We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but a little shabby.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Un Lieu Unique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Un Lieu Unique to your Saves list
Un Lieu Unique
19, Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Annecy
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location but a little shabby.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed in the Cocoon room.

This room is in a great location. Has a great Nespresso maker, flatscreen television and is trendy and clean. It's a little rough around the edges in places (chipped tiles etc) but for the price is very reasonable. It was a little difficult to locate initially as I thought the front door was a door to a storage room but as it's name says it's definitely unique!
We're looking forward to trying Le Lodge next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    17
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
18
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Le Dolce is a darling studio apartment with a wonderful balcony overlooking the canal in the heart of Annecy. The apartment had everything we needed and it was great to be in the center of this beautiful town. Great restaurants are all around and there is good shopping nearby too. One night we bought takeout from a nearby traiteur and had a lovely picnic on the balcony. We loved watching the market set up on Sunday morning. Parking is conveniently nearby.

I agree with the previous reviewer that the entrance hallway could be described as sketchy; it's an ancient building. But we had great communication with Emilie before we arrived, and she gave us the combination to the lockbox so we could let ourselves into the apartment. The rates are similar the hotels we stayed at in other towns, but here we had kitchen facilities and more room. I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Annecy.

Room Tip: Le Lodge and Le Dolce are adjacent apartments and would be great for friends or families traveling t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place is sketchy. Nobody around except a cleaning lady. Even getting into the door from the outside is tough.

Once inside, you walk down a dark, damp hallway littered with bicycles up a set of stairs. There is a box which contains the keys to the room which the owner never informed us how to open. This caused us to waste 2 hours before "checking in".

The room is nice, very large. Some neat decoration. Can't beat the location... but too sketchy for our tastes. Very pricy for what you get.

We will not be back.

Room Tip: Good luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in Le Cocon. It was beautiful, spacious, clean and very unique. It is decorated beautifully. We enjoyed the espresso maker. The location in Annecy is PERFECT. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in Le Cocon and La Dolce in February and both were wonderful. Le Cocon is a fusion of textures - white paint, rough white stone, shaggy cushions - a very calm space to be in - fabulous. Then we went to La Dolce, overlooking the little river in the very heart of the old town - a concoction of retro greens, oranges and brown with a fab freestanding bath and a terrace which in the summer could not be bettered. Very comfortable beds and lovely bedlinen too. Annecy has the perfect lake and mountain backdrop, beautiful ancient buildings, huge choice of places to eat and only 35 mins from Geneva airport. Owner Emilie is a mine of information. Hope to go back in September to see it at the other end of the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

What a great way to spend a few days in the town of Annecy... The chic unique apartments perfectly characterize modern French living in an olden romantic town. Top notch job done by the owner and the prices are very suitable for what you get. Great value, great location and a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Really a fantastic place/room. Not for those that want hotel trimmings, but this is fun, cosy and gives a great sense of living the town. A few nights away with a difference. I'd definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Annecy hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Annecy Centre Vieille Ville
0.2 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 43 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#1 of 43 in Annecy
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Palais de l'Isle
0.2 mi away
Allobroges Park Hotel
Allobroges Park Hotel
#5 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Annecy Centre
Mercure Annecy Centre
#16 of 43 in Annecy
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Un Lieu Unique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Un Lieu Unique

Address: 19, Rue Jean-Jacques Rousseau, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Un Lieu Unique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Un Lieu Unique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.