We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Zinc

Le Petit Zinc
11 Rue Pont Morens, 74000 Annecy, France
+33 (0) 4 50 51 12 93
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 326 Restaurants in Annecy
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Good, but not great food. Better than average for Annecy. Excellent atmosphere and service.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    28
    29
    31
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location in Old town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have visited this restaurant twice. The first time I would have given it a higher rating.
The second time the food was not so good, there was something strange about the tartiflette, and the service was slower and less friendly.
Still a great location with a fab atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We arrived at 11:10am and asked what time they opened. The two people working there did not speak english and my wife and I are woefully pitiful at speaking French. We finally figured out that they wanted us to come back at 11:30am. We arrived and were the first people seated. 15 minutes after we were seated, the restaurant was full. I read a NYT article on the search for the perfect tartiflette and decided to order the tartiflette with ham and mushrooms. My wife ordered the French Onion Soup and the tartiflette as well. My wife really enjoyed her soup and kept saying how much more flavor the French Onion Soups have in France than in the USA. Our tartiflettes were very tasty, but overflowing with potatoes. Having never had a tartiflette before, we were both a little disappointed with the amount of potatoes versus amount of cheese, ham and mushrooms. The creme fraiche was a nice touch and was great to sop up with the fresh baguettes. They made an excellent belgian beer recommendation to go with the meal and overall we were very happy. We'll have to try tartiflettes more at other restaurants to give a real review on that dish. The service was actually pretty good for there really only being two people to service an entire restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“Delicious food in the old town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

After walking around the old town, we were attracted to the
Zinc because there were so many customers! Always a good sign. It is an old building . It felt medieval , the low ceiling with old wooden beams looked so Old World. I had the Plat du Jour which was Beef Burguinone while my husband had lamb shank. Both were delicious. Just what you would expect from a homey French restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“We love the food here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Each time that we visit Geneva area, we try to go to this restaurant in Annecy (France). We found it by accident some years ago, located in one of the main pedestrian streets.
The food is typical from the region (which is Savoie) and we have tried the Tartiflette, the Diot (sausage cooked in white wine), baked pork, baked lamb and even the salads are good.
The dishes cost around 18€ (+-), we think it to be expensive but quite normal for the area, nevertheless it is always full. They close on Tuesdays or Wednesdays, I am not sure.
The waiters could be a little bit more pleasant, but after living some time in France we got used to this.
In reality, we know that we are going to have a good meal so, we try not to pay too much attention to the rest.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Zinc also viewed

 
Annecy, Haute-Savoie
 

Been to Le Petit Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Zinc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.