We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous moroccan cuisine in beautiful Provence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant la Medina

Restaurant la Medina
34 BD MIRABEAU, Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
0033432628674
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Grill, Halal
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“fabulous moroccan cuisine in beautiful Provence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

After hearing great reviews from Friends who live in St.remy,we decided to give it a try.We were surprised to find the Medina tucked away in a beautiful terrace away from the city center.We were promptly seated and greeted with a smile and given the menu,although all our friends had given us all specials they had all tried we knew right away what we were going to have.My husband had the tajine of lamb with apricots and prunes with roasted almonds,my 14 year old had the kefftas and I had the pastille of chicken.We enjoyed our glass of Rosé by the little fountain and enjoyed the marvelous terrace and all the great food arrived.The flavors were unbelievable,the food so sumptuous and generous in portion.Sonia the owner was so friendly and we felt like we were transported to exotic marrakech .We are so happy to have found this gem and definitely we will be back soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    99
    23
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Morrocan Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Restaurant La Medina is in a pretty courtyard location off the main road. With a welcoming host and a relaxing atmosphere this restaurant is well worth searching out. The food is tasty - my chicken tagine was delicious and the couscous was light and fluffy. A very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Refreshing ethnic alternative to continental cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Glad we took tripadvisors suggestion on this. My 'traditional couscous' was fairly "above average" but my wife's "pastille" was truly an unexpected delight.

Service was pretty standard European (not super attentive but friendly)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Sonia and Younes, a wife and husband team, warm heartedly invited us to their charming courtyard restaurant, away from the traffic of the main street. Unlike many restaurants in the area where the service may be suboptimal during peak hours, they listened with care to our dietary restriction of gluten containing products and reassuringly provided us with freshly made "home style" cooked foods. We did not expect a gastronomical experience for lunch but instead delighted in their unique way of preparing ethnic dishes. We felt welcomed and carefully attended to.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Morrocan delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our dinner at La Medina was delightful from start to finish. The food was delicious, well prepared and authentically presented. Sonia and staff were warm and enthusiastic in their greeting of us and in how we were treated throughout the evening. We could only imagine how special it would be to sit in the lovely courtyard on a warm summer's evening. Even with the damp cool weather we experienced in St Remy de Provence, we were basking in the warm sunny glow of Sonia's Moroccan hospitality during our evening at La Medina.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant la Medina also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Restaurant la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.