We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amiraute

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amiraute to your Saves list
Hotel Amiraute
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 rue Adolphe Guiol, 83000 Toulon, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Toulon
Dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

The hotel is right next to the Place de le Liberte in the heart of Old Toulon. it is clean comfortable and affordable, There is free wi fi and free telephone calls to most countries. Incoming calls can be a problem however. The staff are helpful, friendly and obliging.
The breakfasts are excellent especially early in the morning.
The area about the hotel is full of interest and a plethora of excellent places to eat dinner. There are five or six restaurants within a two minute walk the best of which is Le Richardi which serves wonderful local food at modest prices in a comfortable setting. It is behind the Musee d'Art.
A short walk takes you to the harbour front through narrow streets where restoration work is going on to restore and improve the housing there. There are little squares and cafes where one can simply sit an enjoy the atmosphere. People are friendly despite the reputation the town has for being on the rough side; we never felt threatened except by one crazed drunk the like of whom will be found in any city.
All in all the Amiraute is an excellent hotel and one to which I would happily return.

Room Tip: The area was extremely quiet at night despite other reviews. We were at street level and never heard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    17
    11
    5
See reviews for
9
33
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I booked into the hotel for only 1 night but would have been delighted to have stayed for longer. My room was modern and clean with quality bedding and a very comfortable mattress. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and lovely and warm. Room 503 has views over the town, but as the hotel is situated on a busy road there is some road noise. The receptionist was very helpful and answered my many questions. The next time I return to Toulon, I shall stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

I was visiting Toulon for the Mediterranean Tall Ships Regatta and stay at the Amiraute Hotel. I had a good stay, the hotel is very close to the port and center. Very clean rooms, nice and helpfull staff. I hope that thay will renavate the lift soon ( it wasn't working on september) but i had the room at 3 rd floor and use the stairs.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redbourn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly, with a nice warm welcome. The location was perfect for us - a short walk from the main station and a short walk in the other direction to the harbour, the town, and the stadium. If only they could have organised for the Tigers to win :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is an average 3 star hotel in Toulon. It's located just off the Place de la Liberté which is a fairly central location. It's only a five minute walk in one direction to the train station and five minutes in the other direction ot the main shopping streets and squares of Toulon. The harbour front is about 7/8 minutes away as is the Rugby stadium (which is why we were there).

The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was an average continental affair. Sufficient (though the coffee was pretty dire). The room was basic and a little dated decor-wise, but it was clean and comfortable. It did seem like there was some renovation work going on on the 1st floor so I think the hotel is in the process of being renewed. Also, there was no notch for the shower head on the wall so the shower was hand held. A fairly minor inconvenience.

Overall, as a place to lay your head for one night in Toulon, the location and rates of this hotel make it a decent enough choice.

Room Tip: This is on the corner of a busy street so rooms not facing the street would be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

I would not stay here again. I stayed one night for business and did not have a good experience. My room smelled of smoke upon entry. Other guests were smoking in their rooms, which spilled into my room. The stairs on the bottom floor did not have a railing on them, which lead to a 6 foot drop. Staff was nice, but that was about it.

Room Tip: Go to the all seasons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 10 days. It was really good value for money, clean and friendly. The breakfast bar had a good variety for French English and Germans. The staff went that extra mile, ordering me a paper each morning without charge.
The position was just right for the old town and the harbour.
I'm sure we will return when next in Toulon

Room Tip: Good views from the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amiraute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amiraute

Address: 4 rue Adolphe Guiol, 83000 Toulon, France
Location: France > Provence > Var > Toulon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Toulon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Amiraute 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven story hotel with balconied windows, multilingual staff; situated in the center of town; 300 meters from the Old Port. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amiraute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Toulon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amiraute, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.