We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Allobroges Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added Allobroges Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Allobroges Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11, Rue Sommeiller, 74000 Annecy, France (Formerly Tulip Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 45 hotels in Annecy
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for a night when the tour de france was in town and you cant fault this hotel in terms of value for money. There are certainly prettier hotels on the old part of town but why pay double when this hotel is only 5 minutes walk from the old town and has everything you need. Very clean rooms, 2 minutes from the station and its very quiet as its set back from the steet down a side road. If you want a nice place to stay, that is value for money and with easy access to everything in Annecy then I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    155
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
32
170
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is very close to the train station, yet our room was wonderfully quiet for each of the four nights we stayed here. Our room was very clean, very modern, and with a very quiet, very efficient air conditioning unit. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Since the hotel only has limited parking spaces, having a rental car can be a problem. The breakfasts are splendid. 4-5 different types of charcuterie, amazing cheese, fresh baguettes, croissants, yogurt, fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Annecy is a beautiful city with a lake as it playground, me and my fiancee were very much looking to the trip and we were not disappointed. We check in at about late afternoon after being delayed by the stalled TGV train due to electrical fault. the hotel was only about 300m away from the Annecy railway station and easy to find despite it being hidden behind a shopping street.

We were greeted by a man dressed in a polo Shirt whom seems to have a difficult afternoon. He was not polite or warm in handling our check-in, and when I enquired if my carpark lot (which I booked via email) was available, he just kept saying no, we are full. Slowly , I tried to explain to him that I actually book beforehand and after checking, thankfully there was a carpark lot for us but there was no apologies from him.

Checking into the room, the room was small, we got a room facing the front of the hotel, barely space for 2 of our huge luggages, but was clean and there were reasonably enough shelves to but or place out our staffs. There was no safe in the hotel and we have to carry our important documents with us, neither was there a fridge. The bed were comfortable and good enough for our expectations.

The receptionist at night was reasonable better compared to the earlier man we saw, he was polite and was prompt about our questions despite his little english.

Overall, the location is great as it is near the railway station and away from all the buzz and noise but yet just a stone throw away from the main street area and the park. Something worth considering if the budget suits your planning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

When traveling between our two favourite destinations Genova and Chamonix, we decided to stay two nights in Annecy. I had read about this lovely town and the lake, and Annecy is really a fantastic town (but full of tourists!). With only two nights stay, we wished to stay in the city centre, close to the restaurants and the old town. When browsing the Net, it wasn't easy finding any interesting hotels, but we ended up with Allobroges Park, much because of its proximity to the train station. We booked a classic room (the second best of 4 categories). The 4 nights before arriving in Annecy we had stayed at Hotel Metropoli in Genova where the receptionists are just lovely. Not so at Allobroges!!! But first the positive aspects: The location is very close to the train station, no taxi is needed. But the vicinity isn't very nice, and if there have ever been a park, it's now gone. The breakfast is adequate (after French standard). The interior decoration is pretty OK. But the room (even if it was second best category out of four) was small. Ok for a two nights stay, but not Ok if we had been there a week.
But what destroyed our impression of the hotel was the "welcome" we got when we after a long journey from Italy arrived here at about 9:30 July the 15th. We had booked a classic room facing the front of the hotel and got this accepted. To secure there would be no misunderstandings, I had sent a photo of the front of the hotel by mail. When we checked in the receptionist didn't say much, but gave us the keys. When we got to the room it had just that ugly view we did NOT want. We did then go back to the reception to complain. What the receptionist then could have said (but did not say) was: " I am so sorry, here have been a misunderstanding. We did think you meant the other side of the hotel. We haven't seen the photo you sent. I am so sorry. Just a moment, I well try to find you a room with the view you want." Instead he tried to convince us what really was the front of the hotel. And he told us the hotel was full. But when we didn't give in, he gave us the key to another room, which did have our wished view. The hotel wasn't full after all??? When we came back to the reception before going out for dinner, there was no apology. He just tried to convince us that he was right and we were wrong. I have experienced several times that French employees like to bully their costumers, something that never will happen in Italy. Much of the bad reviews for hotels on Tripadvisor is because the guests get a negative welcome when arriving at the hotel. Many hotels have understood this and do have very nice and service minded receptionists, but not Allobroges. The day receptionists didn't give us any apology either. The manager at Allobroges should recruit some new receptionists!
We will never come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I'm very surprised to read negative reviews about the staff because several managers I talked to were very friendly and polite. We booked on the day via the phone (it actually 10EUR cheaper then on booking.com) - economy room (not so economy for the rate, comparing to other countries). Most of all I enjoyed the fact that it was clean and it was comfortable to be in the room. Yeah, the decor and furnishing are quite basic but good enough for 1-night stopover. Parking spaces were already taken, so we stayed at nearby paid public parking. The receptionist gave us a discount card so instead of 8EUR for about 15 hours we paid only 2EUR. The breakfast is also quite generous with meats, cheeses, cereals, nuts, milk, croissants etc. Overall, in comparison to some other even much more expensive hotels in France that was great value for money, do not hesitate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscliff, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We only spent one night and booked the "middle of the range" room. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. Air conditioning worked well and wifi was good. There is no fridge or tea/coffee making facilities in the room so be mindful if this is important for you. Staff at front desk were friendly, very helpful and could communicate easily in English.
Breakfast itself was good, although staff member was rather rude when pointing out we had taken a plate from the wrong location.
The hotel is well located a few minutes walk from the magnificent restaurant area in the old part of town. We had a car and although the hotel car park was full they have an arrangement with a car park 30m walk away which was undercover and less than 5Euro overnight.
We would use this hotel again if we return to Annecy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on our way back from a holiday at Lake Garda. We chose the hotel as it was centrally located and with secure car parking (limited spaces, so pre-booking essential). Our room was big,clean and functional - but we were'nt paying for luxury. The staff were very helpful and polite and the hotel was within 2 mins walk of good shops/pedestrianised area, within 5 mins of the old town and less than 10 mins to the lake side. We hired bikes and went part way around the lake which was great fun - cycle lanes everywhere. Annecy is such a pretty place and everything is pretty much in the same area and mainly flat, so if you are not great at walking or have mobility problems, then this is an excellent destination for a long weekend away. (maybe mid week, as it gets very busy at weekends with people coming out of Geneva). I would stay at the Allobroges again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allobroges Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allobroges Park Hotel

Address: 11, Rue Sommeiller, 74000 Annecy, France (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Allobroges Park Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Allobroges Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allobroges Park
Allobroges Park Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allobroges Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.