We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class for bouillabaise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Une Table au Sud

Une Table au Sud
2 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France (Hôtel de Ville)
+33 4 91 90 63 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 1,515 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $85
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Hôtel de Ville
1 review
“Top class for bouillabaise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 via mobile

The restaurant was picked for specializing in bouillabaise and the Michellin rating. We had been hallucinating about having bouillabaise on the dockside in Marseille for decades and we were not disappointed.
The entry, the welcome, the light, ambience for this lunchtime event could not have been better.
The wines proposed from kir royale through the whites for the starter, intermediate and main and sauternes for deserts were fantastic.
The presentation on all 5 dishes was the best I have EVER seen. See pictures. Just simply mindboggling creativity and attention to detail.
This event was a 50th birthday celebration and we picked a MSC cruiseship to bring us to the bouillabaise in Marseille.
Another thing that was really appealing was the humble attitude the their success as a restaurant. I could tell from the way they accepted our feedback that they did not take success for granted.
All in all a restaurant visit we will remember and cherish for decades.

Visited May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    50
    23
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
389 reviews 389 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
667 helpful votes 667 helpful votes
“Great views adn service food good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

The views of the port of Marsielle are great, the service was very good the food was okay. I was expected really great seafood and I was a little disappointed. The price was also high especially given the quality but it was just not as good as i expected but it is okay.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A nice anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I chose this place for my husband's anniversary as I was looking for some gastronomic experiment. When I bought the gift card and made the reservation I specified it was an anniversary dinner. We got a really nice table for two with a view on the Vieux Port. Food was nice but definitely not unforgettable as I hoped for given the fact that it is a one star in the Michelin guide. If I am to remember something of what they served, it would be the amuse bouche hors menu. Everything else was nice but regular, even if somehow innovative in the combinations and in the molecular associations proposed for the mousses and the purées. Beverages were not included in the menu and they were a bit pricey but nicely chosen by the sommelier. However I expected a little candle on the cake or a nice discreet Happy anniversary moment from the waiters which is generally created in other restaurants whenever one specifies it is a celebration dinner. It was not the case. Globally, nice food, nice view but not a...once in a lifetime kind.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great lunch meny, nicely presented and very well executed. A bit pricy but the food and it's presentation make it worthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Dinner two night ago just splendid . Service very good, food excellent. His take go bouillabaisse is very advanced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Une Table au Sud also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Une Table au Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Une Table au Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.