We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Terrasses

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Terrasses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Les Terrasses
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Louis Chaumontel, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights last week, mainly due to the reviews posted here and we were not disappointed. This is a little gem of a 2* hotel and in many ways was preferable to the 4* Eden Palace in Montreux that we went on to stay in, where there was less storage space and no kettle in the room. We had room 22 - it was quite, comfortable, the shower was great and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh and tasty. Car parking was free - not so at the Eden Palace. We ate a delightful meal at the hotel on our last evening there and were very happy with both the portion size and the quality of the cooking. The sun shone so we were able to take advantage of the delightful garden at the back of the hotel where a friendly young lady interrupted her own meal to get us some tea to have with the delicious cakes we had bought in the town. The walk to town is about a 15 minute stroll where you are spoilt for choice for restaurants and bars. I would recommend Le Petrin pizzeria for good modestly priced food (the panna cotta and the chocolate mousse are delicious) and L'escargot for more up market tastes! The 2 hour lake tour is not to be missed, but otherwise just wander around the old town and soak up the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    35
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel. A nice, clean, small hotel which is a short walk from downtown and the lake. Breakfast was lovely - as is the back garden. And, parking is included! The room we were in was tight and a little dated, but for the price, this was a great place for our three-day stay in Annecy. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent night here on a Sunday and wished we had had longer to stay. The hotel (a Logis) was in a quiet residential district but only a short walk from the old town and the Lake. It has secure parking and a delightful garden where you can relax or have an aperitif. Rooms were a reasonable size and well equipped as was the bathroom. An evening meal is available on weekdays and in July and August at the weekend. The weekend meal is a table d'hote, there is more choice during the week. Nevertheless it was a good meal well prepared. Staff were friendly and helpful. Altogether a delightful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really valued the secure parking at the hotel as this meant we didn't have to fully unpack luggage needed for our onward journey. Located in a quiet, residential area but only a 10 minute walk from the centre, lake and restaurant-lined canal district. The garden was pretty and I imagine a welcome oasis on a hot day. Breakfast was fine and could be taken outside under the trees. Annecy looks to be worth a full visit rather than just passing through and we'll do that next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath W. Sussex
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I struggled when writing this review, having read many rave reviews of fellow guests. This is a 2 star hotel and on this basis I would acknowledge that it more than meets its rating.
We arrived in Annecy with some basic directions and the hotel did take a bit of finding. Access to the car park is through a secure barrier (code available at reception). The secure car park was one of the main reasons we chose the hotel as I had my racing bike in the back of the car. The garden is a wonderful bonus for a city centre hotel.
Checking in was straight forward and we were given room 22. There is a lift if you want to use it.
Perhaps I've been spoiled by some of the hotels I've stayed at in the past but my heart sank a little when I saw our room. It could best be described as dull. A dark carpet, dull bedding and cheap curtains. In the evening we walked into the old town (10-15 minutes) to eat. There are dozens of restaurants to choose from.
Breakfast was in the pleasant downstairs restaurant. There was a choice of cereals, juices, yogurt with bread, jam and cheese. A good start for the day ahead.
On our second day we arrived back early at the hotel and spent a couple of delightful hours in the garden.
We stayed for 3 nights and it was disappointing that whoever 'cleaned' our room failed to hoover up the fluff under the bathroom sink or clean the mirror in the bathroom.
However as I said at the beginning this is a 2 star hotel and on that basis it more than meets its rating. The town of Annecy is delightful, the scenery and lake are wonderful and Les Terraces is worth staying at despite my small criticisms.
The boat trip on the lake is recommended as well as hiring bikes as there are excellent cycle paths.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were delighted with our choice of Les Terraces for our 2 night stay in Annecy. The rooms were immaculate. The staff were friendly and spoke good English, although we did try and use our French. We had breakfast which was a very good continental buffet breakfast. The best part was the oasis of calm in the garden, which we did not expect at a property so close to the town centre. It was quiet and peaceful and, yet, within walking distance of the old town and lake. Wonderful, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had 3 different rooms and they were all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of wight
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just spent 8 nights half board here and really cannot fault it. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The rooms are good size with a comfortable bed. All areas of the hotel are clean and well kept. The garden at the back is a bonus, not many in Annecy seem to have outside seating.. especially if you like somewhere to relax in the sun after sight seeing.. The breakfast is the usual french style buffet plus eggs or toast if you wish....The evening meal (4 courses if you wish) is traditional savoie fare, and the menu is posted up late afternoon.There isn't really an option, but they were happy to do me an omelette one evening as I do not eat pork. The only thing that might put some off, is the hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the old quarter/lakeside..this is not a problem once you have your bearings..it also means the hotel is very quiet with no night time noise! Yet there is a shopping centre and Monoprix about 5 minutes walk away....Message me with any questions!

Room Tip: Room 10 gets the sun in the morning, but all rooms are quiet. there is very little traffic in this q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Les Terrasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Terrasses

Address: 15, rue Louis Chaumontel, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Terrasses 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Les Terrasses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Terrasses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.