We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GOOD RECOMMENDATION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A GOOD RECOMMENDATION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in June upon the recommendation of friends. We were not disappointed. Lovely setting with well-tended gardens and two pools. Very quiet area. Staff all friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking and well located for touring in the area.

Good-sized room and well fitted out, apart from stupid swing doors to the bathroom. Suspect the further building may be more peaceful. Housekeeping first rate.

Food good (apart from a trio of potatoes!) and nicely served. Breakfast very good by French standards.Interesting local wine list, fairly priced. Something does need to be done about positioning smokers though; one couple chain smoked throughout each meal, to the detriment of others' enjoyment and hardly a compliment to the chef.

One other possible snag is that the hotel does have tour groups. When we were there the group was about 15 strong. Seated apart, but quite noisy and placed rather a strain on the kitchen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    61
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
202
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Nice rooms with all mod cons, lovely grounds with 2 pools, limited menu but excellent food and extensive wine list..........all this in a warm comfortable atmosphere created by the personal efforts of Pierre and Michel. This is an excellent hotel in easy walking range of St Remy and ideally situated as a base from which to explore Provence. We will return.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have stayed at Mas des Carassins many times over the past 10 years or so. Accommodation and meals are of the highest quality and the garden and pool areas are very well designed and perfect for relaxation.
Pierre, Michel and Karine are always most welcoming and together with their whole team produce a very relaxed friendly atmosphere and very efficient service.
The hotel is well situated in easy walking distance to the town and for visiting other parts of Provence.
Highly recommended J & B P

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Prior to my visit to Carassins, I stayed at an amazing 5 star hotel in Monaco. After 4 lovely nights at Michael & Pierre's property, I can assure you that this hotel is just as classy in the most charming French Provincial way. There was thoughtful attention given to the decor, floral arrangements, aesthetic garden, gorgeous food and efficient & friendly service. This property embodies quality and class. It is all in the details. Restaurants in St. Remy are really, really good. Enjoy the Tripadvisor recommendations. That said, I still strongly recommend that you enjoy at least one dinner at the hotel. Book ahead to avoid being disappointed. Breakfast is just right in every way. It's location is great since it's close to town and convenient by walking. Staying at Le Mas Des Carassins was an integral part of our incredible trip here in the Provence. Merçi beaucoup, Pierre, Michelle, Karyn and the entire staff. It would be our pleasure to stay here again. Christina and Angela

Room Tip: Bigger isn't better. Our room wasn't huge but there terrace was frequently enjoyed. Ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Marvellous hotel, in good, quiet location. Very convenient for St Remy, walking distance to town, especially important on market day. This is one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed at. The ambience is relaxed, and one gets the sense they have many repeat bookings. The gardens and interiors are beautiful. Breakfast is bountiful, and was included in our price. We also took dinner at the hotel and it was exquisitely prepared and presented, great service in the restaurant. We would certainly recommend eating at the hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms are all of high standard, we stayed in a new block adjacent to the 'quiet' area an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I think I finally get the French. It's all about slowing down, enjoying life and appreciating the local food wine and sites. And this is the perfect place to do it. A great jumping off point for Rousillon, the pont du gard, Arles and the cotes du Rhine vineyards. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: New wing with view of the mountains and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our "first choice" place but when we went to make a reservation it was completely booked up. Luckily, I kept checking availability and got lucky that they had a cancellation.

Grounds - The grounds are simply beautiful, full of lavender, flowers & olive trees. It was very peaceful and relaxing. There are two pools and a gravel patio area where dinner is served (weather permitting).

Staff - I really can't say enough nice things about the staff. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I accidentally locked myself out of the mini-safe in the room and even forgot which room was ours (all the rooms are tucked away and look very similar) and both times the gentleman at the front desk was very helpful.

Location - We choose to stay in St-Remy-De-Provence because of it's central location. We figured it would be a great jumping off point to all the things we wanted to see and do. I'm glad to say we weren't wrong. Additionally, the hotel is within walking distance to the town of St Remy and it was nice to be able to head into town without having to take the rental car and worry about parking. Also, St Remy has an amazing Farmer's market on Wednesday which we enjoyed very much.

Room - I've read other review on this site where they complained about the size of the room but compared to other hotel rooms that we stayed at in France, I felt our room was more than adequately sized. It appeared to be recently renovated and the bathroom was very nicely done. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and everything worked as expected.

Food - The website we were booking through only offered the room with breakfast & dinner included but when I emailed the hotel they were very accomodating and allowed us to have 2 nights with dinner and 2 nights without. I must admit that I was a little worried that we might not like the food but we were pleasantly surprised and loved it. We ended up eating there all 4 nights afterall. One morning I saw that they were serving fish that night and when I advised them know that I don't eat any fish or seafood, they very nicely gave me something different. They even went out of there way to find us to check to see if my husband was okay with having the sea bass (he was). The food was served in courses and often had a specific theme, i.e. tomatoes or olives. Each course was almost better than the last and the bread selection was quite good. Additionally, everything was exceptionally fresh.

In conclusion, I would definitely stay here again if in the area! Also, it's my understanding that the same gentlemen own another property in Gordes that might be worth checking out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Address: 1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Des Carassins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.