We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlton Annecy 1/2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Des Glieres, FR-74000 Annecy, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #19 of 43 Hotels in Annecy
Giessen, Germany
Level Contributor
199 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Carlton Annecy 1/2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

this is my 2nd stay at this hotel, located close tothe old town just opposite the train station, rooms are reasonable, but a little small, no aircondition, with LCD TV, WiFi is free, breakfast is very delicious wit hfresh juices, bread and good coffee, Breakfast is part of the room rate, parking is a little difficult for pick up, for a few days acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    144
    80
    19
    9
See reviews for
52
161
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gifford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stopped here for 1 night en route to the French Alps. The hotel is fairly typical of Best Western, clean, reasonably well appointed and in a great location. Annecy is stunning and we wish we had more time here. We were travelling with our 6 month old puppy and the room was ideal for him as well as us. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We never ate breakfast here so can't comment on the food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as these have small balconies and overlook the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a reasonable priced hotel but must warn people that breakfast is NOT included, there is a charge of €12 which is expensive for breakfast, restaurant staff were not very polite either, did not smile or help, no cutlery on table. We went to the local supermarket and bought croissants etc and ate them in our room. Staff on reception were very nice though, always smiling and helpful.

Room Tip: Breakfast NOT included in price. All rooms have air conditioning, we had a balcony which was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Last year we stayed in two Best Western hotels in France, and they exceeded our expectations. This year we stayed in two Best Western hotels in France, they were awful. The Best Western Carlton in Annecy is on a busy corner and very noisy. When I made the reservation, I requested a quiet room. When we checked in, I again asked for a quiet room. The desk clerk said that would not be necessary, as it was quiet at night, and the drapes would muffle the noise. Of course, this was not true.

We paid the hotel for parking a block away. The desk clerk did not tell us about the location of the button to push to exit the garage. If a couple of women hadn't been at the desk at that moment, we might be stuck in the garage yet. They told us what to do, and where the button was located. They had had a moment of sheer panic when they couldn't get out of this very dark, dingy garage.

Breakfast was 16 Euros, which is about $20. We skipped it and found lovely breakfasts for much less right in old town Annecy. Last year, both Best Westerns provided breakfast at no charge.

Very tiny room. There were very few amenities like shampoo, etc. in the bathroom. Again, cutting corners at our expense.

When a hotel starts at "No," that should be a warning to avoid it. This place is clearly in business to rip off the tourists. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. It's too bad that this hotel ruined our trip to Annecy. We were happy to leave and will think twice about staying at Best Westerns in the future.

Room Tip: Find another place to stay where they care about their guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were just overnight in Annecy and so this hotel was good for us. The room is quite small, but very clean and sufficient. The girl at reception was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. I always like when you feel they are approachable right from the start! The location is very convenient to the train station and the center of town. Annecy is a beautiful town that we hope to get back to again. If we were to stay longer I think we would look around for other places to stay just for more room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Location very good close to the old town. We had a room on the 7th floor, very small but spotlessly clean--almost gleaming. Corridors to the bedrooms are incredibly narrow! WiFi was free throughout the hotel---but didn't work on the 7th floor. We had booked a parking place, which was located in a nearby underground parking garage. The lights didn't work so we were given a spotlight by the receptionist because it was Saturday and it could not be repaired until Monday.
Breakfast was plentiful but, at 15euros, on the expensive side.
Service OK---this is a sizeable hotel in a sizeable town so as expected.

Room Tip: Don't take too much luggage into your room---they are SMALL
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the hotel. Very close to train station so very easy to get to with suitcases. Only about 3 minute walk to canals and great shops and restaurants. The hotel staff very helpful and speak English. Our room was a double with a comfortable queen bed. This room was above average for other European hotels we've stayed in with a nicer room, a window with shutters that opens above the street and a bathroom with large tub and shower. Room was very clean and comfortable. Overall a very good experience and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Comfort double worked well for 2 of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
1.1 mi away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#9 of 43 in Annecy
3.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novotel Annecy Centre Atria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#16 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN International Annecy
0.2 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#7 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton

Address: 5 Rue Des Glieres, FR-74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carlton
Best Western Annecy
Annecy Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.