We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Food, walk from anywhere in Saint Remy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Estagnol

L'Estagnol
16 bd Victor Hugo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
0490920595
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
L'Estagnol is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $18 - $57
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food, walk from anywhere in Saint Remy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you happen to be here in the summer, get an outside seat. The menu is very good and there is a good wine selection. We were pleased to get early seating and were served with the best fish gratin we have had.

They deserve your patronage- park on the street and walk to the restaurant through the driveway off the main circle road in Saint Remy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    144
    28
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem Backyard Courtyard, Local cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Worth our exploring Trip Advisor to find this hidden gem's back courtyard. This restaurant is not your typical tourist one that are lining the periphiqe of Saint Remy's old town. Service was good and food matched it. I have read the reviews and now after living in France for a year or so, I would say the food was quite good. Menu was local, offering fresh seasonal options. Food was cooked well and was tasty. Our favorite was being in the quiet back courtyard. The restaurant is tucked away off the busy street and a wonderful find. Many locals which is always a good sign.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value in lovely surrounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Saint Remy has some wonderful restaurants and this is one of the best. It is a limited menu but very fresh and well presented. The garden setting is lovely - and away from the main streets which can get busy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Warm staff; unexceptional food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were warmly greeted and served in a lovely setting. We each had the fixed menu, but the food was nothing exceptional. I had the bouillabaisse: good broth, only one kind of fish, one large potato. None of the rich variety of seafood associated with the dish. Perhaps this is how it is prepared locally--I don't know, but of our four diners, none is inclined to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrice13, Propriétaire at L'Estagnol, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for your kind words. You ordered the "monkfish bouillabaisse" , so it's without surprise that you'd welcome this dish. The monkfish is one of the most noble fish found in Mediterranean. There are obviously many more fishes on our menu and in the sea, but they were not included in the title of your dish....
apologize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A relaxed and friendly experience with patio dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

L'Estagnol has everything going in its favor: conveniently located by the main parking area in St. Remy, a varied menu provencale including seafood and fruits de mer (excellent mussels in sauce "ravigote"), nice wine selection, and an outdoor patio to enjoy it all.
We visited in late May, when the temperature was just perfect.
Overall, a very satisfactory experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Estagnol also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to L'Estagnol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Estagnol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.