We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in the center of Saint Remy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de l'Image

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de l'Image to your Saves list
Hotel de l'Image
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Bd Victor Hugo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the center of Saint Remy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Located on the boulevards that girdle the village of Saint Rémy de Provence, the hotel is a haven of peace with a 2 ha garden, swimming pool and private parking. Staff is absolutely top ! Do pay a bit more for a room with terrace overlooking the garden and the Alpilles mountains. Room service is great and the restaurant serves genuine provencale food paired with local wines. Check out the packs on their website : 33% discount if you stay three nights. We were staying with our dog and this is really the place to be in Saint Rémy when travelling with an animal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    51
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
69
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our cycle tour of Provence. On arrival, the staff were very friendly and professional. We were shown to our room (Rm 4) by going out to an annex, up a lift, along a corridor, then down a flight of concrete stairs. This was the long way round and was obviously designed to show us a nicer route to our room, rather than a short walk up a flight of stairs that looked like the emergency exit! The room was a good size, though I suspect the smallest in the hotel and the bed was very comfortable. The shower though was very badly designed with no shower curtain and it was impossible to shower without flooding the bathroom.

The gardens also had a lot of very noisy frogs living in them, which though 'cute' made a huge noise all night.

WiFi was frustrating as every time my computer hibernated, it was logged off and I had to re-enter the password each time.

The evening meal was nice, but not great, but drinks were expensive. I had a cognac which was the smallest I have ever been offered in France.

The Hotel setting though is very nice, and I am sure the other rooms are superior to one we ended up with.

Room Tip: Don't choose Rm 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our fourth stay at this hotel, the first being in 2007. Back then, it was very sleek and modern, but now it's looking a little tired and run-down. Apparently, it's under new ownership and partnered with Les Bories in Gordes and the Valruges outside of St Remy.

The location right in St Remy is terrific. St Remy is a perfect place from which to see Provence. It's full of good restaurants and shops and in-and-out access by car is great. The hotel has a large car park. The hotel caters to large cycling groups.

The rooms in the main building have large terraces overlooking a huge garden and the Les Alpilles mountains (painted by Van Gogh) in the distance. Breakfast is very good. But the rooms need to be updated. Our room had some pictures missing from the walls and the bathroom had some cracked tiles and some minor plumbing problems. A little renovation should bring this hotel back up to par.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building have nice terraces overlooking the huge garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently made a self-guided bicycle tour of Provence (a group of 5 family members), and the Hotel de l'Image was booked for our stay in Saint-Rémy. Since it was part of our package, we did not research and choose it ourselves, but we all agreed that it was the best (by far) of the hotels we stayed in during our sojourn in Provence.

Unfortunately we did not have much time to enjoy the hotel. We arrived late in the afternoon, after a challenging ride from Arles, and left the next morning for Avignon.

The staff was courteous and welcoming, and most spoke excellent English. Our room was absolutely spotless, stocked with excellent amenities, and huge by French standards. We had a sitting room facing the boulevard, a commodious bedroom, and a large patio overlooking the lovely grounds in the rear.

We also had a wonderful experience in the dining room. The waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable, and made excellent wine recommendations. I should have taken notes during dinner (I can only remember that I had a delicious fish from Lac Leman), but we all gave our meals two thumbs-up. We ate well throughout our stay in Provence, and everyone thought that this was one of the best dining experiences we had.

The restaurant and hotel lobby have a film and photography theme, as the name would suggest, and there are lots of wonderful photos to look at.

It's difficult for me to comment on the value, since our stay and our dinner was part of a package, but I think it would be well worth the prices I see posted on tripadvisor and elsewhere. European hotels are often over-rated, but this one unquestionably deserves its 4-star rating.

If you are planning to visit the charming town of Saint-Rémy, l'Hotel de l'Image deserves your consideration.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien G, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Image, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at l’Hôtel de l’Image, and appreciate your very kind comment with regard to the staff and the hotel in general.
For the record, the fish you enjoyed so much was a “Filet de Fera du lac Leman”, the red wine was “Château-neuf du Pape, Domaine de Villeneuve, cuvée les vieilles vignes de 2006” and the white wine was “Côtes du Rhone, Domaine Jean-luc Colombo, cuvée la redone de 2011”.
We hope you will come back for a longer stay next time!
With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Had a thoroughly enjoyable stay, the room I stayed in was completely renovated, and from the overall look of the hotel and the restaurant (brand new), it seems that major renovation has been done very recently. The location, right in the center of town, is excellent, and the incredibly beautiful country retreat at the back of the hotel is breathtaking. Sadly, I couldn't enjoy it to the fullest because of the not-too-good weather at the time, but I can easily imagine it to be the perfect place to spend a warm summer evening. The service was very friendly and forthcoming, and the food in the restaurant was lovely .

On a side note, if you happen to find yourself in St. Rémy on a Wednesday, make sure to go to the local market, you're certain to find many a high-quality local produce, such as, but by no means limited to, various tasty olive- and nut-based spreads.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What a beautiful hotel as it is city facade and glorious country retreat in the rear. The food was wonderful as well. However, the staff defines the french term laissez- faire. Ten of our rooms were broken into as well as all of our safes. Many of us had cash and electronics and jewelry stolen. The staff did nothing!!! No call to the police, no apology, no compensation or recognition at all!!
The number one industry in Provence is tourism. They had less than no concern for the violation of their customers privacy. I would never recommend or return to this hotel.
Our tour guide did call the police and take care of all the details for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damien G, Directeur général at Hotel de l'Image, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

We are deeply sorry for what's happened and apologize for this wrong impression the staff showed you.
As soon as we found out this intrusion, all the staff did his best to help you. The police came at the hotel and we are still doing our best to deal with insurance companies.
Since that, all the locks had been changed, and a camera protects the intrance.
The new staff and the new Manager will give their best to welcome our guests in our nice and peaceful hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de l'Image? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Image

Address: 36 Bd Victor Hugo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'Image 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Splendia so you can book your Hotel de l'Image reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de l'Image, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.