We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel du Nord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Nord

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Nord to your Saves list
Hotel du Nord
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 rue Sommeiller, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel du Nord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I rented the family room for 2 days. It was plenty roomy and clean. We did not eat breakfast there so cannot comment on that. Read some other reviews about the shower curtain sticking to you when you take a shower. Whoever installed the curtain rod did not think to well about it. But I alway travel with about 10ft of string (about shoe lace thickness) so was able to tie the curtain in such a way as to give me plenty of room. NEVER travel without some string. The bathroom was clean and big enough for us (2 adults and 2 kids). There is a hair dryer unit and it has a 2 prong 110v outlet. We wanted some hot water to make tea at night and the front desk was very nice to give us an electric kettle. The front desk staff was very nice and spoke english for us. The public parking lot is around the corner but you can pull onto the sidewalk in front of the hotel to unload your things. When leaving, the hotel will give you a card so that you dont have to pay for overnight parking, only daytime. Saved me about 17 euros. The hotel is only a minute from where you want to be walking around. All in all a good 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    94
    21
    8
    3
See reviews for
34
69
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's easy to get to this hotel from the train station.Once there, you'll find an exceptionally friendly staff who are comfortable speaking English. The elevator right next to the reception desk comes in handy too.

The rooms and hallways are bright and appealing. The optional breakfast includes cereal, yogurt, cheese, meat etc., as well as the usual coffee, juice, and bread and croissant.

it's an easy walk from the hotel to Annecy's lovely old town. There's a variety of stores nearby too.

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and recommend it as a good value, especially for train travelers, in the resort town of Annecy.

Room Tip: If kyou're tall, avoid the fourth floor. The roof slopes down a bit and reduces headroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Hotel du Nord in Annecy during our recent trip to France. It is a decent and clean hotel conveniently located within minutes from the pedestrian area and town centre. It's right on the street so there is no parking at the hotel but you get to park in a very close-by underground parking and your get a discount ticket from the hotel that will deduct from the overall parking charge. There is a tiny elevator ( for one person and suitcase) or you can take the stairs to the upper floors. Room was clean and neat, has a closet, flat screen tv, good size well equiped bathroom with tub and shower. Not a lot of room around the beds, we had the familty room with 4 beds and we had to find a suitable arrangement for our 4 suitcases so we can move freely through the room. They offer breakfast, we did not take it, we preferred to walk through the picturesque town and have croissants and crepes to savour the local flavour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Hotel du Nord may not be newest, the most spacious nor the flashiest of all hotels in Annecy, but you can hardly beat its great location and its super friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is located just a couple of walking minutes away from train station, bus terminal and the old part of town and the lake.

The welcome at the reception was warm. We immediately received a map and information while waiting for our room to get ready. We spent a very hot long weekend in a room, on the 3rd floor. There was even a tiny elevator to take you up there. The room was on the smaller side, but - aside from a mini bar/fridge - it had everything we needed. An average sized, but comfortable bed, a window which can be opened (at night), AC (even an additional fan!) and an ensuite bathroom. The shower was very narrow, which made it difficult to maneuver, but at least it had a handheld showerhead.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel, so we cannot say much about it. We only had a glimpse at the buffet and it looked more than decent, especially considering the price of it.

We would definitely stay at the Hotel du Nord again and we can recommend it to everybody who does not need too much luxury.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Hotel du Nord is in a great location. It's a few steps from a pedestrian street that winds it way around to the old town. The lake is also nearby, which was teeming with sailboats, paddle boats and chartered tour boats.

We stayed here on a Sunday night in June, which worked out great parking-wise. We were able to park on the street overnight without having to pay anything, though by we had to move our car early the next morning. Fortunately, the parking garage was a couple of small blocks away and was very affordable.

The staff was very friendly but the woman on duty the night we arrived didn't speak English very well. My French was even worse, but we found a way to communicate. Later on, she recommended and helped us get a reservation at a fantastic restaurant, Chez Mamie Lise. They also gladly held our bags after we checked out so we could go search for delicious crepes (try Cafe La Sapiniére in old town!).

The room was clean, but the tiny. The bed, while spacious for two, took up about 80% of the room. The bathroom was also small, but hot water was available (just watch out for shower curtain attacks!). We did use some of our room time to check email and review sites, but the Internet was nearly unusable. Although I guess I can't complain too much since it was free.

Overall, it was good for us for a night and we were happy with the service, but I think we would probably try somewhere else if we came back to Annecy due to the room space and wifi issues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dovje, Slovenia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for one night in May. It has central location near train station, not far from old town. Actually it has huge pros if you are arrive by train and cons if you arrive by car. Note, that Garmin GPS gets the location, but was somehow confused by one way streets. Eventually we decided to walk to the hotel :-) Of course, parking is a problem, however there is a nearby garage for a fee. Its located on a quite busy one way street (the other way is only allowed for buses and taxis), though you cannot hear any noise while in the room.

Everything in hotel is tiny. From check-in area to the room, even the staircase is narrow. Room is small (32), however big enough to stay one or two nights. It was reasonably clean, with TV and not so large bathroom. But i didn't have any problem with the size of shower and had a good sleep. Free wireless internet was available, but through "outside" provider - sorry, but this is pain in the *** and didn't work well. But the point of Annecy is not staying in a room, but visiting the beautiful city.

Breakfast was a surprise. A buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. Worth a price. Actually hotel has a good value for money, though it doesn't stand out in any way.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed here in January 2012 for a weekend. The hotel has a good location, close to the train station and close to the old city centre. It's a small hotel and so, everything is small: the reception, the lift, the bedroom, the bathroom, the shower (actually the shower was really small, difficult to use it properly). But it has everything you need for a short stay. The staff was friendly and helpful (except the woman who serves the breakfast). The bedroom, although it was small, it was comfortable, with a double bed, closet, tv with international channels, a small balcony, heater, and it was clean and tidy. The only meal offered is breakfast, which you can order to your room or you can have it in a small room in the first floor: it's a very basic buffet with fresh baked croissants, coffee, cheese, jams, yogurt, etc but it's from good quality. I felt good in this hotel and I wasn't disappointed for the money I paid

Room Tip: I liked the one I had in the second floor facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Nord

Address: 24 rue Sommeiller, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Nord 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel du Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Nord Hotel
Du Nord Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Nord, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.