We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant Bellevue to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
90 Avenue de Geneve, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Poole, UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a good family run budget hotel with a small restaurant on the ground floor. The rooms are smallish and basic but have comfortable beds, TVs and clean plumbing. Some of the decoration is shabby so a repaint wouldn't go amiss. The people at reception are friendly and helpful. The hotel is a good 20 mins walk into town. We drove about half way where you can park free in side streets - reception will show you where to go. Otherwise you can park free in the streets outside the hotel. PS Sadly the hotel is in a built up area and sodoes nothave a 'bellevue' although you can see the top of some mountains over the neighbouring flats!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    18
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed one night here with my family en route back to London from Italy and would recommend it as excellent value for bed and board. No frills, but good quality budget accommodation and better than average dinner. Not a five star establishment, but 5/5 for what it does.

We had the interconnecting rooms on the top (fourth) floor - a double and a triple for 104 Euros - and although the rooms were small I have to say that the shower pressure even at that height was better than in many hotels where we had paid four times the price, and the beds just as comfortable. Note that there is no lift or aircon. We were there on probably the one night a year when aircon might have been welcome - it was unseasonably hot at about 35 degrees, and the rooms had been provided with tower fans.

The restaurant where we had dinner was also outstanding value. My husband and I went for the daily fixed menu at a mere 15 Euros and ate far too much as a result. The food was good, unpretentious home cooked staples. Our three children (teenagers) ate from a varied a la carte; there is a children’s menu. The helpful owner speaks excellent English (but lets you speak French!) and was assisted by what appeared to be her equally friendly son and mother.

It should be said that the hotel’s views are not of the lake, nor, in spite of the hotel name, very beautiful (though you can see mountain tops beyond the surrounding apartment blocks). We arrived in Annecy with enough time to park in the central car park and have a stroll in the old part of the town before heading to the hotel. It was a Sunday and we saw many young folk swimming or in pedaloes on the lake, while in the park at the water’s edge a small band with accordion played, and grey haired couples danced cheek to cheek. It was quite charming. It would be a shame not to see something of Annecy, which you could easily do if arriving late and leaving early, given the hotel is located away from the lovely part of town. Do not be fooled by the name Annecy le Vieux on the map - this seems to be just a residential suburb of Annecy, the old part of which is down by the lake.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

This small hotel is located about a 20 minute walk from the city center in a mixed-use neighborhood. You can drive to the city center in just a few minutes and park in one of the pay lots. There is no lift, but there is parking outside the hotel and also ample street parking on Ave. Geneve around the corner. The rooms are about average sized for France (small) but the bedding is comfortable, there is decent closet space and the bath facility modern with nice shower ample hot water and good water pressure. Staff is friendly and helpful. Our dealings were mostly with Monique who acquired some decent English from a stint at Disney CA. We did not take the breakfast option but simply took coffee each morning and it was excellent. One night we were lazy and decided to have dinner at the hotel. What a pleasant surprise. They had a 15,9E prix fixe that included an entrée, a plat, cheese and dessert.
The entrees were decent, a pate that was quite tasty and a pureed vegetable soup that just needed a bit of salt. For the plats, I had a leg of veal over noodles and sauce that was tender and tasty and my wife had a fish whose name we did not recognize but tasted like trout served in a light white sauce with saffron rice and some root veggies. Both dishes were quite good. The cheeses were a selection from about a dozen offerings and also quite nice. Although there was an impressive dessert selection, we were so filled we opted for plain old ice cream. We’ve been in France over two weeks now and this meal is the best value for the money we have had. They have a decent selection of apertifs, and a small selection of wines all of which are very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have stayed in Bellevue a number of times on the way to ski resorts. It has always been a pleasure to stay at bellevue. Friendly positive attitude.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Essentially, this hotel is a textbook example of what a small French hotel should be like - combines old-school cooking and hospitality with modern rooms. I stayed here with family in the "interconnecting rooms".

Rooms :
The rooms have good beds, powerful and hot showers, TVs with lots of channels including BBC and free wifi. They don't have aircon and are not that big. There is no lift, so ask for a low floor if you have trouble with stairs. The discounted interconnecting rooms are on the 4th floor, which was spelt out to us when we booked - they are good value if you can manage the stairs.

Food and service :
Staff are friendly and the restaurant is popular with locals. Rightly so, as the prix fixe menu for around €15 delivers four courses of high quality home-cooked food. The children's meal is the adult meal reduced, great if you're tired of giving your kids the ubiquitous steak hache / nuggets.

Location :
The hotel is in an ordinary suburban street, it's convenient for the motorway junction and has free onstreet parking. To reach the city centre, it's a 5 minute bus ride (no.3 from just across the road) or a 20 minute walk (or a 5 minute drive if you can face parking in central Annecy). Great for a driving tour, but not suitable for someone arriving by train and wanting to stay in the old town itself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon and it was a very comfortable stay. The room was impeccably neat and tidy with all basic amenities available. We took a first floor room with balcony facing the street ( thinking there would be no noise). Unfortunately, the second night, people were celebrating some sports victory on the streets and as the tradition goes- they blow horns and sing slogans to commemorate it which of course was annoying at 2am.
The hotel is situated at a centrally located place, 15 mins walking distance from the old city and equally to the lake. Just to clarify, breakfast is not included in the tariff, neverthless there are many options in the old city.
Definitely recommended - adventure sports while you are there. Be wary of companies offering to take a bike ride of 45 mins to the paragliding base, its more than an hour's distance but the view en route is breathtaking. There are many castles around, we didnt have time to check them out but im sure they are worth a view.
Overall a memmorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Bellevue

Address: 90 Avenue de Geneve, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.