We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical ambiance and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Roussan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chateau de Roussan to your Saves list
Chateau de Roussan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Tarascon, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Magical ambiance and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau de Roussan for four nights in July, 2012. The grounds are historic and St. Remy is positively magical. The location is great if you plan to do what people do best in Provence -- stroll around and enjoy the markets and the historic sites.

I would agree that, especially in July, a pool would have been most welcome at the resort. I believe that Chateau de Roussan offers a pool, so that would be something to consider if you can't decide between them. Also, we weren't thrilled with the not-so-subtle expectation that we would spend 30+ euros for an okay breakfast buffet when we could spend much less and enjoy a leisurely coffee and croissant at a charming cafe instead. That said, the service was great and we would gladly return to the Chateau de Roussan. We loved St. Remy and look forward to being back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    51
    22
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
127
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st paul france
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went to St Remy over the weekend as the weather for December was sunny and lovely. The hotel perfectly complimented the weather.

The grounds are lovely and peaceful. We booked a room "chatelain" at a very good offseason rate. It was large, nice views, nicely appointed.

The staff was helpful and welcoming. I left my charger in the room and they responded to my email inquiry quickly and have promised to send it on.

We will be back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our second time to Chateau de Roussan. We stayed four nights after our arrival from Paris and the train to Avignon and it is a refuge. Beautiful grounds, beautiful entrance, friendly staff, great rooms and bathrooms. We had the continental breakfast in the mornings which is all we wanted and I don't remember that being offered our last visit.
It's a perfect location for St. Remy de Provence, Arles, Avignon, Pont du Gard, Ste. Marie de la Mer and La Camargue.
Wi-fi was not available in our room so we went to the lounge off the reception area for internet, which was not as inconvenient as it sounds.
Would go back there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at the Chateau de Roussan for 4 nights in October, 2012 following a river cruise that ended in Avignon. After staying overnight in Avignon, we picked up our rental car at 8 a.m. and drove the short distance to St. Remy, arriving at the hotel early, on a Monday morning.
( Definitely take a GPS with you from home since finding our way to the Chateau would have been daunting without it.GPS was unavailable to rent at our Europcar rental office in Avignon).

We were very pleased to be able to access our 2nd floor room, called Manon, as soon as we arrived.The spacious room's 2 large french windows overlooked the courtyard and let in lots of light. The room decor was very attractive and there were 2 period chairs around a large round table, which proved to be a great spot to hold all our electronic gear, cameras and guidebooks.The very comfortable bed was flanked by 2 butler trays which could hold any other items.We appreciated that there was a safe in the armoire which itself was big enough for all our "hanging" clothing.The bathroom was very large and modern. The only issue was that the bathtub side was very high and it would have been helpful to have a safety handle on the wall for ease of entry.We did use the tub only for showering since there was a wall mount for the hand held showerhead. I did hear later that one could request a room with a shower.Bathrobes and slippers were provided.

The housekeeping was excellent and everything was kept spotless.A nice touch was the basket of apples delivered to our room in the afternoons.The reception staff was very warm and welcoming and all were always ready to answer any of our questions and give suggestions.We ate dinner at the hotel on 3 nights and had breakfast daily.The food and the service were very good.
From the Chateau as our base, we were able to take day trips to the Camargue to see wild flamingos as well as the towns of Aigues-Mortes and Saintes-Maries and visit Les Baux.St. Remy, of course, has the Wednesday market and both the Roman ruins at Glanum and the St. Paul asylum,where Van Gogh spent a year, are on the edge of town.
It was always delightful to return to the beautiful grounds and peaceful setting of the Chateau after a day of sightseeing.The elevator, that goes to the 2nd floor,was very welcome after hours of walking.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.
CJC Canada

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Chateau prior to a friends wedding. They live very close to the Chateau.
We arrived late after a long trip from the US.
They staff was very helpful and settled us into our room
We did otmget a chance to have breakfast but it looked wonderful. They delivered coffee to our room!
The surrounding area is beautiful and it is very easy to get to a number of sights to see the mountains and cities.
I wish we could have stayed longer.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, WA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

In some ways rating this hotel is harder than any of the others on our twenty-three night trip to France and Italy. We had made reservations for five nights at the Chateau both because of the expected "country" feel and because St. Remy seemed like a very central location for our planned day trips. But St. Remy is served by slower secondary roads and we could have reached many of our destinations more quickly because of the highways serving Avignon.

Our arrival at Chateau de Roussan confirmed our expectation of a relaxed country atmosphere with a long drive from the main road through plane trees and a herd of sheep with sheepdogs. The parking area was spacious and the metal or plastic grid material used in the parking area provided good traction and protection from mud.

The staff were extraordinarily friendly and the service excellent. The sommelier in the dining room was very helpful in recommending both wine and dining choices. Guillaume, one of the front desk staff was unusually helpful in suggesting sightseeing destinations and in making arrangements for us for our next stop. When we left the bellman took our luggage and my car keys while we settled the bill and when we walked toward the parking area found that the luggage was loaded into the car and the car moved to the exit gate from the chateau. The car was running and both doors open for our ease. So, can't say enough about the staff.

The restaurant had a nice, comfortable ambience and excellent food. We ate there on two successive nights after eating in St. Remy our first night. Chateau Roussan easily topped the St. Remy restaurant experience. Breakfast was average compared to our other stays on this trip but by far the most expensive. Breakfast prices seem way out of line compared to our experiences elsewhere.

The Chateau building itself had some attractive rooms such as the library. Our room was on the second floor with views toward the parking area. The room was quite large by European standards and had comfortable seating along with a table and good lighting. But it did seem in need of renovation and updating. The grounds included a graveled area shaded by large trees just off the checkin door that was used for dining in good weather. Unfortunately, rain prevented our using it while we were there. There are some ponds and other water features in the back but all seemed a little run-down.

In summary, Chateau de Roussan has many areas where it excells but a few areas that just don't meet the same standards. When the price is 220 euros a night exclusive of breakfast you expect quality everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

If you want to spurlge to stay in a several hundered year old chateau with excellent food, excellent service and beautiful grounds this is the place.

Eat at least one dinner here, especially in warm weather when you'll be seated on the terrace. Breakfast is also worth the spurlge. You can also walk into St Remy, about 20 minutes, for coffee and crossaint in the AM.

The staff are exceptional, even down to the gardener who showed us some of his favorite plants and what was happening in the green house.

It's a little difficult to find. The address doesn't show up on GPS. The folks in St Remy all seem to know the way and will happiliy point the way. But I wouldn't recommend showing up for the first time after dark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Roussan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Roussan

Address: Route de Tarascon, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#13 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Roussan 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only the XIIIth century could offer such a charming mansion, only 2km away from Saint‐Rémy de Provence. As you’ll slowly walk down the elegant alley of centennial plane trees, you’ll discover the “Château de Roussan”, designed by a brilliant French architect. Enchanted by his creation, he offered it a façade decorated with an elegant balcony overlooked by a majestic front wall; in the manner of a theatre stage set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chateau de Roussan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Roussan Hotel St-Remy-De-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Roussan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.