stole two of our credit cards from deep in our luggage. We were contacted by our credit card companies about some suspicious charges (maxing out our accounts) and went looking for our cards. Fortunately or unfortunately, the cards were not ones we used frequently, and consequently we did not take them out of our hotel room. They were hidden in a wallet deep in our luggage, covered by clothing, zipped up and put in the corner of the room. We had the cards after check-in, and the charges on the cards were all in Annecy. Because of this, we are 100% certain the cards were stolen while at this hotel, from staff at the hotel. Additionally, the hotel requires that guests leave their key at the front desk when they leave, which allows them to easily know where you are at all times.

This was very unsettling and put a big damper on the rest of our time in Europe. I would highly recommend you look elsewhere, but if you must stay here, take ALL valuables with you when you leave the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

We ended up here because the hotel we booked lost our reservation, but it turned out just fine. The staff are friendly and the rooms spotlessly clean and well kept. As others have pointed out the rooms have a quirky 70's-80's style but in very good condition, didn't have that worn feel. We had to marvel at our acid primrose yellow tiled bathroom which was massive and came complete with a dial phone on the wall.

The room was quiet on the inner courtyard and the hotel is well placed just on the edge of the old town and near the station. In a few minutes you can be wandering through Annecy's charming old streets by canals and its about 8 mins to the lake. There is underground parking very near to the hotel and in Annecy all hotels give you a voucher to park your car for free from 19.00 to 08.00. (Put your ticket in the machine, then your voucher and the overnight cost is deducted, your ticket is kept and the voucher returned use this to exit the car park).

If I was looking for a budget then this hotel is perfectly good. I think we paid 70euros a night which is OK for Annecy

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

Great location. 3 mins walk from the train & bus station and 5 mins from the lake & old town, and much better than being in the old town with all the tourists!
The rooms and facilities were basic but very clean and the ambiance was good. If you're looking for a decent place just to lay your head when whilst you're not out exploring the town & area the Nouvel i'd recommend the Nouvel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

We stayed here for 4 nights in August 08. It's in a great location, 5 min walk from train station and 5 min walk into the centre of the old town. The location is excellent as it's away from the noisy streets of the old town. The hotel is very dated and basic but clean and comfortable. We didn't bother with breakfast as there were so many fantastic cafe's and restaurants around. Sometimes we'd just take a sandwich to the lake. Annecy is one of the nicest places I've ever visited and plan a return trip.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Old fashioned
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

We stayed one night at the Nouvel while passing through Annecy.

PROS: The hotel is only a five minute walk from the train station, which was ideal for us as we had a lot of luggage. We were worried the street it is located on might be noisy, but this turned out not to be the case, even though our room wasn't particularly soundproof.

The buffet breakfast the next morning was also good.

CONS: Our room was very dated, and looked as if it hadn't been decorated since the 1980s. The light over the bed flickered constantly, and as there was no way to turn the main room light off from the bed, one of us had to fumble back to the bed in the dark. The bathroom was as clean as it could be, but it was also rather shabby. There was a shower head attached to the bath but nowhere to hang it on the wall, so we had to hold on to it to shower.

A well located hotel let down by rooms in need of redecoration - there are better hotels in Annecy.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

Three of us (myself, my wife, and our adult daughter) stayed here for a lovely evening at the end of April, 2007. We chose this hotel on our daughter's recommendation--she stayed here with friends in the summer of 2006.
This hotel is in a great location, less than 5 minutes from the Gare SNCF (we travelled by train) and no more than a 5-minute walk from the vieille ville and maybe 10 minutes from the lake. There are several cafe's nearby for breakfast so we skipped the hotel breakfast.
Our triple room (1 double, 1 single) was adequately sized by French standards, very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the windows were double-glazed so we heard no street noise. The front desk staff were very helpful and spoke English well. They willingly held our luggage for the day while we were sightseeing. All in all, a good value for the price we paid. We'd certainly stay there again if we get back to Annecy.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Address: 37 rue Vaugelas, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nouvel Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nouvel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.