We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few small changes could make it amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Soleil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel du Soleil to your Saves list
Hotel du Soleil
35, Avenue Pasteur, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A few small changes could make it amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This hotel has so much going for it: prettiness and charm, a great location, spacious, attractively decorated rooms and great bathrooms with a spacious, powerful shower, a very good breakfast, comfortable beds, a lovely pool which looked inviting. There is ample parking for everyone and peace and quiet at night (mostly). So overall quite lovely.

We left feeling very content but during our stay we did wish that we had tea and coffee facilities in the room or even a minibar for some cold water/drinks. At the price they charge we would have appreciated being able to make our own cup of coffee before getting up in ten morning and a cup of tea whilst resting in the room after a long day of sightseeing. Paying more money and sitting on the communal patio having tea at a table in the afternoon is just not the same.

The breakfast is great, delicious really, but I do agree with other reviewers that management is not all that "smiley" and most noted at breakfast time. There is no sincere welcome in that warm way, and this really could change.

Be aware if you're a light sleeper that the rooms are not soundproof, someone stomping up the stairs outside our room at 4.45am woke us up, similarly someone above us on a previous night and we are sure that our early departure resulted in the same for others the next day. The TV was also way untuned, we watched BBC or whatever it was behind a snowy haze. A small thing but it makes a difference.

Would, I return? Yes, most likely as we were happy there, but I would check out the other options for any possible in room tea/coffee first.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    64
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
20
99
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed for four nights early June. Great location, near town, the Van Gogh walk and St. Paul de mausole. All newly renovated, mixing the traditional stone construction with a clean, transitional look. The hotel draws an older, mostly English-speaking crowd. Super quiet at night, so a great night's sleep. We came back from touring once or twice to take a dip or a nap in the hot afternoon.
My only wish was that the superior room had a fridge, and also a coffee pot or hot water pot. If we stayed there again I'd book an apartment room with a small kitchen. This way you can really delve into the local markets and foods, and make picnic lunch or dinner. In any case I don't think anyone will be disappointed with Hotel du Soleil - it's very nice and a good value.

Room Tip: If you want to try local Provencale specialties, book the apartment rooms with a kitchen and shop th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. It was a short walk to town and also very near the Van Gogh Art Walk (plaques showing Van Gogh's paintings in the very spots that inspired him.) Our room had a wonderful shower and good, free wifi. The decor is contemporary inside, but the grounds are traditionally landscaped and quite nice. There is a terrace, pool and beverages are served there in the afternoon. We rode bikes from here to Les Baux and found the scenery along the nearby roads to be lovely--olive orchards with poppies blooming underneath. Les Baux was touristy, but worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Just returned from a 4 night stay. What a lovely charming hotel. We had stayed the last two times at L'image which I loved. This time we decided to try something less expensive. I took a chance on this hotel and was not disappointed. Location is great 5 mins. stroll to town yet tucked away down a quiet lane., Large rooms, we had the ground floor rooms with patios and a small table and chairs outside to sit on. Good modern bathrooms with a great shower, towel warmer, magnifying mirror and modern fittings and wonderful French bath products. Simple but adequate furnishings and a King bed. Stone floors could do with a throw rug and sheers would be nice on the patio doors.

Breakfast was great, cheeses, boiled eggs, ham, pate, delicious croissants and breads, yogurts, many home made jams and fresh fruit with good strong coffee and choices of teas. No need to eat it elsewhere. We ate outside every morning as it was a sun trap.

Pool with lounges and shady areas for sitting. Parking was free. Every night at 8 the gates are closed and they give you a code to enter and exit. Wifi was also free and strong. At the reception desk the lady with short straight hair was very pleasant and helpful however the one with curly hair seemed like we were inconveniencing her if we asked any questions. It would be nice if she could be as welcoming as the other lady.

Overall This hotel was incredible value for money and I will happily return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

They hotel is lovely , very relaxing , rooms were nicely done. Staff were nice & very helpful.
Location was great only few min from all the town attractions. Food in town was great
Would go there again for sure.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights in one of the apartments. There were many good things about the place. It is in an excellent location. Easy walk to town or a longer walk to Saint Paul de Mausole and Antiquities of Glanum. The hotel is apparently an old restored villa and is very beautiful and charming. Breakfast was very good and everything was very clean. the beds were large and very comfortable. Our apartment was 3 rooms and well equipped for cooking and so forth. On the other hand there were some problems that were really irritating. Our apartment was on the ground floor and there were no curtains or other window coverings for the windows in the bedroom, the kitchen and over the top half of the windows in the living room. The bathroom was off the kitchen which meant that you had to keep the bathroom door shut while getting dressed or people in parking area could see into the bathroom. Likewise, anyone going up the stairs of the hotel could see in the windows of the living room, straight through the entire apartment. I felt like I was dodging windows the entire time while dressing. The other thing we found very irritating was that the staff/owners allowed some people with a very large truck/van to park and take up 3 to 4 parking places for several days, which made parking somewhat difficult for anyone coming in late. The staff seemed to be somewhat uncaring and unwelcoming. I would probably stay here again mainly because of the location and the general ambience of the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Our 9 days in Provence showed up some of the best accommodation we've ever been lucky enough to stay at, and rarely over 125E a night - here was another "wow" location.

Great location, beautiful, serene courtyard and pool, lovely tidy and chic rooms.

Good proximity to the town, or to shoot out to e.g. the Abbaye / ruins.

In retrospect would have loved to have lined up use of the spa facilities (e.g. massage) in advance, after fairly constant travel.

Great breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Soleil

Address: 35, Avenue Pasteur, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beneath the "Alpilles", this old thistle factury welcomes you at 300 mts, from around the town centre in calm and green surroundings. There are 24 rooms and 3 appartments, all with bath or shower, wc, air conditionned, hair dryer, tv-sat, safe-box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel du Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Soleil Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.