We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden, tranquil setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel to your Saves list
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darien, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden, tranquil setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked at Le Mas and stayed 3 nights mainly because Chateau des Alpilles where we had stayed many years ago (and really liked) was not available. Saint Remy can feel overrun by autos and fumes and Le Mas des Carassins was a beautiful tranquil refuge. We had booked a ground floor suite looking towards the garden (but like all ground floor units, they are shaded by landscaping which affords privacy, but also cuts off the views); finding the room too dark we asked for an alternative and ended up staying in a second floor unit (Les Baux) in the annex; our only minor complaints: window seemed shorter than could have been and bedding could have been better (a duvet/comforter would have been welcome, instead of worn blanket) and 2 pillows each rather than one (we ended up asking for two extras). But otherwise, the view of the garden and the Alpilles was spectacular, the landscaping brilliant, the entire annex is well done in a more modern style with quality finishes, stone floors/tling and very attractively suited. In short, we enjoyed our stay very much. The room and the modern bath room taken together seemed much larger than the suite in the original building, and quieter to boot. We took two of our three dinners as well as all our breakfasts at the hotel; the food was delicious, well presented and service was always terrific, the implied value for the meals was outstanding. We did not walk into Saint Remy, preferring to drive; we stocked with water, supplies and groceries at a nearby market 2 minutes drive away. While both Le Mas and Chateau des Alpilles are in walking distance, Le Mas is a bit closer. Will happily come back again if we ever have a chance.

Room Tip: We would recommend south facing rooms in annex (there are two in the 2nd floor (i.e. 1st floor, in F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    61
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
42
202
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins for one night - a late booking. From the moment we drove through the gates parked easily in the ample car park and saw the gardener at work we knew we were going to be in safe hands! The hotel is lovely and the grounds carefully tended but of course all this would not matter if the welcome and service were not equally as good - and they were. We were on the first floor in Balondet and the view from our room of the garden was totally relaxing. Facilities were excellent in all respects and we made the right decision in having dinner there which was superb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Le Mas in Mid March. We opted for the room package incl. breakfast and dinner. Wise decision. Great room on upper floor with view on to the grounds and Les Alpilles. Great, quiet room with all the amenities of safe, cable TV, flat screen etc.. Dinner both nights was outstanding with a very good selection of wines of the region. Good breakfast.
The staff, both at the reception and in the dining room were very attentive. Great location away from St Remy's hustle and bustle, yet within easy walking distance ( 7 min) to town center. Grounds are beautiful with interesting art work. It is close to Glanum and the Van Gogh Asylum.
When returing to the area we definitely would stay again at Le Mas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early October, 2012 at the end of a month long trip. Thinking back on the highlights of our trip, our stay at Le Mas Des Carassins was most memorable. The meals were awesome and the hotel was very clean and had an atmosphere that we loved. Our objective was to travel the area around St. Remy by car and this hotel was in a perfect location to do day tours. If you go, be sure to book the hotel and meals package. It's well worth it. We hope to return to this area in the future and will definitely stay at this hotel again.

Thanks to all the staff. We appreciated the great service.

Brian and Eva Magee, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor of the older section that is attached to the dining room and reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed at Le Mas Des Carassins in October for two nights on the first lap of a tour of Provence/ Langedoc, but liked it so much we returned for another two nights.

What makes this place stand out is simplicity in its beauty. Tucked away from the main road leading to one of the quaintest villages in Provence, the green grounds near the pool are the perfect pre-dinner retreat.

San Remy is a perfect base for Provence, and so close to gems like Gordes and Les Baux - two stunning towns. Rooms are comfortable, with the traditional countryside hotels' furniture. But what makes this place really unique is its cuisine. Every night a different five-star menu is offered, which, washed down with a fine wine from nearby Les Baux is the perfect nightcap to one of the most beautiful regions in Europe. No wonder it was packed every night. Oh and if you're lucky you'll get to meet Baux the dog.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and got their discounted November price for the room, breakfast, and dinner. It was a great deal for everything we got and would definitely recommend it. As others have described, it is in a garden setting within walking distance of the town of St. Remy. There are plants and fountains in the well manicured area outside. There is a large amount of free parking space available. Since it was November there were only a few people staying there so it was very quiet. I had a standard room, which was well decorated and a normal size for France. They also have rooms with private patios that would be nice in warmer weather. The room had a small refrigerator and a safe. The flat screen TV had 4 English channels - CNN, CNBC, BBC, and Bloomberg.
The breakfasts were good and included high quality food. The dinners that were served in their restaurant were outstanding. The menu is posted each morning so you can decide if you want to eat there (there are no options or substitutions to the menu). They have 5 courses, including cheese and dessert, and include a drink to start (we had Champagne one evening and sweet wines the other two nights). The have an extensive wine list of the area wineries, which were reasonably priced (we got good bottles for about 25 Euros). The woman who took care of us in the morning and evening spoke excellent English and was very helpful and friendly.
The hotel is a short walk to St. Remy, which is nice and has lots of restaurants and shops. There is not a sidewalk on the first two blocks of the walk, but the traffic is not heavy. St. Remy is close to the town and ruins of Les Baux and to other sites in Provence. It was a good place to have as a base. I would certainly recommend this hotel and restaurant and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Others have described the Inn very accurately (except those who had weird complaints - ignore those!) The gardens are lovely, filled with flowers, even in the fall, and intriguing sculptures. You can find a peaceful spot to read, think, write, sleep, under the olive trees. Although it was too cool to eat outside, I can imagine that dinner under the trees is wonderful. We did have three dinners at the Inn, and all were delicious. The hosts were very accommodating to my shellfish food allergy, substituting specially prepared dishes. We had a quiet room on the second floor of the main house. Our room had all the modern amenities but somehow managed to be also be charming. St. Remy is a great base for exploring surrounding towns, and we were always happy to come back to Le Mas Des Carassins at the end of the day.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different, so it is worth corresponding with the owners to be sure you are clear a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel

Address: 1 Chemin Gaulois, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#2 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Mas Des Carassins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.