We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned once again to this little piece of paradise called Annecy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Palais de l'Isle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Palais de l'Isle to your Saves list
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 rue Perriere, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Returned once again to this little piece of paradise called Annecy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed here a year ago and not even the tight squeeze in the rooms would keep us away. We love the position being the in the heart of the old town. The staff are outstanding and through the planning stages arranged everything on our behalf, from reliable shuttle services, very good restaurants from the ordinary to the extra ordinary (at our request) and the ordinary was very good value for money and very tasty indeed, not to mention the coffee shops and a fabulous hair dresser. The xmas market was very special not to mention the spectular light and music show put on every evening for the city to enjoy. A magical place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: Do request a room with a view of the canal and the old prison - splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    77
    40
    11
    8
See reviews for
21
105
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is central but the entrance not easy to find. Clean rooms, small but well appointed bathrooms. comfortable bed.The only drawback was the street noise, but in the centre of a town with narrow streets that is to be expected. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We paid a premium for one of the few rooms with a balcony and a view of the canal. A beautiful setting with the lake down the lane and the square opposite.

The down side was that we had to put the TV on the floor, stack two chairs on top of one another and put the case rack in the toilet to make enough room to put a case on top of the fridge so we coul walk around the bed!

The up-side is the location and the friendly staff. The room was clean and the air-conditioning worked.

A hint on breakfast: You can get an anglo breakfast (eggs and bacon) at the cafe just arount the corner for less that the cost of the hotel's ham and cheese roll.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just come back from Annecy and the Palais was a great location to explore the old town and have a comfortable place to stay when you have done all your walking. The hotel is always full on a Saturday when the town is busy but there are still plenty of restaurants and bars and plenty of atmosphere. We stayed in ROOM 303 which faces out over the square and the river and high enough to leave any street noise as nothing more than a background hum. We chose not to have breakfast, there are so many nice places to have breakfast in the town that it gave us more choice. The room was very clean and deserved its 3star status. Parking can be a problem but there are two free car parks close by (one next to the police station) which aren't far away or you can choose the underground CPs closer, the hotel will give you a voucher for the period between 7pm and 9am each day and you will need to pay the difference. You can drive up to the hotel entrance using the intercom at the entrance to the pedestrian zone however car parks are close so not much of an inconvenience.
Would stay again at this hotel and would recommend both the hotel and the town to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac,MD
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very worn and run down, in the middle of a crowded tourist area, very small uncomfortable room.In life you usually get what you pay for and this is partially true here because the cost was more than it was worth. Parking was difficult, could not easily pull up to hotel to unload because it is in a pedestrian zone of the old town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in August; we hadn't booked and found this hotel by chance - and what a find!

Lovely and charming, very clean and welcoming.

We didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on this and the only down side to our stay was the lack of parking, but this is understandable considering the location othe hotel.

Would stay again and recommend to others.

.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in the middle of August coinciding with the Festival du Lac, and Annecy was absolutely heaving. We watched it all from our superior room on the 4th floor, soaking up the atmosphere, but the joy was that we could close the windows, turn on the air conditioning, and we couldn't hear a thing - a real bonus.

Our room was a bit small, but that was compensated for by the sheer convenience of the location. Nearby restaurants were better than expected and for an escape from the bustle, we found a charming wine bar on the ramp up to the castle which was a great respite.

Parking was tricky and carrying luggage to and from the car park was a pain, but the hotel even managed to store a bike securely for us in their cellar

A previous reviewer mentioned the charming lady who served them at breakfast and we would recommend her as well - a funny and cheery start to the day

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Palais de l'Isle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Palais de l'Isle

Address: 13 rue Perriere, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Palais de l'Isle 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Palais de l'Isle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Palais de l'Isle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.