We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Annecy, hotel okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Des Glieres, FR-74000 Annecy, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Loved Annecy, hotel okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had requested a quiet room before booking, and again at check-in. Instead, given a room on the second floor with walls thin enough to clearly hear telephone conversations next door, and we experienced loud early morning and late night tromping from guests above us. Very soft, narrow split Queen or double bed didn't help with sleep, either. No magnifying mirror or electrical outlet (other than for shavers) in the bath, and a very weak hair dryer. Only 1 outlet to charge iPad, phones, etc. in room. However, our very tiny room and bath were clean.

Breakfast was 15 or 16 euros, but there are plenty of other good choices nearby for breakfast. Parking was 11 euros in a secure (but dingy) underground carpark about a block away. Amenities in the room included a pants press, large closet, safe, kettle, mini bar/refrigerator and free WiFi. Hotel had a small bar and tiny lounge area but no restaurant. Staff was helpful although we didn't ask much other than a map and key to the parking garage.

The location a block from the pedestrian area was excellent. Although we had a car, the hotel is also just 2 blocks from the train station. We had one of our best dinners ever at L'Esquisse Restaurant, a block from the hotel. Not much ambience, but incredible food, and delightful owners/staff. Don't be put off by reviews that talk about booking weeks in advance. We were able to secure a table just a day ahead; perhaps just our good luck, but worth a try.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to avoid stomping from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    133
    67
    17
    6
See reviews for
45
142
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scunthorpe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We visited Annecy for a week with an organised trip (Treyn Holidays) and found the hotel to be a good central location, handy for town, very smart, lovely and clean, modern decor, but perhaps due to its original build-date (1930`s) Rooms a little small and not much of a bar!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and have had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is close to the train station, 2 minute walk, along with just a stone's throw from the old town and the lake. The service has been very friendly. On the second day the Internet wasn't working, we thought it was our phone and tablet, but turns out their was a problem with the service - the reception staff checked and re-loaded the system. The mini bar is expensive, but there is supermarket across the road. We stayed in a superior room on the 5th flood and had a pleasant view of the mountain. The 6th or 7th floor would be even better.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is clean and very comfortable and conveniently placed - very near to the Train and Bus Station which we used a lot. Chose not to hire a car this time so buses were used several times. We did not have breakfasts at the hotel because there are so many great places in Annecy to eat the "Petit Desjourner" [Small Breakfast] and they were better value than the hotel. Room was a little cramped and would have liked just a little more space to move around in but as we were out a lot it didn't seem to matter a great deal. The room had no safe - safety deposit bags are available at reception free of charge and passports / valuables can be left in these in the main hotel safe. Would I stay there again - yes, because the costs re good for such a quality hotel and the staff are great - most of them spoke very good English [much better than my French].

Room Tip: The rooms are Standard or Superior - we chose the latter were reasonably satisfied with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a great location for people catching the train as it's about a 2 min walk. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good english. I wasn't happy with our room as I booked a comfort double with booking.com I felt it was a little small and as we were staying 4 nights there I wanted something a bit bigger, I went to reception and they gave me a key to another room which was much bigger, we did however have to pay another 30 euros though, but well worth it as we had a bigger better room with tea/coffee making facilities and an espresso machine. The hotel is ideally situated for the shops,(take plenty of cash because the shops are great) restaurants and brasseries. Visiting the sunday market is a must. I definitely would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very comfortable hotel in an excellent position Friendly and well trained staff and good maintenance of rooms.It is well worth taking a superior room if staying for more than one night thought a standard rooms are also well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Romney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Carlton Annecy in Oct 2012. It is ideally located near Annecy railway station which suited us well as we arrived by train. Annecy is quite a small town so this hotel is not far to walk to all the main things to see there. We payed for one of the quality 'posher' rooms, which I think proved to be a good move as we ended up with a nice room on the 7th floor with a superb view of the mountains and roof tops of Annecy. Naturally I couldn't vouch for the less expensive rooms but I'm sure they'd be fine based on what we encountered. The staff were very pleasant and spoke perfect English, also the Hotel was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet style, but plentiful and tasty. Annecy is a lovely place and if we re-visited we'd be booking this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Address: 5 Rue Des Glieres, FR-74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlton
Best Western Annecy
Annecy Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.