We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful, and wonderful hosts.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mas De Cornud

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mas De Cornud
Save
You added Mas De Cornud to your Saves list
Route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Surrey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful, and wonderful hosts.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed in Mas for two nights, on one of our many stops on the way to Antibes. The house is stunning and has a pool and extensive grounds. The rooms are beautiful, rustic french, and if this is your thing, this is the perfect place to stay. There is free wifi too, and although I'd love to be completely cut off, and switched off, the reality is that as I run my own business, wifi is essential. David and Nito are lovely hosts, so helpful with tips on the area including where to eat out etc. I wish that we would have had the opportunity to have dinner there, as I have no doubt it would have also been lovely. I would go back in a heartbeat to see more of Provence and maybe do a days cookery class with Nito.

Breakfast was lovely and fresh, with beautiful bread and croissants, homemade compotes, fresh fruit picked from the gardens, as well as yoghurts, and muesli. You enjoy this sitting in the gorgeous Provence kitchen, which makes you feel like you are visiting friends, rather than as guests in a B&B, and the personal touches were just a treat. I'm guessing in the height of summer you would sit outside, but although it was very summery still there was a very enthusiastic breeze which apparently is very common from September on making al fresco not possible. Karen, the lovely Canadian girl staying there on work placement was truly hospitable, warm and friendly. My request for Green Tea was accommodated with a special, Japanese, loose tea presented , and was there waiting for the next morning too. It's attention to detail like this that make for a special stay.

They had a room downstairs especially for my elderly mum which, again was lovely. Henry made friends with David & Nito's two dogs who were present but not invasive if you're not a canine fan, they were beautifully behaved at all times.

You could walk into St Remy if you're fit, but I wouldnt recommend walking back in the dark as its quite remote, but as we had my mum with us we drove each night. St Remy is definitely worth a visit, it's very old and pretty.

We had a lovely stay, and I hope to return again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Well, I have just returned from one of the most enjoyable days of my time in France. I was undecided about going to Mas De Cornud, but now will recommend this place to all my friends who are thinking about spending time in France, away from the usual sights and tourist attractions.

The day started at 8am where Nito met us on the steps of the church, just as the weekly market was starting up. She then spent more than an hour walking around the stalls explaining the traditional foods and local produce and bringing the market to life for us - truly a worthwhile experience.

Then back to the beautifully restored 200 year old Mas De Cornud. We were welcomed with a coffee and croissant, and then gathered in the kitchen to start our cooking experience. There were 10 people attending the cooking class and we started out mostly as strangers, but within a short space of time, Nito and David's hospitality enabled us to feel completely relaxed and at ease.

The kitchen was of a professional, commercial standard but with a homey rustic flair where we each had our own fully-equipped work station, We not only prepared delicious Provençal food, sourced either from her garden or from local markets but she also shared many cooking secrets gained over her years of experience. Little secrets (dicing onions, when to add salt, how to check if rice needs rinsing, drizzling honey on top of the tart, how to hold a knife for maximum safety and efficiency, etc.) were generously shared to enhance the learning experience.

The menu was simple to prepare, but the presentation and the final result was extraordinary. I think Nito's skill (one of them) was to create a learning environment where ingredients, instructions and methodology have been carefully planned to enable a successful outcome, where each one of us walked away feeling rather pleased with ourself.

Of course the aperitifs and wine were excellent and abundant, and the setting outdoors where we ate together once the cooking was finished, was idyllic. Nito and David both made us feel so at home and as if we had been friends for years. They also gave us tips for other places to visit and things to do and answered all questions warmly and thoroughly.

I have nothing but praise for Mas de Cornud and highly recommend it to all who would like to experience the warmth, charm and epicurean delights of Provençal hospitality.

