We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring a big bag and get ready for lots of tasting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marche du mercredi matin

Marche du mercredi matin
Place de la Republique, Place Jules Pellissier | Avenue de la Résistance, Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
+33 (0) 4 90 92 08 10
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction Details
harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Bring a big bag and get ready for lots of tasting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went to this market yesterday. It is partially located on the north and west sections of the ring road around the old section, and partially on the tiny pedestrians streets through the center. It was great to meander through the old section and see the cute shops too. The best advice we got was from a lady in the Tourist Office On the way into town. We followed her advice which worked out perfectly...get there early to get parking. We got there at about 7:15 and easily found good parking about a 3 minute walk away. She said that at 8:00-8:30 parking is already very tight and you might have to walk a long time. The booths were varied as already mentioned and we couldn't help but to buy a lot! Bring a big shopping ba and a good appetite. Lots of samples of the local foods!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Gourmet treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The market in Saint-Remy is a massive, crowded, blocks-long bazaar full of clothes, linens, soap, children’s books, candles, knives, used records and compact disks, essential oils, lavender, junky tourist souvenirs, and food. Amazing food! The incredible diversity of gourmet food is the real draw here: olives, olive oils, cheeses, honey, artisan breads, candied almonds, nougat, truffles, girolles (a.k.a. chanterelles), cured meats, artichokes, fruit, and assorted salad greens. The vendors continuously tempt you with samples, and invariably what they offer is good, so you wind up buying way more than you would imagine. At least that’s what happened to us. We enjoyed a fantastic picnic afterwards and had plenty left to cook a couple of delicious meals back at our apartment.

We noticed prices varied from vendor to vendor, and not everything for sale is local, even among the foods. There are deals to be had if you search, but don’t take too long: the stalls all close up around 1 pm and they clean up fast. By 2 pm, you’d never know there was a market there at all. The Saint-Remy market was the first one we experienced on our trip, and the other Provencal markets we checked out did not live up to its standards.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“WOW...WHAT A MARKET”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Travelling through France for 5 weeks, I intentionally saw a lot of markets and for sure this one was amongst the best. It is quite lovely the way it weaves its' way through all the narrow streets and squares. Fresh food abounds as well as prepared foods, and is a delight to the senses. As you stroll leisurely from stall to stall you never know what you will encounter next...crafts, shoes, jewelry, linens, lavender...you name it. It was quite wonderful, well worth a detour to be there on the Wednesay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“I dream of going back..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If i could go back to provence, i would spend so much more time at this market. The food, the clothes, the atmosphere are all amazing. There is amazing seafood, fruits, vegetables, jewellery, shoes.. the list goes on. I only wish i went with a female friend so i could spend more time there. We were there in April and although slightly chilly the market was huge. Cannot recommend highly enough,

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Provence's best food market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The market in St-Remy-de-Provence is huge & very interesting - clothes, food (both raw produce and cooked dishes) & typical handicrafts spread over several streets and squares. We wandered around for a couple of hours soaking up the atmosphere.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marche du mercredi matin also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Marche du mercredi matin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marche du mercredi matin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.