We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Apartment in Town Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Un Lieu Unique

Save Saved
You added Un Lieu Unique to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
Un Lieu Unique
19, Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun Apartment in Town Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We visited Annecy as a stop over on our way to the alps last February and stayed at the Un Lieu Unique apartments.

We had two adults and an 11 year old and we absolutely loved it.

It is perfectly positioned for the old town and the canal runs right outside the front window, cheap parking is nearby and the interior is fun and interesting.

We had the huge double bed and our son slept on the mezzanine floor which could easily have taken two adults.

The only downside is that the heating/hot water isn't quite up to the job when it is very cold in winter.

There are many places to eat and shop right outside your front door.

In summary a great short stay worth the money, hopefully we will use this apartment again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    14
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed one night at the Cocoon. The place was beautiful, and the location was excellent. Instructions from the owner were helpful, since the place is easy to miss. The building is very old, and the corridors quite dark and a bit shabby. But it's part of the charm, and didn't matter since the room was clean and cosy. Place is on the 1st floor with windows to the street. I would definitely recommend the place for everyone who's looking for something romantic and/or out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the Cocoon room.

This room is in a great location. Has a great Nespresso maker, flatscreen television and is trendy and clean. It's a little rough around the edges in places (chipped tiles etc) but for the price is very reasonable. It was a little difficult to locate initially as I thought the front door was a door to a storage room but as it's name says it's definitely unique!
We're looking forward to trying Le Lodge next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Le Dolce is a darling studio apartment with a wonderful balcony overlooking the canal in the heart of Annecy. The apartment had everything we needed and it was great to be in the center of this beautiful town. Great restaurants are all around and there is good shopping nearby too. One night we bought takeout from a nearby traiteur and had a lovely picnic on the balcony. We loved watching the market set up on Sunday morning. Parking is conveniently nearby.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the entrance hallway could be described as sketchy; it's an ancient building. But we had great communication with Emilie before we arrived, and she gave us the combination to the lockbox so we could let ourselves into the apartment. The rates are similar the hotels we stayed at in other towns, but here we had kitchen facilities and more room. I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Annecy.

Room Tip: Le Lodge and Le Dolce are adjacent apartments and would be great for friends or families traveling t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is sketchy. Nobody around except a cleaning lady. Even getting into the door from the outside is tough.

Once inside, you walk down a dark, damp hallway littered with bicycles up a set of stairs. There is a box which contains the keys to the room which the owner never informed us how to open. This caused us to waste 2 hours before "checking in".

The room is nice, very large. Some neat decoration. Can't beat the location... but too sketchy for our tastes. Very pricy for what you get.

We will not be back.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in Le Cocon. It was beautiful, spacious, clean and very unique. It is decorated beautifully. We enjoyed the espresso maker. The location in Annecy is PERFECT. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in Le Cocon and La Dolce in February and both were wonderful. Le Cocon is a fusion of textures - white paint, rough white stone, shaggy cushions - a very calm space to be in - fabulous. Then we went to La Dolce, overlooking the little river in the very heart of the old town - a concoction of retro greens, oranges and brown with a fab freestanding bath and a terrace which in the summer could not be bettered. Very comfortable beds and lovely bedlinen too. Annecy has the perfect lake and mountain backdrop, beautiful ancient buildings, huge choice of places to eat and only 35 mins from Geneva airport. Owner Emilie is a mine of information. Hope to go back in September to see it at the other end of the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Un Lieu Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un Lieu Unique

Address: 19, Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Un Lieu Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un Lieu Unique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.