Meredith Australia

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We spent a week at Mas de Cornud in June, and it was wonderful. Our hosts David and Nito made us feel very much at home.  The first night we arrived we had a wonderful meal with the other guests.  David served as the host, offering us aperitifs and leading us through a rousing game of Pétanque while Nito prepared a delicious meal.  It was a four-hour affair from aperitifs to dessert, and we felt that the other guests (including fellow reviewer Mike Soon's group from Singapore) and our hosts were our friends by the end of the evening. They don't do this every night, but if you are lucky to have a chance to join them for an evening, don't miss out. We were lucky enough to have two such dinners during the week that we were there.

We  would definitely recommend Nito's tour of the market in St. Rèmy de Provence (Wednesday morning) followed by her cooking class.  The class was both fun and informative.  We had taken a series of cooking courses at home in New York, but we still learned a lot and enjoyed both the cooking and the languorous eating of the lunch we prepared.

The rooms are charming, and the pool area is a beautiful place to relax.  The breakfast featured fresh fruits from their garden and delicious croissants served outside under the giant sycamores. By week's end were very sad to leave our new friends, and we hope we can make it back some day to enjoy more of their wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We have to concur with some of the other reviews.  The property is overpriced for what it is.  We stayed for 3 nights at  €240 per night (which was the price charged by nearby chateau hotels we discovered). 

To be fair, it should be said that the owners overall were very nice and engaging and recommended lovely restaurants and also made some bookings on our behalf.  The grounds were very pleasant and well maintained. Our room was large and, when out on the balcony had a nice outlook to an orchard.

But for the price, we expected more than basically a room in someone's country house.   The room was large but 'no frills'; the decor ordinary, in need of a make-over.  No water in the room.... empty water jug and glasses dusty and drab.   The room was hot and initially had an old rickety fan which was replaced on request.  Just basic, that is all....

In the bathroom, no nice soaps, no shampoo, bath gel or such like at all.  The soap in the shower looked pre-used. (This was standard fare in the better guesthouses we have stayed in over the last 5 weeks in France). The hand towel rail was loose and the main light in the bathroom was not working.  The wi fi was flakey.

As for the breakfast.  The same 'no frills' theme here too.....  Few pieces of fruit, few pastries, cereal.  The usual ordinary stuff.... now 'wow' factor here and at this price, uninspiring.

Also, to mention that we were asked not to consume any food anywhere on the property, despite the nice big garden with tables and chairs positioned therein and the inviting space around the pool.  Something about not wanting guests 'to picnic anywhere'.  There was only one other couple who we only saw at breakfast.

Also, as the other reviewer mentioned, we were offered a home cooked meal as Mas Cornud is also  a cooking school.  But, there had to be a minimum of six people, two couples and the owners.  So, in the end we decided against this idea as it was all rather vague and we simply found the whole idea a little odd.

We walked away with the feeling that we had not received value for money as the price for staying at this guesthouse was not matched by the quality of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilNorling, Owner at Mas De Cornud, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We very much enjoyed having them as guests, they are a lovely, charming couple from one of our favorite parts of the world, Australia and we are sorry to learn they did not feel they had value from their stay.

They found us through the Go Slow France guide where most properties including ourselves are very much “un chateau”. We are proud be green and keep to the traditions of an 18th stone farmhouse and hope to be judged on criteria other than designer amenities in our bathrooms.

Our room prices include breakfast and charges. The same room in one of the chateau hotels would have been between 345 -360€ if this is added in.

All bathrooms are supplied with a generous fresh bar of lavender soap, biodegradable shampoo from a dispenser in the shower and a hand wash gel dispenser by the sink.

Carafes can be filled by guests from the tap water from our property’s artesian well, bottled water is not needed.

The light bulb was replaced as soon as it mentioned, we missed this on the pre check in inspection.

Wi fi works well but although our thick stone walls do a good job of cooling, they do not allow signals to reach all parts of the property. Signal strength is strongest on the ground floor.

There is nothing vague about our policy of not allowing consummation of food on our premises brought in from outside. We state clearly in our guest letter in every room that it is forbidden for hygienic and licensing reasons.

