We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice week-end at bonlieu Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonlieu

Save Saved
You added Bonlieu to your Saves list
Bonlieu
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bonlieu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue De Bonlieu, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
13
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Great hotel that is only 5 minutes walk from the Old Town Centre the hotel is newly renovated and very clean and welcoming the price is very reasonable and now one of the best 3 stars in Annecy. The staff are more than friendly and helpful.
Although the rooms may seem a little small they are well thought out and feel spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The location of hotel is 5 minutes walk from the downtown. Bed and sheets are good, the shower really small, and the walls kind of creepy. From the pricing point of viewit is reasonable. The room is clean. Breakfast is modest. You can ask for a parking ticket from the reception (free of charge)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights, as part of a family inter-railing holiday.

On the whole I was satisfied with the hotel. I believe it was expensive for what you get, but that could be said for all 3 hotels I stayed in.

Positives.
Location - Perfect. 10 mins hike from the Railway Station, 10 mins to the Old Town, 5 mins to the lake/gardens and 20 mins to the nearest 'beach'.
Peaceful - tucked away a couple of streets from the busy roads that line the lake. No noise at night.
Clean - no complaints.
Accomodation - we had 2 connecting rooms, both with en-suites (one bath, one shower).

Negatives.
No restaurant/bar etc.. Breakfast was available, but for 12 Euro per person. We used the local Monoprix instead.
No kettle etc.. My wife (a tea addict) had to keep asking for boiling water, which was often given grudgingly.
No view, just the apartment block behind the hotel.

Unsure re: parking as thankfully didn't have a car (the roads were jammed).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weil am Rhein, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Stayed here for one night and it was good value for money.

The hotel is clean, quiet and in avery convenient location to walk into the centre of Annecy and to the lake.

Rooms are however very small and spartan. In addition to that my room smelt terribly of smoke.

The hotel has no atmosphere whatsoever and I would not like to spend a vacation there. If however on a one or maximum two night stop-over in Annecy while travelling through or on business, I would probably stay here again.

By the way, parking was no problem at all.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

A nice friendly hotel, in a quiet location on the edge of the town centre. Parking is a problem though.

  • Liked — Location is good
  • Disliked — There is no parking available
  • Tips/Secrets — Go when the fireworks are on (1st Sat. in August)
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2005

We were very disappointed with the Bonlieu's accomidations, which we felt were a mis-match to their 3 star rating. It actually made us wonder how the star rating system works.

First the good: excellent location in the older central part of Annecy, friendly staff and most important the hotel was very, very clean.

Now the bad: the rooms were spartan, closet-like cells with low ceilings and one small window which added to its dormroom feel. Stay away if you are claustrophobic! We actually had to ask for a larger room so we could open our suitcases! (There are only a few "larger" rooms which are still smaller than what you would expect for a regular room.)

The overall atmosphere is of a minimialistic business hotel without style. The hotel offers up-to-date bathrooms (with a hair dryer) but don't be looking for counter space!
There is an elevator and a breakfast room.
Parking can be purchases for about 7 euros a day, but the parking lot is about 5 minutes away (walking distance). Payant parking is available in front of the hotel.

I would recommend the Bonlieu for a one night stay, but I think most people would find it offers an unpleasant atmosphere for a longer stay. Again what the hotel lacks for style they make up for cleanliness. It does have a great location for walking in the old section and lake.
We felt it was worthy of 2 stars, not 3.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonlieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonlieu

Address: 5 Rue De Bonlieu, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonlieu 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bonlieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonlieu Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonlieu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.