We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese and wine forever..!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Part des Anges

La Part des Anges
Rue Sainte, Marseille, France (Saint-Victor)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #613 of 1,325 restaurants in Marseille
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Saint-Victor
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheese and wine forever..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I love everything about this place, and have been here twice. Great selection of wines and fantastic cheeses! And I also love the athmosphere, it's so cosy. Can't wait to go back to Marseille, will definitely go eat in La Part des Anges again!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    12
    32
    11
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Top Contributor
1,237 reviews 1,237 reviews
735 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
5,200 helpful votes 5,200 helpful votes
“Wensite not working and restaurant closed on Sunday night.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

In Marseille for only a few days and this place coming recommended we tried to find it on its website which was only loading a blank page. Another reputable review site indicated opening on a Sunday till two am so we walked over from out hotel tonight only to find it closed without any sign or explanation. Can't say we feel sufficiently motivated to come back on spec another day. Be warned. Our scores are a reflection of our wasted time, the failure of the wensite and the complete lack of information. Should say that most other restaurants were open and we found another within 150m.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent! So good we ate there twice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This restaurant/wine bar was recommended by a colleague. We were in Marseilles on our honeymoon, and for two weeks had been waiting to taste food like we tasted it at La Part des Anges. We were lucky enough to get a table outside as there is only seating for about 25 people outdoors - much seating indoors but it was too hot. The menu is displayed on chalkboards which are plonked on to your table for viewing. Don't expect a starter as there aren't any, it's mains and dessert. There were perhaps 8 mains to choose from. The lentil salad with pork in a mustard cream sauce was memorable. Utterly delicious. The menu changes daily so going back a second time was an easy decision.

The service was very good, and the wine is on recommendation by the waiters - you won't get a wine list. Some of the wines are written up by the bar - but not close to the 300 available.

The second night we returned it was full but we were encouraged to wait for a table and were happy to do so, salivating at the prospect of another excellent meal whilst sipping a white wine apertif. Two mains, a caraf of wine and a shared dessert was 60 euros. Worth every penny, and would have been happy to pay more.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and I stumbled upon during the leg of our honeymoon we spent in Marseille. We walked into what looked like a very cool wine bar and saw that they had seating so we stayed for dinner. It's pretty casual, but decorated w/ a lot neat artifacts and a great laid back ambiance. Everyday, based on what's fresh and what the chef feels like making, a new chalk board is covered w/ the menu du jour. (We went back the next night for dinner and it was completely different.) I speak a little French but certainly not enough to understand menus. A very nice waitress helped us through it (as best she could) and we basically just ended up pointing at the board and hoping for the best - it worked! The meals we had were incredible. Braised lamb leg w/ hearty vegetables in this incredible sauce, the best mashed potatoes I have had, delicate white fish in a butter sauce...magnifique! Like I said, we came back for dinner the next night. Bottom line - fantastic food, great wine, nice service, and a meal you'll never forget!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

This beautiful wine bar and restaurant was a pleasure to visit. The atmosphere is relaxed and chic and the service was exceptional with the waiters switching effortlessly to English when our French failed us. We put ourselves in the hands of the waiters for the wines as we ordered our food, and they didn't let us down - starting with an excellent grenache and moving on to a spectacular pinot noir from Borgogne. The food lived up to the quality of the wine. I had a lamb in a mustard crust and my partner had a vegetarian dish which was also good. The deserts were as good as you would expect for France.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Part des Anges also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to La Part des Anges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Part des Anges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.