We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and right in the heart of activities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Un Lieu Unique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Un Lieu Unique to your Saves list
Un Lieu Unique
19, Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Annecy
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great view and right in the heart of activities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Getting there was a nightmare! The road leading to the accommodation was closes to traffic due to the markets but we were unaware of that. We were advised by owners to park at the st Claire parking,but that was blocked due to the markets. So we spent a good 1 hour trying to locate this st Claire parking.
Park at hotel de ville instead.close enough and easy to locate.
The entrance to the room was scary and dark.
But the room itself was really great and the views alike. Can't complain about the price at all when you get a view like that. Right beside the canal and on Sundays,the market is right at your doorstep.
Be prepared to have communication issues I'd you don't speak French.
Make sure you ring them or email them beforehand, or else you will regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A pretty good stay with an 18 month old and 4 year old. We stayed here for 3 nights. Saturday night was awful only because you are on a main street and not sure if there were a lot of partiers. The other nights have been pretty quiet. We stayed in the Cocoon apartment. They supplied a baby crib for the little one and the older one stayed up in the loft. The lighting and bathroom are unique. We were on the 1st floor so not much of a walk up. You are within walking distance to everything. We rented bikes about 2 minute walk away and went to the beach and the playgrounds. The restaurants are plentiful. The market on Sunday morning was huge and right around the corner. Perfect for our stay. The rest of our family (a group of 5) rented from someone on VRBO's website. Their place was so much larger, but also about 200 euros more. We would have stayed there if we would have stayed longer just because of the kids and the space. Our place was small, but figured it would be when we booked it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Annecy as a stop over on our way to the alps last February and stayed at the Un Lieu Unique apartments.

We had two adults and an 11 year old and we absolutely loved it.

It is perfectly positioned for the old town and the canal runs right outside the front window, cheap parking is nearby and the interior is fun and interesting.

We had the huge double bed and our son slept on the mezzanine floor which could easily have taken two adults.

The only downside is that the heating/hot water isn't quite up to the job when it is very cold in winter.

There are many places to eat and shop right outside your front door.

In summary a great short stay worth the money, hopefully we will use this apartment again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed one night at the Cocoon. The place was beautiful, and the location was excellent. Instructions from the owner were helpful, since the place is easy to miss. The building is very old, and the corridors quite dark and a bit shabby. But it's part of the charm, and didn't matter since the room was clean and cosy. Place is on the 1st floor with windows to the street. I would definitely recommend the place for everyone who's looking for something romantic and/or out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the Cocoon room.

This room is in a great location. Has a great Nespresso maker, flatscreen television and is trendy and clean. It's a little rough around the edges in places (chipped tiles etc) but for the price is very reasonable. It was a little difficult to locate initially as I thought the front door was a door to a storage room but as it's name says it's definitely unique!
We're looking forward to trying Le Lodge next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Le Dolce is a darling studio apartment with a wonderful balcony overlooking the canal in the heart of Annecy. The apartment had everything we needed and it was great to be in the center of this beautiful town. Great restaurants are all around and there is good shopping nearby too. One night we bought takeout from a nearby traiteur and had a lovely picnic on the balcony. We loved watching the market set up on Sunday morning. Parking is conveniently nearby.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the entrance hallway could be described as sketchy; it's an ancient building. But we had great communication with Emilie before we arrived, and she gave us the combination to the lockbox so we could let ourselves into the apartment. The rates are similar the hotels we stayed at in other towns, but here we had kitchen facilities and more room. I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Annecy.

Room Tip: Le Lodge and Le Dolce are adjacent apartments and would be great for friends or families traveling t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is sketchy. Nobody around except a cleaning lady. Even getting into the door from the outside is tough.

Once inside, you walk down a dark, damp hallway littered with bicycles up a set of stairs. There is a box which contains the keys to the room which the owner never informed us how to open. This caused us to waste 2 hours before "checking in".

The room is nice, very large. Some neat decoration. Can't beat the location... but too sketchy for our tastes. Very pricy for what you get.

We will not be back.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Un Lieu Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un Lieu Unique

Address: 19, Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Un Lieu Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un Lieu Unique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.