We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and simple good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Chez Jeannot

Pizzeria Chez Jeannot
Vallon des Auffes, 13007 Marseille, France
+33 4 91 52 11 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #433 of 1,434 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $37 - $73
Cuisines: Pizza, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vevey, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic location and simple good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Fantastic location neasted in a cute harbor. We couldn t figure out from the road.
Good fish soup and simple fresh fish. Pleasant waiter

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    123
    73
    47
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lanaken, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First eat here and the next time go to Fonfon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After driving around for half an hour trying to find a parking place for our car on one of the many small streets around this petit harbour we walked down and chose Jeanno. Nice fish soup, great scallops and a crowd consisting of locals (always a good sign) and people from many other countries. Also, one of the great things of sitting outside is watching the people arriving in big cars for Fonfon, the restaurant famous for its bouillabaise opposite Jeanno's and the next place to visit when you are in Marseiile again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Okay food, nothing great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place came recommended by a pharmacy when we were asking about bouillabaisse who told us this is more reasonable than Fonfon located in the same neighborhood. We decided on this place since we had a child with us who would eat only pasta and Fonfon didn't have any. This place actually doesn't serve bouillabaisse but does have fish soup as starters which were very nice but that's about the only nice dish there. The pasta was rather tasteless and pizzas just so-so. Others in my party did like the food but agreed it was nothing great. It was a really windy day and we made the mistake of sitting outside upstairs, where the wind is strongest. It was also sunny day and since the patio downstairs was full, we were offered upstairs with the threat that we weren't allowed to change our minds. We should've heeded that warning as it got too windy and cold to really enjoy the food which was cold almost immediately after it was brought to our table. The place does have a great view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location, good seafood, but service to be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Vallon des Auffes where this pizzeria is located used to be a well know secret of people living in Marseilles but the presence of renowned restaurant around (Epuisette and Fonfon) makes it today a popular place for tourist as well, if i compare to what it was 15 years ago.
Back, then, always on a budget, i like Jeannot for his very reasonable prices and pretty good pizza (I was born in Marseilles, and moved oversea ages ago).
FF today and services and freshness of the food is more important the budget. Luckily for me as it is not really anymore a budget restaurant, even if still quite reasonable priced. All in all it was a good experience. Fish soup was pretty good, as was the rouille sauce. the oysters looked nice, and the fried calamari were well cooked and not mushy.
The bad surprise was the pizza. I read a review here mentioning not thin crust and fresh tomatoes as a good thing. Making my own pizzas in a wood fired oven, i beg to differ. I even at one point wondered if the dough was not made in advance and frozen (crusty outside and very soft, close to raw, inside is a sign) and the sauce seemed to me to be purely tomato puree.
Here goes one star,
The other star is gone because even if it was middle fo the summer, lunch time, the restaurant was far from full, and the servers seemed to be very their head, running around, but not very efficient. Here goes another.
I might anyway go abck with visitors because the Vallon is a place to visit and not everybody can afford Fonfon or L'Epuisette. I just won't order any pizzas... to bad given the place is supposed to be a pizzeria and sued to be a good one!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Awesome View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We split on the pizza, with 3 of us LOVING the pizza, and one who thought it was okay. Very fresh, and not at all like the regular very thin crust you find throughout France. Whole fresh tomatoes are a must! View is absolutely stunning. Salad verte was excellent. Service was weak. Slow, inconsistent, a little rude. Also, they moved us off the porch where we had drinks because they didn't serve dinner there... but by the time we left, the porch was filled with people eating dinner. Also, not much of a seafood menu

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Chez Jeannot also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Pizzeria Chez Jeannot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Chez Jeannot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.