We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home in St. Remy de Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sous les Figuiers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sous les Figuiers to your Saves list
Hotel Sous les Figuiers
3 avenue Taillandier, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect home in St. Remy de Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

In June my husband and I spent four nights at the excellent "Hotel Sous les Figuiers". It's a small hotel just five minutes walk from the center of St. Remy( the Place). The grounds are tree shaded and very serene. Each room has its own terrace facing the garden. Our room was large with a king bed, soft earth colors, AC, fine linens. The bath was also large and modern. Original modern art hangs in every room. The hotel also has free parking for guests. We were very comfortable and felt at home due to the friendly staff and owners. You can breakfast at the hotel for additional cost or you can walk just five minutes to the Cafe des Place and have a delicious breakfast (Kups' recommendation). St. Remy makes a comfortable base for exploring the region. We easily visited several sites, like Glanum, Les Baux, and Arles. Great hikes in Les Apilles, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room. It costs a little more but was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    35
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
25
96
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just completing four excellent nights at "Sous les Figuiers". Wonderful welcome, simple but comfortable rooms. no TV (a very good thing), very handy to the centre of St Remy and with access to the wider Les Alpilles region. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hard to imagine a more lovely, comfortable inn in St. Remy than Sous les Figuiers! Our cottage was literally under the fig trees with our own terrace to relax after a day of cycling. Kups and her staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating, offering a cold bottle of water after a our ride from Les Baux. Sous les Figuiers is on a quiet street, a block off the main ring road, easy walking distance to all the town's shops and restaurants. The pool is a real oasis in the often hot Provençal afternoon. Like other guests, we would go out of our way to get back to St. Remy and Sous les Figuiers.

Room Tip: Be sure to reserve a cottage/terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed 5 nights and was very pleased. Room had a large bathroom with bath; terrace onto garden was perfect for pre dinner drinks. Staff very helpful and always smiling. Very convenient for walking to restaurants and town core. Will stay again when next in Provence

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We just returned from a 3 nights stay at Sous les Figuiers and can't wait to go back! It's a charming, cozy inn located on a quiet street only blocks from the center of town. Kups and Gisele are great hosts and very helpful. They've done an amazing job creating a warm atmosphere. Kups gave us several restaurant recommendations which turned out to be fab and also made a late phone call for rental bikes to be delivered the next morning. Can't remember the name of the company, but the man who dropped them off was super accommodating. We were in room #1 which was quite spacious, with one large bed and one single bed along with 2 chairs and plenty of space to walk around. Each room has it's own sitting area outside with a table and chairs (2 additional lounge chairs on almost all of the small terraces). We did not use the pool, however it looked like the perfect place to take a dip after a long day. Thanks Sous les Figuiers for a wonderful 3 days. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed at this wonderful place for 4 nights and can't rave enough about the experience. Lovely room, beautiful grounds and the hospitality of Koops and Giselle made our stay a true delight. Thank you so very much for taking care of us and we will return as soon as possible!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. Make sure you have a room with a terrace as some of the inside rooms are very dark and small. The owners are lovely and the staff friendly. I'll return. Nice pool.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sous les Figuiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sous les Figuiers

Address: 3 avenue Taillandier, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sous les Figuiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sous Les Figuiers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sous les Figuiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.