We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Terrasses

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Les Terrasses to your Saves list
Hotel Les Terrasses
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Louis Chaumontel, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I agree with all previous positive reviews. Excellent location just 10 minutes easy walking from the old town. Good breakfast. And if you have a nice car then book a private garage, it would take dynamite to get into one of these!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    59
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
60
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights last week, mainly due to the reviews posted here and we were not disappointed. This is a little gem of a 2* hotel and in many ways was preferable to the 4* Eden Palace in Montreux that we went on to stay in, where there was less storage space and no kettle in the room. We had room 22 - it was quite, comfortable, the shower was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasty. Car parking was free - not so at the Eden Palace. We ate a delightful meal at the hotel on our last evening there and were very happy with both the portion size and the quality of the cooking. The sun shone so we were able to take advantage of the delightful garden at the back of the hotel where a friendly young lady interrupted her own meal to get us some tea to have with the delicious cakes we had bought in the town. The walk to town is about a 15 minute stroll where you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and bars. I would recommend Le Petrin pizzeria for good modestly priced food (the panna cotta and the chocolate mousse are delicious) and L'escargot for more up market tastes! The 2 hour lake tour is not to be missed, but otherwise just wander around the old town and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel. A nice, clean, small hotel which is a short walk from downtown and the lake. Breakfast was lovely - as is the back garden. And, parking is included! The room we were in was tight and a little dated, but for the price, this was a great place for our three-day stay in Annecy. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent night here on a Sunday and wished we had had longer to stay. The hotel (a Logis) was in a quiet residential district but only a short walk from the old town and the Lake. It has secure parking and a delightful garden where you can relax or have an aperitif. Rooms were a reasonable size and well equipped as was the bathroom. An evening meal is available on weekdays and in July and August at the weekend. The weekend meal is a table d'hote, there is more choice during the week. Nevertheless it was a good meal well prepared. Staff were friendly and helpful. Altogether a delightful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really valued the secure parking at the hotel as this meant we didn't have to fully unpack luggage needed for our onward journey. Located in a quiet, residential area but only a 10 minute walk from the centre, lake and restaurant-lined canal district. The garden was pretty and I imagine a welcome oasis on a hot day. Breakfast was fine and could be taken outside under the trees. Annecy looks to be worth a full visit rather than just passing through and we'll do that next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I struggled when writing this review, having read many rave reviews of fellow guests. This is a 2 star hotel and on this basis I would acknowledge that it more than meets its rating.
We arrived in Annecy with some basic directions and the hotel did take a bit of finding. Access to the car park is through a secure barrier (code available at reception). The secure car park was one of the main reasons we chose the hotel as I had my racing bike in the back of the car. The garden is a wonderful bonus for a city centre hotel.
Checking in was straight forward and we were given room 22. There is a lift if you want to use it.
Perhaps I've been spoiled by some of the hotels I've stayed at in the past but my heart sank a little when I saw our room. It could best be described as dull. A dark carpet, dull bedding and cheap curtains. In the evening we walked into the old town (10-15 minutes) to eat. There are dozens of restaurants to choose from.
Breakfast was in the pleasant downstairs restaurant. There was a choice of cereals, juices, yogurt with bread, jam and cheese. A good start for the day ahead.
On our second day we arrived back early at the hotel and spent a couple of delightful hours in the garden.
We stayed for 3 nights and it was disappointing that whoever 'cleaned' our room failed to hoover up the fluff under the bathroom sink or clean the mirror in the bathroom.
However as I said at the beginning this is a 2 star hotel and on that basis it more than meets its rating. The town of Annecy is delightful, the scenery and lake are wonderful and Les Terraces is worth staying at despite my small criticisms.
The boat trip on the lake is recommended as well as hiring bikes as there are excellent cycle paths.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were delighted with our choice of Les Terraces for our 2 night stay in Annecy. The rooms were immaculate. The staff were friendly and spoke good English, although we did try and use our French. We had breakfast which was a very good continental buffet breakfast. The best part was the oasis of calm in the garden, which we did not expect at a property so close to the town centre. It was quiet and peaceful and, yet, within walking distance of the old town and lake. Wonderful, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms and they were all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Terrasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Terrasses

Address: 15, rue Louis Chaumontel, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Terrasses 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Les Terrasses in Annecy Haute Savoie. In our family hotel you will find large, cosy, modern rooms, which makes our hotel the perfect choice for both vacation and business travellers. We offer bed and breakfast as well as a large variety of different services to make your stay more comfortable. We are ideally situated in the center of Annecy near to the railway station, close to the old town, the lake of Annecy and the shops. All the major tourist attractions are within walking distance. Private free on site car parking is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Terrasses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Terrasses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.