We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice anniversary dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Une Table au Sud

Une Table au Sud
2 Quai du Port, 13002 Marseille, France (Hôtel de Ville)
+33 4 91 90 63 53
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 1,500 Restaurants in Marseille
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $32 - $87
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Hôtel de Ville
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A nice anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

I chose this place for my husband's anniversary as I was looking for some gastronomic experiment. When I bought the gift card and made the reservation I specified it was an anniversary dinner. We got a really nice table for two with a view on the Vieux Port. Food was nice but definitely not unforgettable as I hoped for given the fact that it is a one star in the Michelin guide. If I am to remember something of what they served, it would be the amuse bouche hors menu. Everything else was nice but regular, even if somehow innovative in the combinations and in the molecular associations proposed for the mousses and the purées. Beverages were not included in the menu and they were a bit pricey but nicely chosen by the sommelier. However I expected a little candle on the cake or a nice discreet Happy anniversary moment from the waiters which is generally created in other restaurants whenever one specifies it is a celebration dinner. It was not the case. Globally, nice food, nice view but not a...once in a lifetime kind.

  • Visited February 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    40
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Great lunch meny, nicely presented and very well executed. A bit pricy but the food and it's presentation make it worthy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Dinner two night ago just splendid . Service very good, food excellent. His take go bouillabaisse is very advanced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Une Facture au Nord”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We made reservations for lunch because we had heard of their great boullabaisse and other recettes. We were given a window table which gave us an interesting view onto the Vieux Port and quai boulevard. The atmosphere was formal, a little stuffy and busy. Perhaps another seat would afford a different feeling...

We enjoyed the experience, but at a price I thought was too much. I don't buy into the expression, "After all, it's Marseille!" Without doubt, I rate food, service and atmosphere as average; the cost, too much.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A notch below perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

A beautiful setting overlooking the old port- and between 2 of the usual port tourist restaurants. Don't miss the special door! The food and service are excellent- but. There is a low priced lunch menu which is a real value, and when we ordered the more expensive lunch menu it seemed that there wasn't that much difference that we could see between it and the lower priced menu. Only the choice of the main plate and the appetizer. Surely not worth the difference of 9 euros. I know that is quibbling- but at a restaurant of this caliber, one has expectations. I would go again, but be more careful about ordering the set menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Une Table au Sud also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Une Table au Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Une Table au Sud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.