We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel, very basic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bonaparte Hotel

Bonaparte Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bonaparte Hotel to your Saves list
Bonaparte Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue Anatole France, 83000 Toulon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Toulon
Verona, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel, very basic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

They put us on a room on the FOURTH FLOOR WITHOUT ELEVATOR!!!!!!
The room was VERY small, and the furniture/decoration was almost depressing. There was only a small window and NO AIR CONDITIONER. Just an old dirty fan put on a chair...
Really uncomfortable. Stay away!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
20
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Had a brilliant 4-day stay in Toulon during April 2008. The Hotel Bonaparte was very clean and welcoming and ideally situated. The room was quiet and the facilities very good for the price. Would definately go there again.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Disliked — Difficult to find
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

I booked to stay at the Bonaparte for one night on 4 May 2008 but had to cancel a month beforehand. The hotel confirmed my cancellation but neverthless still charged a night's accommodation to my credit card on 4 May. They have admitted their mistake and undertaken to send me a cheque in reimbursement - a month later I am still waiting for this! Beware!

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We (three adults) stayed at this Hotel for one night in September.
We were driving and the hotel was extremely hard to find as there was no sign outside that we could see from the car (there was one on the door). You could not stop on the street to off load luggage (a one way extremely busy road) and parking which was available across the road (underground) was not evident as the area was a plaza.
Our room was on the second floor (no lift), very small and very stuffy. A fan was provided but was very noisy. Our bed barely fitted into the room so getting around at night was difficult. Our daughter's area was down the passage and was without a window so she tried to use the fan but gave up. Both areas had a TV but most of the channels were in French.
The road noise outside was intrusive.
Breakfast was served in the first floor and was adequate without being memorable.
The hotel was within walking distance of the marina where there plenty of restaurants. Best was the crepery.

  • Liked — Close to restaurants
  • Disliked — Hard to find and parking not obvious, no lift
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2007

Stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights while the Rugby World Cup Quarter Finals were on.
Really Clean and friendly Hotel, small and very nicely decorated. Near the marine base in Toulon, this apparantly used to be Napoleon's House!!!!!! Very close to the Harbour which is lovely, and convenient for the train station.
Only problem with the Hotel is the spiral stairs if your on the top floor, but this is only a 2 star. You can have breakfast for 8 euros, which we did not, but i understand is good.
Toulon is a very freindly part of france, very pleasantly surprised.
Very reasonably priced from 40 euros for a double room.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2007

We spent three nights at Hotel Bonaparte. The welcome and service is friendly. The room faced onto the road, so not utterly quiet, but we weren't disturbed and the location was really handy. The room was also very small, but was very clean and had a fan to keep us cool.
Pretty good for the money!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonaparte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonaparte Hotel

Address: 16 Rue Anatole France, 83000 Toulon, France
Location: France > Provence > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bonaparte Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Bonaparte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonaparte Hotel Toulon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonaparte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.