We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream come true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison du Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison du Village to your Saves list
La Maison du Village
10 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A dream come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011 via mobile

Just finishing our visit and had to write my first tripadvisor review. La Maison du Village is beautiful, charming, and very comfortable. Staying here was a dream come true. Exactly what we had hoped for on our first visit to Provence. Cathy, Ramon, and the rest of the staff have treated us very well and helped make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delafield, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed at La Maison du Village for 3 nights in September. Our suite was the beige suite.It consisted of a sitting room, a large bedroom with a king sized bed and soft sheets, and a big bathroom with a high bathtub and shower. The only problem I had was balancing in the shower because the tub moved a bit back and forth. Our suite had 5 windows that we could open and get a beautiful, fresh breeze. All of our rooms looked out to the courtyard and the church steeple which made for a peaceful sleep and beautiful view.
La Maison du Village is located on a quiet street in the heart of St. Remy de Provence. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, it was wonderful to bring a glass of wine, our journals, and a few snacks down to the lovely courtyard to relax.
Two of the mornings we opted for the $12 breakfast...fresh orange juice, fresh fruits, breads, pastries, jam, coffee, tea etc. Our breakfast was served on a table in the courtyard.
Be sure to be in St. Remy on Wednesday so you can partake in Market Day. We spent hours there.
We truly enjoyed our stay in St. Remy. It offers wonderful restaurants, great shopping, an opportunity to walk to Glanum and of course the B&B La Maison du Village.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Clusaz
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We had a lovely time here in the maison...very quiet time of year... we loved the decor and the rooms were very spacious too. The breakfasts were exceptionally good for France and the candles that I purchased are divine! I would stay here again!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed six nights and did day trips from St. Remy de Provence. This hotel was the perfect location, right in the middle of town with many cafes nearby. The staff was lovely, the room spacious and all in all a lovely place to stay. My only caution is that like all old buildings, there were a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

After a long day touring around the Luberon, we kept on going until we got to Saint Remy de Provence. Approaching the town, driving along the beautiful tree-lined roads, we knew that this was a place we would like to spend a few days. After consulting our travel guide we picked out La Maison du Village and luckily they had one suite left. The lovely Cathy guided us to the hotel by phone and welcomed us with the scent of Diptyque candles and a warm smile. There was a Jimi Hendrix exhibition hanging throughout the hotel which was nice to look at. Cathy was so helpful and recommended some nice restaurants and interesting shops and even made some good DVD suggestions when we decided to stay in. We stayed in the Rose room which was lovely and overlooked the garden where breakfast is taken.
We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel and I highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Saint Remy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Remy de provence
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My friend recommended this hotel to me, so i booked and I used this hotel as a base while touring the area and it was perfect. Very laid back, chic and like staying at a lovely french villa except you get the privacy....it is not all high tech and shiny so dont expect this - its very dreamy with floating linen curtains, lovely staff members who can help inform you on the area but still stylish. Beautiful garden courtyard where i loved eating breakfast and reading, on white linen table cloths with beautiful greenery all around every morning. I highly reccommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

La Maison du Village has a perfect setting in the middle of St Remy. Our room Ecru was the smallest room but was well laid out with a bed on a mezzanine level. It was also the only room with private outdoor space which has nice to have. I have mixed feelings about this hotel, some pros and cons below...

Pros: Great location, gorgeous smelling Diptyque candles in the rooms and a couple of perfume samples. Nice having private outdoor space. Staff kindly checked us in late morning as the room was already available. Good price with the Chic Retreats member discount. The hotel doesn't have it's own pool but allows guests to use the pool at the nearby hotel des arts. Interestingly the hotel des arts told us there is no charge for La Maison du village guests to use their pool but when we checked out of the maison there was a €9 charge for each of us to use the pool!

Cons: We stayed for 2 nights and our towels were not changed at all. Not normally a problem but as we had arrived early on the first day and showered after a swim, before bed and again the following morning we put the towels on the bath to be changed. Not only were they not changed but they were left in a pile when the room was serviced and not hung out to dry so we were left with damp towels for the remainder of our stay. A small gripe but it had a big impact on our comfort. Secondly the courtyard was used frequently during our stay by a family with small children, in a small townhouse hotel sound travels and we felt we had to go out as our room was so loud. Perhaps in a hotel this size worth not accepting children under a certain age to avoid this problem. Lastly breakfast was extremely expensive, less than a minutes walk from the door of the hotel you can get an equally lovely breakfast for a fraction of the price.

If I was passing through St Remy for a night I would consider staying at la Maison again but would probably opt for the hotel des arts across the road for the same price, a lovely garden, secure parking and free use of the pool!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LMDV, Propriétaire at La Maison du Village, responded to this review, October 19, 2010
Dear Indy W, thank you for open criticism, it is very important for us to know, in wich way we can improve our customer service. Please allow us to respond to it:

1. concerning the charge for using the pool, you have misinterpreted the statement. It is true that the hotel does not charge our clients directly for using the pool wich means there is "no direct paiement" made by the guest to the hotel.But we are charged with 9 euros, wich is the reason for our charge. Of course it is no problem to send you the bill, if you demand so.

2.We are utterly sorry and apologize for the towels. We usually change them every 2 days and even daily if they are wet or dirty. Unfortunately one of our summer interns was in charge of this and was not vigilant enough. We again express our regret, but we also find it a pity , that in the occurence of such a mistake, you did not just simply inform us, in order to immediately solve it the easiest way.

3. In case of any disturbing noise caused by children, we try to speak to the parents, but since Saint Rémy is very popular amongst families in july and August it is almost impossible to prevent every occasional noise made by children.

4. Of course we regret that you were not satisfied with the breakfast, but we believe that 12 euros for a fresh orange juice pressed at your arrival, fresh fruit season salad, yoghourt, different bred,with different artisanal jam , Viennese pastries, coffee (Nespresso) and tea (Mariage), is not overpriced

Best Regards
La Maison du Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison du Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison du Village

Address: 10 rue du 8 Mai 1945, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maison du Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Du Village Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison du Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.