We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorges du Fier

Gorges du Fier
Lovagny, 74330 Annecy, France
33 04 50 46 23 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 42 things to do in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Cape Town, South Africa
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It really is worth the just under 15 minute drive from Annecy. If you prefer to wander about in nature, rather than in shops, then this attraction is worth it. We spent a great 2 and a half hours here. Do note that there are quite a few steps to climb if you use the first parking lot. It seemed like the second parking lot had a more gradually sloped walkway, for those who aren't comfortable with stairs. We saw some people struggling with the latter. The gorge is truly beautiful and the amount of workmen and hours that must have gone into the construction of the walkways, roughly 24metres above the water, is awe-inspiring. Take time to read the signboards halfway along the walkway, so that you can appreciate the surprise on the way back. Also, have look in the little room on your way out, as they have spectacular footage of how high the water occasionally rises to completely cover the walk bridge. Before leaving up the many steps, we wandered in the opposite direction, along the tarred road, past the picnic tables and veered off into the woods on a few pathways, eventually reaching a beautiful stretch of river as it runs into the gorge.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    142
    22
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great excursion...brilliant use of natural formation. Kids loved it (my mum would have hated it though :)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were staying at Lac Leman, and had already found this place to visit before we left home. It looked very interesting on the internet, and we were not disappointed with our visit.

We arrived, and parked up in the reasonably sized car park. There was a fair walk to the entrance to the Gorge, but there are lovely views along the path to the main building.

It was scorching hot when we visited, and pushing two children in a pushchair was hard work in the heat. When we came to order our tickets, it became apparent that we couldn't just carry our one year old through the walkways. They were kind enough to provide us with a sturdy back carrier for our baby. My Wife chose to carry him, which she later regretted, as he's a fair old lump, and the weather was very humid that day.

Anyway the walkways were an engineering marvel, with paths hanging out over the Gorge. We've never experienced anything like it before, it was genuinely a great experience. The water that had carved the Gorge rushed beneath us, with the sound reverberating up the rock faces.

After passing through the Gorge, the paths continue through further rock formations. My Wife by this point was at the point of exhaustion, so we decided to head back to the car.

France is full of marvellous sights, and it has to be said that we have nothing like this in the UK.

Certainly worth the drive, and I would highly recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good spot to spend a couple of hours. Takes an hour or so to walk through the gorge. I am not great with heights but it was fine. Before the entrance there is a good spot by the river for a picnic. Price wasn't too bad.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a morning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Located within an easy drive of Annecy only takes 20 minutes from the centre and not too difficult to find. We read about the legend and then visited the chateaux afterwards.
The pictures of the gorge in flood were amazing and you could just imagine how powerful the water must have been.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorges du Fier also viewed

Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Gorges du Fier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorges du Fier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.