We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko to your Saves list
Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place President Edouard Herriot | Grand port, 73100 Aix-les-Bains, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aix-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My partner and I spent one night in Aix Les Bains, at Hotel L'Iroko. It was a great find!

The room is large and perfectly adequate. It's mid-range - not luxury, but clean and comfortable. And inexpensive.

The best things about the hotel are the view - our room looked out onto the Lake, which was delightful (especially being from London). It was such a huge pleasure to look outside and see the water and the mountains. And one of the two balconies of the room faced the Lake as well, though we didn't really have a chance to sit out on the balcony for long. The other great thing is the location. It's right by the water, and the board walk, with many lovely terrace restaurants right outside (we had a delicious dinner at a restaurant just metres from the hotel). From your room, you can just head out for a lovely walk along the board walk, taking in the lake, the mountains, the boats, and the sunshine. We walked to the centre Nautique in about 40 minutes - the only sandy beach in the area - where we sunbathed and had a refreshing swim in the Lake (for 5.40 euros per person, which includes access to the beach, pool (indoor and outdoor) and changing area).

The staff at the hotel is friendly. There was ample parking in the hotel's lot, and the breakfast (11 Euros per person) was plentiful and tasty (the usual breakfast buffet including fresh miniature French pastries).

Aix Les Bains itself is a lovely gem of a town, and a well-kept secret. It was busy when we were there, but far quieter than any other resort-type towns I've been to.

We loved our stay there (both the town and the hotel), and felt incredibly relaxed, during our short 24 hour stay. We wished we'd been able to stay on for a few more days....

I'm giving it a 4 rather than a 5 simply because the hotel is simple rather than luxurious, but it served it's purpose wonderfully, and we had no complaints about it whatsoever.

Room Tip: We had a room with a Lake view, which looks out onto the board walk. It was lovely! I think those ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Propriétaire at Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your generous comment, we hope to see you the "Mediterranean sunshine" of Aix les Bains, for a longer stay, there are so many beautiful things to discover here ...

Hope to see you again,

Sincerely

Isabel and franck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    61
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
66
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

L'Iroko is all about its location, but they've done a fine job of ticking other boxes too. It's situated in the Grand Port, facing the lake, surrounded by restaurants, boats, promenades and activities. The only issue with the location is the distance from the town centre of Aix-les-bains, which is a 10€ taxi or a 30 minute walk away. But if you go for the lake, it's just the ticket.

We only managed to get a mountain-view (i.e. backward-facing) room, but it was more than fine - decent- sized, great bed, large bathroom and a new shower with more pressure than you could possibly need. The (non-alcoholic) drinks in the minibar were free, which is a nice touch, and the breakfast was more than adequate for a 3-star.

The staff was friendly and helpful too, and contributed to a zero-hassle stay.

Room Tip: Sea-views are best, corner rooms are bigger, corner rooms with sea-views are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just perfect! Very nice room, with balcony, warm, clean, tidy, big samsung tv, big bed and wardrobe, spacious room. Bathroom with huge mirror, lovely gel shower, soups, conditioner available. The only little thing is that the shower wasn't well isolated and some water gone on the floor after have had it. Soft clean towels, hairdryer, tea/coffee maker, mini fridge. Extremely quiet. Really a lovely day and night! Very nice reception.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franckbrelivet, Propriétaire at Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Hello,
We wanted to thank you and all who support us and encourage us with your comments, it affects us very much, we hope to see you one day in Aix les Bains ...

cordially

Isabel, Franck & the team of the Grand Port Iroko ***
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for three nights and were very comfortable. We had the corner room, which was a great size, with 2 balconies. The extra touch of tea/coffee with kettle, and a fridge with drinks was appreciated. A 2 minute walk and you are at the lake, and there is plenty of restaurant choices. It is out of the busy main town, therefore pleasantly quiet. Be aware there is no air conditioning, but it does have an overhead fan. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room No 19 is large, with 2 balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed at the L'iroko for one night and don't understand the other comments. The staff is friendly but the building itself is very old school. The room itself was small with urinyellow walls and very old furniture. But the bathroom was renovated nicely. All in all, the Hotel is standable but NOT at all for this price!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

After driving a considerable distance from Italy, we arrived rather late to this hotel. When we rang the bell, the woman said "Welcome, we are expecting you. Here is the code for the door and the key to your room is on the desk." the room was medium sized with a refrigerator full of complimentary drinks. Much needed I might say. The room was quiet with a good shower and we slept well.

Their was a wonderful little patio with two chairs and a table and the next morning I stepped out on the patio and what a view of the lake! Coffee and tea in room which we enjoyed on our deck. The hotel is very close to great restaurants and a nice walk lakeside. I only wish we could have stayed a few more days!! Don't forget it even included free parking.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights during a business trip with a colleague. The room was very comfortable and good value for money. The free drinks in the fridge in the room was very good! The hotel is in a great location with a good choice of restaurants around it and also has free parking. The breakfast is good with a lot of choice on offer. The hotel also has free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko

Address: Place President Edouard Herriot | Grand port, 73100 Aix-les-Bains, France
Location: France > Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Aix-les-Bains
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Aix-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lac du Bourget, the 3-star LIroko friendly staff welcomes you to their warm and pleasant accommodation.It is located just minutes from Le Bourget Technolac and the key business areas of the region. For business or leisure, you will enjoy the exceptional environment of the lake and surrounding parks.In addition to the lovely accommodation and beautiful surrounding area, the hotel is within close proximity to a world of culinary delights. Some restaurants, including a pizzeria and a traditional French restaurant, are in the same building as the hotel. Others are located less than 50 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aix Les Bains L'Iroko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.