We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful service, uncooked food.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Cassolette

La Cassolette
53 Rue Carnot, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
0490924050
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awful service, uncooked food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We eat at a lot of restaurants and this one rates as one of the worst. Took over 20mins to bring the menus, another 20mins to then take our order and then forgot the drinks. Decided to skip entrees (wise choice) so when our food arrived, we'd lost the will to live. Partner's steak was ok (what little there was of it) but my fish was cold and only partly cooked. Sent it straight back. When re-appeared it was cooked but they'd removed most of it so only got half a meal!!!

There's a lot better in Saint Remy. Avoid this place!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    51
    20
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Bad food, Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I come to France often and love French food and am seldom disappointed. Had dinner at La Cassolette in St Remy de Provence and this was the worst dining experience in France in many years.

After being seated we were ignored for 30 minutes. The restaurant was busy so I understood the delay, but the service remained bad even after it thinned out. I had a steak that was paper thin, my wife had the fish which was bad quality.

My recommendation, stay away from La Cassolette, there are many better restaurants in St Remy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Should Rank Higher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

There were plenty of options to choose from including several fixed price menus. I enjoyed my dinner which was a perfectly prepared fish and my wife really enjoyed her meal as well. The dessert, Paris-Brest, was phenomenal.

The service was excellent and our server was friendly and patient as we struggled with our limited French skills. The atmosphere was very nice as well and I am surprised this restaurant is not ranked higher.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Friendly Service, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent a week in St-Remy recently sampling several restaurants. This was the only one we returned to for a second meal. It was a combination of the food and the friendly service that make it a destination for us. We ate from the 13 E menu. A favourite was the Guardiane de Taureau and the brie with tapenade. The setting is pleasant with some local art displayed on the wals.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fantastic meal here - so good we went there twice. Ate from the 13 E menu 3 courses - unbelieveable price - goat's cheese salad starter, chicken + veg + dauphinoise + brie with tapenade and olive oil - to die for!! Also ate from the a la carte - excellent. The owner was very pleasant and chatty as was Remy the waiter and the chef. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cassolette also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Cassolette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cassolette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.