We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location at a price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville

Save Saved
You added Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12, rue de la Gare | Ilôt de la Manufacture, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER DEAL: UP TO 40%OFF
Ranked #8 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Barr
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful location at a price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had been before so on our way back to Alsace we wanted to find/try it again; but could we find it! You see the signs in the old town but you run out of directions before finding the hotel; better signposting would be well worth it. Once in (with convenient public parking next door), you are smug. The room was OK, pretty IBIS, but with now an elevated price tag following the reclassification into a 'family' (budget, style and ibis). However, the bed provided was certainly upmarket from other IBISs we have tried before (and we have been in many). One let down though was that despite their service of 'we will do it in 15 minutes' we did not succeed in being provided with a new shower curtain (we complained that the existing one was old and sour), not were we given the room for free as their advertisement says.

Room Tip: The view over the river is certainly very different from many other IBIS looks across an industrial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    317
    114
    31
    2
See reviews for
81
320
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire england
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ideal location for the town: near to the restaurants, bars and shops of the old town but in a quiet location.
The room was clean but it is small - fine for a short stay but any longer and I would have been fed up. The amenities are fairly basic - e.g. one towel per person. The bed is large and at first I thought it was very comfortable. But I then realised that the mattress seemed to get quite hot the longer you laid on it. Possibly the memory foam type topper is to blame.
I didn't bother asking for a canal view room - quite happy to watch the coming and goings in the little square.
Parking is available next to the hotel. It's pay parking but the hotel will give you a card that knocks off the overnight payment so it works out reasonable.
Only had breakfast on the last day. Perfectly acceptable continental style buffet. Did drink in the bar - decently priced for the area.
All the staff were helpful and efficient.
On balance I would recommend this hotel for a short break. I have stayed in Annecy twice before and this has been the best hotel in terms of location, parking and standards of cleaning. The price, especially on week nights, was very good. A 100 euros on Saturday, down to 59 euros Sunday onwards. If you are looking for somewhere special/ luxurious/romantic this isn't it though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Directeur général at Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
First of all, I want to thank you for your comment which caught all my attention.
I wish to inform you that my establishment entered a program of renovation of rooms and bathroom.
Most of our rooms were renewed in the spring of this year and we continue from this autumn, to offer to our customers an optimal quality of welcome and an establishment in 100 % renewed at the beginning of 2014.
You will maybe have noticed it, all rooms is endowed from now on with the quite new bedding ibis " The sweet Bed ", for an absolute comfort.
By hoping to have the pleasure to receive you again during a next stay in Annecy.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in late Sep, great time to stay in Annecy without too many tourists. Very close to the city centre but out of the noisey areas. Very reasonable rates from a well known brand. Tip: ask for a room with a balcony over the yard with a nice little coffee shop.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Ibis at Annecy was very pleasant.

The staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel is located in a central part of town and the hotel is clean and well presented.

If you are looking for a low cost clean option for your stay in Annecy, we would highly recommend it.

The people of Annecy are very friendly, very forgiving of tourists with poor French and make the the stay in this beautiful town even better.






  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de México
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

As you may expect from the Ibis hotels, it has a right price for a right place and a reasonable comfort. It is well located, although Annecy is a small town. People are friendly and staff helpful. Booking proces is pristine, and everything is in the right order. The view from the room was not great but most of the time you spend it outside, touring in the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Pros: This hotel is so centrally located that the historic town is literally behind the hotel. The first floor has balconies. The staff is friendly and helpful, and speak excellent English. It is a direct ten minute walk from the train station. The wifi is free.

Cons: the rooms are very small. There are no frills. You have one towel each; no hand towels or wash cloths. No Kleenex. One small garbage can. One electrical outlet in the entire room, under one side table- that means no outlets in bathroom for a curling iron. No fan or air conditioning or heat (AC on July-Aug and heat in winter); had to keep door to balcony open to circulate air and was very hard to sleep with noise coming from town- there is a cafe a few meters away. Strong smell of smoke in hallways and in room despite being non smoking room. No option to order two twin beds on the website we booked on, and had to wait for one to be available.

Basically this is a cheap n cheerful two star hotel in an expensive resort town, it gets the job done, no frills or extras.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to spend a night and a day in Annecy. The Ibis is central and is great value for money. The booking, supplemented by my e-mail asking for a canal side room, resulted in us getting a newly refurbished room right over the canal spilway. We like to sound of running water so this was excellent. Some travellers may find it a bit loud, but the rooms are double glazed. The view over the canal and the centre of old Annecy was great. Breakfast was excellent value with a wide selection of food buffet style.
The only drawback was poor signage on approach along Rue de Gare. I recognised the hotel from the photo on trip advisor or it could have been difficult as my GPS (up to date maps) wouldn't give me the correct street number.
All told an excellent, value for money hotel - we are Aussies and have travelled extensively and would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a central hotel to allow walking the old town.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville

Address: 12, rue de la Gare | Ilôt de la Manufacture, 74000 Annecy, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville hotel is located a short stroll away from Lake Annecy, the railway station and bus terminals. Ski slopes are just 45 minutes away by car and the Fier gorges and the Chateau de Montrottier are 10 km from the hotel. Book one of our 85 airconditioned rooms and benefit from the facilities the hotel offers, a 24 hour bar, a restaurant, a public paying parking close by, as business guests will appreciate, Free WiFi access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville Hotel Annecy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.