We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to explore Provence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Abbaye de Sainte Croix to your Saves list
Abbaye de Sainte Croix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route Du Val-De-Cuech, 13300 Salon-de-Provence, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great place to explore Provence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was great. The grounds and view are amazing! The food is pricey but you have to enjoy at least 1 dinner there. It is top quality digestion dinner. They really push for you to eat all meals there which is kind of annoying. Only fault to be honest. All around great value and shabby chic.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    38
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
16
77
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

The food is extremely good, the wine list was good but it was the view we came for. In the summer eating outside it is just breath taking, the view over the plain must be for well over 100 km, you can see see to the mediterranean.
Great place, friendly people. I have eaten there a few time sbut necer stayed - it looks good though.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dnipropetrovsk, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The property boasts a large park on top of a Provencale ridge, overlooking a very nice valley. Being a converted monastery from 12 th century, it gives an immediate charming look n feel.
- restaurant is fantastic and ok value (this is an expensive place)
- rooms are small but cosy and romantic ( we got an upgrade, much appreciated)
- huge open fire in the common room
- priceworthy lunch options, but espresso too pricey ( 6 eur)
- you need to arrive in your car - we didn't and it was a hazzle, our own mistake
- staff a bit snobbish, especially one young french lady who knew nothing of service and was plain arrogant in the reception
- they offer a wine package which we misinterpreted. It meant they gave directions to local vineyards and their regular degustations. After we were a bit noisy, they fixed a more intimate wine tasting at a local castle which was great.
- going in late sep is too late, it was freezing cold, especially since it was located high up on a hill
- they have a good massage service which was reasonably priced
- salon de provence as a village has two soap factories which are a must see. Skip the nostradamus museum though
- they kind of limited the wife in the common room during daytime, a big minus.
- again, restaurant was great and the complete serenity of this place are the real take- aways

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Five stars for this amazing hotel in the center of Provence... Imagine yourself sitting on the stone terrace with a glass of wine, looking down the mountainside at an incredible view with Marsailles and the Mediterranean just over the horizon! Life as it was meant to be lived! The restaurant staff made us feel like VIP/special guests -- we sat on the terrace for appetizers then moved in to our table by the fireplace -- they could not possibly have been more friendly. The matre d' gave us an education regarding local vineyards and recommended a superb wine for dinner which, by the way, was also wonderful! The rooms -- also perfect. We stayed at Abbaye de Sainte Croix for two nights and loved every minute of our experience. The front desk staff treated us like family. I would recommend this hotel as a "must stay" for the central location between Avignon, Arles and Aix-en-Provence.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

After days of visiting in Provence, yesterday we moved in to this lovely hotel in Salon de Provence. You can immediately feel the calmness and peacefulness of this hotel. After we moved in and settled in our room, I and my husband decided to take a walk around this hotel. It won't take you too long to realise that there are no more stress and tiredness from days of travel. The tranquil atmosphere, the magnificent scenery and gently brezze simply make you fall in love with this place, this hotel. We found a wonderful spot of this hotel, its on the cliff side. We sat down on the greens and sing songs after songs like young kids with beautiful view. I had my dinner with my familly in this well Provence touched and designed salle a manger. Relax with fine quality ! The food is nice, same to the fine quality of service. We been travel from Bordeaux to Provence and trust me, after days of visiting, I can tell the difference already. Both are nice place with their own charm and characteristic. This hotel room owns its Provence style without comprimise any modern facility and quality. The hotel staff also makes you feel warm welcome with great hospitality. If I travel once again to Provence, I'll definitely come back and enjoy this unforgatble memory. It is simply worthy !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Mass
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Beautiful setting with lots of trails, nice pool, helpful and polite staff. Rooms are "climatisee" which is great for us Americans, with lots of little goodies (slippers, products of the area) awaiting guests in the room. Our room had a terrace with a view of Salon de Provence.

The only things preventing this from being 5 stars are: (1) food is good but not what you would expect for the price, prices being at the "gastronomique" level;; (2) we found another place in Beaume de Venise (Clos de Saint Saourde) that we will also be reviewing, that was a somewhat better value (albeit no air conditioning, which might be worth the difference in price in midsummer

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

My husband and I just stayed at the Abbaye for a week and loved it. It's a quiet hotel that reminds you of staying at a private home, like the Tishka used to in Marrakesh. The grounds are lovely and the view is to die for. The Abbaye isn't a Four Seasons nor a Ritz Carlton, but it is sufficiently luxurious if you like to be spoiled (comme moi LOL), without being overrun by staff as one sometimes can be at a 5-star hotel (although you don't get the 5-star fabulosity, either -- but you don't miss it, trust me). The staff is VERY helpful (a RARITY in France!!!!) and there's nothing they won't do to help you. I loved the tranquility of it all -- we went to rest and repose, and we were able to do just that. The pool is super quiet and not overrun with 10,000 screaming people or children. (I wouldn't bring anyone under teenage years here, btw -- it's not a hotel that's geared towards little kids.) You can go on great hikes all around the property and the view reeeeally is stunning. The rooms are recently done and stylishly simple. We were on the ground floor and had centipedes as house guests, though, because of recent rains; housekeeping came to remove them frequently and they weren't a bother in the end (and I'm not a bug-friendly type of girl LOL). We ate almost all of our meals at the hotel, and the food is FANTASTIC. Even when we slept in and missed scheduled meal times, they'd still find something to serve us on the terrace, like a lovely salad or a sandwich with a chilled glass of rose. We're wild about the Abbaye and will definitely make it our HQ for yearly visits to Provence (p.s. -- it's ideally located for exploring the region by car).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbaye de Sainte Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye de Sainte Croix

Address: Route Du Val-De-Cuech, 13300 Salon-de-Provence, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Salon-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Salon-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye de Sainte Croix 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the rocky outcrops of Salon-de-Provence, a tiny Provence town, which is ideally located to explore everything this delightful area has to offer, there is a tranquil spot where time would appear to have stood still. This 12th century abbey in the hearth of twenty hectares of Provençal gardens and garrigue offers spectacular views of the Alpilles Valley and the countryside surrounding Salon-de-Provence. The rooms still bear traces of the Cistercian monks who once occupied the abbey and boast a décor that blends charm and authenticity and provides a calm and restful atmosphere. You will be delighted with the hotel's attentive service and the culinary delights served in both restaurants which offer delicious dishes based on seasonal local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Abbaye de Sainte Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbaye De Sainte Croix Hotel Salon-De-Provence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbaye de Sainte Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.