We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canto Cigalo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Canto Cigalo to your Saves list
Canto Cigalo
8a chemin Canto Cigalo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucestershire England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The room, the garden, the breakfast, were all delightful. The hotel is very good value, the 8 euro breakfast is better than most French breakfasts, there's private parking, it's an easy walk into town, the staff (? owners) seem helpful. We only stayed one night but it would be fine for longer. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden are a little more expensive but worth it for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    58
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
18
114
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The staff were very friendly, happy to help with our special requirements as we have a baby we needed boiled water for feeds etc. The hotel is spotless and far better than I expected for 2 stars. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The weather was a bit cold when we were there so didn't use the pool but it looked lovely. Also it's only a pleasant short walk from the town. Great place.

Only tiny thing is it would have been good to have a kettle in our room but thats only a minor thing.

Room Tip: South side room better as view of pool instead of car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great location for pied-a-terre when visiting Provence, within walking distance of downtown Saint Remy-de-Provence. The grounds are well maintained and relaxing. We stayed for several nights.

As others have mentioned, cleanliness is taken to the extreme including moving our suitcases from the floor (to shelves where we couldn't open them) to allow for vacuuming. We asked that they be left on the floor during the remainder of our stay and they complied. We were not allowed to have any food or drink in our room, which meant we could not buy any of the wonderful foods offered at Provencal markets unless we ate them before returning to the room.

A hotel rather than a B&B, we were charged for breakfasts separately.

We were required to leave our room key on a readily accessible pegboard while away from the hotel; this concerned us because anyone could take our key without the knowledge of the staff, since there were brief occasions when the front desk was not manned while they served guests.

Also as others have mentioned, the hosts were pleasant but not warm and congenial.

Recommended, with the above caveats.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed with my wife for a couple of days. One of the nicest small hotels we have visited in France. Very quaint, relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff. Would highly recommend, even if you are thinking of staying in a 4 star resort.

Room Tip: We stayed in one facing the gardens which was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I will start writing this review by saying that I did not stay there myself, but I feel like my amazing experience is worth sharing with those looking for a place where hospitality comes first.
I booked this hotel for a couple friend who where travelling through Europe. They were looking for beautiful and relaxing surrounding, and when reading the review, I figured this would be the place of their choice. But upon their arrival, the manager announced that he had had to cancel the room, because the credit card left for deposit had been identified as fraud... These things can happen when you travel abroad and don't tell your bank!
Without a second thought, he booked my friends in another hotel near by, personally drove them there, and came back in the morning to pick them up!
My friends then had an amazing stay at the hotel, and couldn't stop but praising the service, the quality of the rooms, and the beautiful view from their room...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

All is perfect in this 'better than a 2-star' hotel that's about a 10-minute walk from the center of town. The decorating could do with some updating but as mentioned in other reviews it is immaculately clean and everything functions. It felt like the right size of hotel for us... not a box of a room in a tower. The terrace, garden and pool are spacious and allow for great views of the Alpilles. A very quiet neighborhood.
That said ... while the reception is efficient it is not warm. Even when I told them how much we liked staying at the hotel and how wonderful things were, I didn't even see a glimmer of pleasure. I can only begin to imagine how fatiguing it must be to work in hospitality, but there was no sense of personal connection during our stay. In this way it felt just the same as staying in a 300 room resort on some beach like Hurghada.

Room Tip: a room on the first floor across from the rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

Really impressed with this hotel: very, very clean, fantastic pool area and gardens, lovely terrace, peaceful location but within walking distance of St Remy. Although the service was a little luke warm (probably due to my floundering French!), the owners really care about their hotel. Excellent value for money in an area where accomodation is generally expensive. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canto Cigalo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canto Cigalo

Address: 8a chemin Canto Cigalo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will be welcomed to the Canto Cigalo with a smile as if you are comming to stay with friends. 20 comfortable rooms 2 ** withair-conditioned or ventilated,equipped with shower or bath, private toilets, telephone, mini-bar Quiet garden, shade of mulberry trees and pines and perfumed to scents of the Provence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Canto Cigalo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Cigalo Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canto Cigalo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.