We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas des Tourterelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Mas des Tourterelles to your Saves list
Le Mas des Tourterelles
21 Chemin de la Combette, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I've traveled with my family (five people in total) and we stayed about a week at Richard and Carrie's place. We rented the main apartment (kitchen and bathtub) and two more rooms. We had a great time there and everybody was comfortably accommodated.

The kitchen is really fully equipped, the beds were good and it's really central.

Our only tip is to search how to get there before arrive because we got lost a little bit, but it wasn't a big deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    15
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madtown
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Visited 60 countries, spent hundreds of nights in small hotels and B&Bs and can think of very few B&Bs that match Le Mas de Tourterelles, and I'm a harsh critic. Carrie and Richard are great hosts: Carrie's jams for breakfast, Richards photograhy in the rooms, and their restaurant and local knowledge is freely given. Although Americans should note that their English occasionally needs translation, why don't the English and Irish speak like us?

The ambiance of the patios on the ground floor rooms along with the common trellised (and consequently cooler) picnic table are a place to hide in busy St Remy. There's a fridge with wine so a picnic is very convenient. The town center is an easy four to five minute walk so the traffic and bustle of St Remy can be visited at your leisure. You would be lucky to park closer to the market on Wednesday than their car park, if you have options visit St Remy on a Wednesday morning and go shopping. (My wife planned the itinerary around market days and this one is divine.)

Lovely building, very nice rooms.

Even when you can't find your key, wander the short distance into the town center and chill.

Room Tip: There are always tradeoffs on rooms so raglan55 didn't like the view, but be aware that the two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Las Mas Tourterelles and would highly recommend it to anyone.

We stayed in a room with a view of the swimming pool and more importantly the Alpilles, which I would recommend over the rooms with a view of the other side. The room was well appointed with a very comfortable bed and a spacious bathroom including a shower.

The B&B included wifi internet throughout and was well stocked with local maps, guides, and information. The owners were very friendly and informative. Breakfast was good although we stayed for four nights and nothing changed about the breakfast. A little variety would have been nice.

I believe Saint Remy is the perfect, centrally located, home base for exploring Provence as it was large enough to offer plenty of restaurants but small enough to offer a quite night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Alpilles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Whilst we really don't have any complaints about mas des tourterelles our room by the sound of it was probably the least attractive on offer. The window looked out to the back neighbours and whilst it was nicely kept and presented was quite basic. The bathroom was v small but perfectly clean and presented. Pretty details of lavender soap and fresh fluffy towels were provided. The exterior facilities were very pretty and although it was cooler and we didn't swim the area is most attractive and pleasant to wind down after a hard days sightseeing and holidaying. The B and B is quite close to the town and easy walking distance to the many restaurants in the village. Breakfast was very nice normal b and b fare except for the exceptionally good home made conserves.

Room Tip: We can't comment on value as we paid an agent for our travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at many places during our several week trip to Europe, and this was one of our favorites. Although fairly small, our room on the ground floor had a lovely simple and clean feel. This small B&B had a very peaceful feel, and was well located a short walk from town, which was important to us. The grounds were kept up well, and the swimming pool looked immaculate and inviting (we were so busy though we didn't have time to swim!). Breakfast was very good and we ate both inside and out on the patio depending on the weather. I originally wasn't excited about staying somewhere run by English speakers as I wanted to practice my French, but Richard and Carrie were so friendly and the place was so nice that I was very happy with our choice. We enjoyed S. Remy very much. Be sure to do the Van Gogh walk. Also, it's easy to take the bus to Les Baux and much more enjoyable for us than driving. The day we went to Les Baux we took the bus to Arles, walked around and had lunch, then took the bus to Les Baux and stopped for awhile, then took the bus back to S. Remy.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachport, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Thanks to Richard and Carrie for a delightful stay at Les Mas des Tourtelles, St Remy.
We stayed a couple of nights in September and it was hot! The vine covered pergolas, pool and calm, cool colours of white and sandstone throughout provided welcome respite from the heat and tourist activities!
Breakfast of fresh seasonal fruits, yoghurt, croissants and a lovely cuppa tea, shared around the table under the vines was a daily morning treat.
Hosts- Richard and Carrie are thoughtful and insightful - sharing their extensive local knowledge generously and genuinely.
We walked 5 minutes into town centre to enjoy resturants, markets, shopping etc and on other occasions explored Provence area readily given the central position of Le Mas des Tourtelles.
We were very lucky!

Room Tip: Any room will be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were a party of two couples, good friends who have travelled together before. We booked this B&B for a week after much investigation, settling on the Tourterelles due to its perfect location, and ammenities for our needs. We were able to explore the area and surrounding sights without having to drive long distances.
We couldn't have chosen better! We stayed in the apartment with kitchen and ensuite on the upper level, along with a room on the ground level. Everything was entirely satisfactory, the kitchen had everything we needed, and we couldn't have asked for anything more. The bottle of wine and fruit waiting for us was a welcoming touch.
The location affords a quiet night and we slept really well. The upstairs apartment has a small private patio, perfect for a snack and a glass of wine, overlooking the grounds and pool. The swimming pool is clean and well maintained, as was everything else on this wonderful property.
The landlords are very friendly and provided good advice whenever we asked. Saint Remy is a comfortable 5-10 minute walk, and be sure not to miss the fabulous Wednesday Market. We would rank this property right at the top of the places we have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas des Tourterelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas des Tourterelles

Address: 21 Chemin de la Combette, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas des Tourterelles is a renovated Provencial farmhouse within a walled garden situated in a quiet residential area of St Remy. Accommodation comprises an apartment for 2 - 6 persons on a self-catering basis and 2 B&B rooms. Simplicity is the fundamental theme of the decor at Mas des Tourterelles where colours and furnishings complement the climate. Richard and Carrie Ahern look forward to welcoming you to the Mas des Tourterelles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Mas des Tourterelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Des Tourterelles Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas des Tourterelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.