We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Site Archeologique de Glanum

Site Archeologique de Glanum
Route des Baux-de-Provence, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
04 90 92 35 07
Website
Update attraction details
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Ancient Ruins
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At the heart of the magnificent Alpilles mountains, the archaeological site at Glanum features the remains of an important Roman settlement that prospered from the 6th century BC to the third century AD. This fascinating site includes the ruins of both civic and religious edifices and is unique in Provence. Open:> 1st April to 30th September: from 9.30 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.> 1st October to 31st March: from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Last admission 30 minutes before closing time. Closed:> Mondays from 1st September to 31st March.> 1st January, 1st May, 1st November, 11th November and 25th December. Admission fees: Adults : 7,50 €; Concessions (18 to 25) = 4,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very interesting site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Glanum sits about half an hour's walk from the centre of Remy - it's easy to find - just follow the Bvd Van Gogh out of St Remy, past the tourist info centre.
It's much larger than I'd expected and there were lots of interesting and informative signs throughout (in French and English) to explain what you were looking at.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    83
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wailea, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Glad we stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We found this attraction from our GPS after visiting St Remy. When we were there it was quiet. Walking throughout the "town" with the written guides takes you back 2000 years. Our family enjoyed this visit a great deal. It is a must stop if you enjoy roman history. I am always a sucker for ruins.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2000 years of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My ten year old daughter was mesmerized by Glanum. The information boards in situ were informative, as were the models in the information area. A great deal of work has gone into the restoration and maintenance of the site, of which the French should be proud. No crowds which added to our experience. The views were fantastic of St. Rely and the surrounding area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“True feeling of what it was really like”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I visited this archeological site en route through France. The car park is nice and large and I would imagine in the height of the season this is just as well. The site itself is very well presented with a very good written guide so that you can walk around on your own but still get the true feel of the place. Very interesting visitor centre as well.

Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, CA
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you love visiting ancient ruins, this is the lace for you! The foundations and layout of this Greek and then Roman town are well reserved. You can stroll though and imagine what it would have been like during its active years.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Site Archeologique de Glanum also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Les Baux de Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Site Archeologique de Glanum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Site Archeologique de Glanum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.