We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Charles Livon

Le Charles Livon
89 Boulevard Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
+33 4 91 52 22 41
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Le Charles Livon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #226 of 1,498 Restaurants in Marseille
Price range: $37 - $148
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations
London
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Firstly, I'm not sure why this is listed as a gastropub. It's nothing of the sort but a proper French restaurant. Secondly, there's no a la carte menu. Their website hasn't been updated. They only have 1 tasting menu per day with no choices. I'm not sure what they would do if you didn't like one of the main ingredients. We didn't ask as we loved everything on the menu that day. Moving on to the food, it was superb. Pretty well 1 Michelin star level, although the presentation was a little simpler than Michelin star restaurants, which is ok with me. And the price was well below Michelin star venues. The wine list was reasonable too. If I lived in Marseille, I would go once a week, it was that good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    43
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edgware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Should have a Michelin Star !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I booked this restaurant through La Fouchette via Trip Advisor for Easter Saturday. When we arrived we were informed that there was only one €49 menu with no choices for an amuse bouche, four courses and dessert. The owner speaks English and told us what he was serving that night, it changes daily, and he also advised on wine. The amuse bouche was a broccoli soup served in a shot glass, delicious. the first course was "small lobster" which was a soup bowl with lobster on top of avacado with potato 'noodles' over in a cream sauce. This was followed by "liver" (froi Gras) ravollo which was surprisingly delicious. "saint Jaques" (scallops) was the next course and they were good. The next course was "veal" although the waiter said beef, it was a bit rare and the only disappointing course. The dessert was a "chocolate cake" which was very nice indeed with a biscuit base. All the courses were small, my wife thought that some of the French men might have wanted larger portions. We both enjoyed the food and thought it was of an high standard and that maybe they were trying for a Michelin Star. This restaurant is highly recommended, when in Marseille go here and not the tourist traps by the port.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The meal was very delicious - perfectly sized portions so you did not feel too full but did not leave hungry. The service was prompt and corteous - would be good for either couples as we saw dining there or for a business dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A gem in Marsielle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Thos Restraunt restored our faith in contemporary French cooking.Chef Estevao Jerome has created a memorable experience.Set menus of 3 courses,tuna perfectly seared & encrusted with herbs,pork thick belly no fat crisp skin,perfect with raviolli of polenta filled with shredded pork - magnifiicent.My partner had mackerel with slices of carrot & orange reduction followed by grilled white fish ( name. Escapes me) with baby peas,mushrooms ,&other vegetables - magical.Cost with Chateau Neuf Du Pape 137 euros for 2.great values Previous night ate at Peron cost twice as much & not even half as good.This place deserves to be patronized.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good fortune”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We happened across the small and intimate Le Charles Livon by chance. We were hungry and tired and wanted something closely our hotel. We decided we didnt want to pay exorbitant tourist prices for bouiabaisse served by waiters in sailor suits and thought we try our luck at le Charles. A set menu for 49euros sounded good. What we got was a magnificent treat for our taste buds. The delectable frothiness of the asparagus amuse busch was only he beginning of a meal that is worthy of comparison with any hatted or starred restaurant in Paris, New York, Sydney or Melbourne. The dessert, a domed creation of toffee, sponge, icecream and chocolate was a sensational way to end our evening. PS. The service was fantastic!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Charles Livon also viewed

Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Le Charles Livon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Charles Livon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.