We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Terrasses

Save Saved
You added Hotel Les Terrasses to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Les Terrasses
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15, rue Louis Chaumontel, 74000 Annecy, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a six-night stay at this hotel, our choice being based on trip advisor reviews and our own research. I can agree with previous comments that the hotel is very conveniently situated for catching buses and trains, which we did several times, but also in a surprisingly quiet location. The three course evening meals were delicious (four courses if you like cheese), the only drawback being no choice for the main meal although I had the impression that they could provide an alternative if requested. We paid extra for a carafe of wine with every meal but no coffee was available afterwards which would have been nice. The continental self-serve breakfast consisted of boiled eggs, fruit, yogurts, croissants, bread, jams, honey, tea, coffee and juice. Our room was large and modern, with a small TV, and also was supplied with a small air conditioning unit. I particularly liked the fact that the other guests were mostly French and that not all the staff were fluent English speakers which meant I was able to have a go with my bad French, which is much more fun and satisfying than speaking English when on holiday. We sat in the lovely gardens for a while every evening too after our meal. The only drawbacks are that that there is no bar so a short walk into the old town (10 minutes away) is necessary. Also there are no staff on duty after 10pm so when the remote stopped working on our last evening, there was nothing to be done. Overall, however, I would recommend this hotel as a great base from which to visit Annecy and the surrounding area and very good value as a half-board option.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 35 on the top floor overlooking the street. Not able to comment on other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    43
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
50
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel is very good value for the money. It is located in a quiet side street behind the railway station and close to the shopping mall "Le Courier". It takes a less than 10min walk to the historic center or the lake. The rooms are very clean and cosy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is no wireless, but there are ethernet plugs in each room. Bring your own cable, since they might not have enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We arrived with my daughter as she will be residing in Annecy to search for a room. On arrival, the rooms did not look great but that was a first impression. The hotel is run by a really lovely, gentle, caring family. They are warm and lovely to all the guests. The location of the hotel is excellent as it is near all amenities. It is so tranquil. The garden is really pleasant. The breakfast is really good value and the dinner is superb - better than the restaurants we visitied and value for money - four course meal for 18 euros. I would definitely stay there again. It was worth every penny. Even though it is a two star hotel it felt like four or five star treatment. Thank you to all the great staff especially Emma. xx

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

-quite hidden small lovely house
- few wel equiped rooms
-family rooms
-nice garden
-back door leads to rail station immeadiately.
-back door leads to best shopping mall in Annecy
-nice small very well furnished reception.
-nice modern comfy breakfast room overlokks the garden.
its not a modern huge architucts but nice to be thier for over night or for couple of days stay
-good for lover to feel that they are in the city but hidden
-good for the kid to enjoy garden and owners terrafic dog.
-friendly owner and assistant

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Terrasses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Terrasses

Address: 15, rue Louis Chaumontel, 74000 Annecy, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Annecy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Annecy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Les Terrasses 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Les Terrasses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Terrasses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.