We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location with fantastic hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel de la Poste to your Saves list
Grand Hotel de la Poste
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 rue des freres J & R Kennedy, 13300 Salon-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good location with fantastic hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

We booked through an external website and prior to arriving we had received an email from the owners offering advice. On arrival they were helpful and informative. Room of okay size although a bit dark. Bathroom was large however. Room spotlessly clean as was hotel as a whole. Hotel located next to entrance to old town and with market outside when on. Parking is available through hotel and is necessary for Wednesdays at least when market is on; they only have a limited number of spaces though. WiFi is available although we managed to reach theroom allowance although I'm not sure how. They did reset it when we mentioned it wasn't working however. Overall excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
27
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a great find! We had a wonderful experience at this hotel--from beginning to end.
We discovered this hotel searching for an affordable hotel in Provence with good reviews and booked a triple room on a discount site. Only a few days later, I received a personal email from the owner, thanking us for our reservation and giving us detailed driving instructions to the hotel and a map of the town of Salon. The email also explained parking options. I was deeply impressed, this had not happened to me previously. The driving directions really helped out when we tried to find the place. Salon has some confusing little streets, but if you keep heading downtown, towards the astronomic clock, you can't miss the hotel. If you arrive by car, you can park in a special spot right behind the hotel that is cordoned off by a metal chain while you unload your luggage. The owners came out and helped us with our luggage.
Clearly, the hotel is not new, but nicely renovated. There is no lift, but there is air conditioning which we really appreciated in mid July. The bathrooms look newly furnished, everything was very clean. We rented a suite with two bedrooms which was roomy (especially for France.) The windows were surprisingly soundproof. We didn't hear much noise from the street, or the ice cream cafe across from our room.
The owners were so helpful and friendly. They recommended a restaurant in town which was truly excellent. They live in the hotel and speak both French and English. For a small fee, guests are able to reserve a parking spot in a locked parking garage, a very short walk away. I would recommend this, the parking garage felt so safe and in this way, your car is not subject to being blocked in on market days.
We really enjoyed the town of Salon, it felt much more authentic and less overrun with tourists than Arles or Avignon. At night, the town with its lit up fountains and astronomic clock was so beautiful. Within a block of the hotel, we found a great restaurant, delicious bakery and outstanding ice cream parlor with live entertainment. What more can you ask for? It's located close to major highways and it was easy to reach Arles, Avignon, the Camarque and the Luberon from here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We spend two nights at this place and we loved it: the location is center-town so it's easy to walk around to visit. Charming room, a little bit small but with high ceiling and all you need. Good bed, fan and a big window. We were in a room on the second floor and the view was on the center of this little town. Would go again. Great owner, friendly and available.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for five days in July 2012. We found it a perfect location and Eva and Claude went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Our room was very nice, clean and comfortable! The location was perfect, right on the town square and central to everything we wanted to do. We would recommend this hotel hands down! Thanks Eva and Claude for a great stay. Colin & Lois H. Vancouver, Canada.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel has excellent location, just a few steps from the historical center. The owners are very friendly, rooms are nice and clean. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as I was in the area on business. I really enjoyed the central location of the hotel and thought the personal touch of the hotel management was great, we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My family of four stayed for 2 nights. Excellent location in the heart of town. Very friendly and efficient owners - able to answer any queries. Our family room was large and clean. The carpark was a couple of blocks away but the owner provided a very good map and even emailed to us the night before! No lift but we knew this in advance. Excellent value for money. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de la Poste

Address: 1 rue des freres J & R Kennedy, 13300 Salon-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel de la Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former coach house of the 19th century, the hotel is situated in the city centre. Eva and Claude welcome you in their hotel and are happy to make you discover all the differently decorated rooms. The square with the Mossy Fountain, terraces and the clock tower -entrance to the old city centre- are in front of the hotel. Restaurants, shops, museums and monuments are all at walking distance. The hotel does not have a lift and is not accessible for people with disabilities. Please ask for a room on the first floor upon reservation if you have difficulties walking up stairs. There are no rooms on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Salon De Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.