We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekly market” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marche du mercredi matin

Marche du mercredi matin
Place de la Republique, Place Jules Pellissier | Avenue de la Résistance, Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
+33 (0) 4 90 92 08 10
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
Ontario
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekly market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We visited the market in late May and found it was well worth planning your week around a visit to the town.

The market is extensive and at every turn we discovered something new. It was a great spot to buy a picnic lunch and shop for some unique souvenirs.

Parking was a problem- we arrived at around 10am and couldn't find a spot, even in the paid parking lot at the Tourist Office. Luckily, a woman at the Tourist Office told us about some free parking nearby (I believe its on Ave Pierre Barbier).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Bring a big bag and get ready for lots of tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to this market yesterday. It is partially located on the north and west sections of the ring road around the old section, and partially on the tiny pedestrians streets through the center. It was great to meander through the old section and see the cute shops too. The best advice we got was from a lady in the Tourist Office On the way into town. We followed her advice which worked out perfectly...get there early to get parking. We got there at about 7:15 and easily found good parking about a 3 minute walk away. She said that at 8:00-8:30 parking is already very tight and you might have to walk a long time. The booths were varied as already mentioned and we couldn't help but to buy a lot! Bring a big shopping ba and a good appetite. Lots of samples of the local foods!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Gourmet treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The market in Saint-Remy is a massive, crowded, blocks-long bazaar full of clothes, linens, soap, children’s books, candles, knives, used records and compact disks, essential oils, lavender, junky tourist souvenirs, and food. Amazing food! The incredible diversity of gourmet food is the real draw here: olives, olive oils, cheeses, honey, artisan breads, candied almonds, nougat, truffles, girolles (a.k.a. chanterelles), cured meats, artichokes, fruit, and assorted salad greens. The vendors continuously tempt you with samples, and invariably what they offer is good, so you wind up buying way more than you would imagine. At least that’s what happened to us. We enjoyed a fantastic picnic afterwards and had plenty left to cook a couple of delicious meals back at our apartment.

We noticed prices varied from vendor to vendor, and not everything for sale is local, even among the foods. There are deals to be had if you search, but don’t take too long: the stalls all close up around 1 pm and they clean up fast. By 2 pm, you’d never know there was a market there at all. The Saint-Remy market was the first one we experienced on our trip, and the other Provencal markets we checked out did not live up to its standards.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“WOW...WHAT A MARKET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Travelling through France for 5 weeks, I intentionally saw a lot of markets and for sure this one was amongst the best. It is quite lovely the way it weaves its' way through all the narrow streets and squares. Fresh food abounds as well as prepared foods, and is a delight to the senses. As you stroll leisurely from stall to stall you never know what you will encounter next...crafts, shoes, jewelry, linens, lavender...you name it. It was quite wonderful, well worth a detour to be there on the Wednesay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I dream of going back..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If i could go back to provence, i would spend so much more time at this market. The food, the clothes, the atmosphere are all amazing. There is amazing seafood, fruits, vegetables, jewellery, shoes.. the list goes on. I only wish i went with a female friend so i could spend more time there. We were there in April and although slightly chilly the market was huge. Cannot recommend highly enough,

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche du mercredi matin also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Marche du mercredi matin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marche du mercredi matin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marche du mercredi matin to your Saves list