We are very happy to refrigerate perishables for our guests and provide complimentary picnic gear and suggestions of locales where they might enjoy an al fresco outing.

Our breakfasts are French style with embellishments including homemade jams from our garden.

Regarding our acclaimed home cooked dinners and cooking classes, it was unfortunate that we did not have sufficient demand during their stay, we are sure they would have enjoyed the experience.

We hope they return to a better stay with us.

David Carpita
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We drove up to St Remy after 4 nights in Nice, where we stayed at Palais de la Meditaranee, so our expectations were quite high. The Palais was classy and luxurious, but at the end of my trip, I ended up loving Mas de Cornud more. This is less of a B&B, and more of a home away from home.

From the moment we stepped into this Mas, we were made to feel very welcome. David and Nito are excellent and gracious hosts. During the home cooked dinner, David helped us break the ice with the current guests with pre-dinner apertifs, petanque and great conversation. By the time dinner started, I felt we were already good friends with them and with all the guests. What a great way to start the trip!

Breakfast at the patio was a wonderful experience - cool mornings, with sun on your face and great croissant and butter/jam and cafe au lait, with friends that you have made the previous night. I'm missing this already!

David was extremely helpful with regards to trips around Provence, about where to go if you have limited time and where to park (very important if going to bigger towns).

A tip to all going to St Remy - do not miss the weekly market at St Remy - wonderful variety of food and cheeses and mussels and oysters and salamis and wonderful smells and sights. And remember to go early as well, as parking for cars decrease quite rapidly.

My trip in Provence was only 4 nights - waay to short. I will have to return to Provence again and will stay at this mas again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and had a fabulous time. David and Nito are such gracious hosts and helped us with any questions that we had. David is American and we don't speak any French so he was a huge help. Nito is a gourmet cook and offers regular cooking classes on site (highly recommend!) We enjoyed our morning breakfast on the patio, under the sycamore trees, and the beds were very comfortable. Only a 5 minute drive into the quaint town of Saint Remy, with lots of great restaurants and local boutiques. I hope to come back here again some day!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed in a room with a queen bed. My husband and I were on top of eachother. The room was so small, we could not even unpack, the bathroom was tiny. The lighting in the room was dark. The first room we were offered was also small but smelled very musty. The place needs updating, it is dark and dreary inside. We were there 6 nights. The price for our room was very expensive for what it is. An upgrade was not available and would have been more money. We were very disappointed. We would have left but we had paid in advance and could not get our money back.

On a positive note the breakfast was good, and the pool area is very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mas De Cornud, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Our queen bed rooms are 200 square feet. The average hotel room is 170 square feet (source: Hotel and Leisure Advisors). Though not huge, it is bigger than the average size hotel room.

As mentioned in Go Slow France, the Mas de Cornud, a 200 year old farmhouse, has thick stone walls and traditional shutters that function as the air conditioning plant. Rooms are closed up in the afternoons (which is arrival time for most guests) so naturally the room was dark. In the mornings and in cooler weather, the window opens to a very nice view of the garden, pool area and the room is bright and airy.

We are glad they enjoyed the breakfast and the pool area but very sorry to hear they were disappointed with their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mas De Cornud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas De Cornud

Address: Route du Rougadou, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas de Cornud is a restored 18th-century stone farmhouse with five well appointed guest rooms and a spacious family suite. A private country inn, the emphasis is on family style living with evening meals often preceded by a lively game of boules while sipping pastis. Other amenities besides the boules court are a spacious swimming pool, jacuzzi, gated parking and of course free internet access and a guest laptop. The Seasons of Provence cooking school at the same location offers market shopping with hands on instruction in English or French for preparing dishes which are consumed in a meal after class accompanied by regional wines. Breakfast, often served al fresco, is included in the room price. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mas De Cornud Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mas De Cornud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.