We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very French Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La gousse d'ail

La gousse d'ail
6 Boulevard Marceau, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
+33 4.90.92.16.87
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Winchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Very French Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed an evening meal in this lovely traditional French restaurant. Starters were rabbit terrine and gazpacho soup with guacamole (unusual but lovely!) followed by Dorade and black bull filet steak. All superb. Service is deliberately slow to allow each course to be savoured... so this is not the place to go if you want a quick meal.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    29
    34
    12
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not for us thanks.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Ate here before leaving the region last Friday. Blimey - the effort that's gone into the interior is a bit jaw slackening......but ultimately, it doesn't really make a difference if there's a carousel, a caravan, 14 trikes and 26 sewing machines dotted around the place when the food and service are unpleasant. The waiter was comedically contemptuous, indifferent and a bit grubby. The food was at best average. Rabbit terrine was a pale, oily plate - you cannot make a terrine without dark meat people - salads were mounds of frisse with bits of lardons, whisps of goats cheese and puddles of bad dressing. Mains were oil oil and more oil - I needed a bung, not cutlery. Steak poor quality, fish overcooked blah blah blah. Depressing really. Must be loads of better places than this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this restaurant the evening before - our 5th night in St Remy. We had been booking in advance for our meals and were struggling to find a different one that would meet our requirements. From comments , I was expecting something adequate but no more. In fact we had the best meal so far. Our young waiter was absolutely charming and all of our party of 6 thoroughly enjoyed each course, from the amuse- bouche at the beginning to the biscotti and meringues that came with the bill. Delicieux! We will be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't miss this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fabulous meal, attentive service, and the most amazingly interesting interior. This was one of our best meals during a 3-week trip to Southwest France. The prix fixe menu gives an excellent value and the food is fresh and inventive. Make sure to tour the entire interior of this place, including a visit to the bathroom. It will put a smile on your face.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We ate here two nights in a row. The first night we had the 18 euro two course special, excellent food, and they treated us like royalty. An asparagus soup " mise en bouche" taste addedin and sorbet to finish. The second night we went more a la carte, excellent duck breast, and again wonderful friendly service, My husband had the fish stew the second night which was so-so. Dessert was lovely and we had complimentary cookies and sorbet the second night .The artifacts at the back of the restaurant must be seen, so if you are at the front , be sure and visit the washrooms.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La gousse d'ail also viewed

Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La gousse d'ail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La gousse d'ail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.