We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but lacks atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alain Assaud

Alain Assaud
13 bd Marceau, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
04.90.92.37.11
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good food, but lacks atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Food is very good and reasonably priced. Only drawback is that whenever we've visited it has always been quiet so a little lacking in atmosphere. There are better choices in St Remy but there are also many worse ones!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    14
    13
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naarden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as surprising as it used to be ...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

When we first visited Saint Remy de Provence, dinner at this restaurant was one of the most unforgettable experiences. Three years later (we go there at least once a year), the menu is still the same, which wouldn't be a problem if the cooking would have stayed on the same passionate level. But it hasn't. Maybe we were in the wrong place at the wrong moment this time and we will defintely try again next year. We will go there once again ... of the sake of our first experience and still believing in the outstanding skills of the chef. Please bring back the magic.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Kindness Brings us Back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

I'll review the restaurant and then tell you the "back story". We each ordered a prix fixe menu, my wife had fish, I had the ox tail. Our meal started with an amuse bouche, then appetizers, salads, entrees, dessert, and coffees. The food was wonderful -- well prepared and well presented. We sat on one of the few tables set up on the sidewalk. The majority of tables are inside. Our meal and service was excellent. We'll definitely eat here again on our next trip to St Remy.

Now for the back-story . . . earlier in the day there was a running of the bulls in St Remy. Afterwards we needed to get into Avignon but the bus service had been interrupted by the bull event, so we needed to call a cab, but the numbers I had weren't working. We saw a young woman across the street at a restaurant out on the sidewalk smoking so I walked over and asked her if she could recommend a taxi service to get us into Avignon. Not only did she have a recommendation, but she also offered to call them and make the arrangements for us. She spoke some English so her offer was very helpful. That evening we decided to check out her restaurant since she'd been so nice to us earlier. And we were glad that we did because the meal was great. We also had the chance to find out a little more about our "personal concierge" and learned that she had lived in St Remy all her life and really loved her town.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“still superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

A year on and just had the same wonderful dinner experience. Great service, delicious food, specially the dessert. Seasonal menu created around fresh and local produce, so it's worth a try on different times of the year.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing - not as good as it used to be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was our favourite restaurant when we visited St Remy in September 2010.
However this time the tone was set by the limp rounds of toast served at the start of the meal with tapenade, and the main course of roast artichokes with fish was burnt. Altogether it felt very tired, and not good value given the high price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alain Assaud also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Alain Assaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alain Assaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.