We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo to your Saves list
New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71 blvd Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 124 Hotels in Marseille
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location,ten minute walk to the port,rooms were a good size,very clean,lovely comfy bed,food in the resturant was very good and service was excellant,the only slightly bad points is that the water wasnt always hot,as it was chilly, a nice hot shower was needed sometimes it was just luke warm,and also they state theres a coffee machine in your room,what you dont know is each nespresso pod will cost you 2.50 euro,free coffee would be a nice touch as thats what most hotels do,we actually bought our own from the nespresso shop in town,30 pods for 12 euro's,staff were friendly and welcoming,i would recommend a stay here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Directeur at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Kim F,
Thank you so much for your comment and your stay among us. We hope to see you for your next trip in Marseilles during summer.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    243
    87
    37
    24
See reviews for
44
251
33
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herzogenaurach, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Stayed here for two nights for a business trip/conference. The main part of the hotel is nice and modern. It was easy walking distance to some lovely bars and restaurants. My room wasn't great as it was constantly too hot. I couldn't get the aircon (aka hot air blower) to cool the room down and even leaving the window open didn't work enough (it wasn't warm outside as it was March). My room also smelled strongly of paint which was quite off putting.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comment. We take note about problems with A/C and we are sorry for inconvenience. Next time, do not hesitate to ask for assistance at the reception. We hope to see you soon. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The check-in did not start very well as we were told that our rooms were not ready at 5 pm and that they don 't know how long it will take. After a short walk we did get the rooms but were charged 1 EUR for taking the bags to the rooms - as we didn't ask for the service I think that was a bit rude. Luckily I did not give a tip.

Room was nice, modern and spacious with large bathroom. Even though some tiles were cracked and it was really warm in the room my stay here was very pleasant.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Knellas, we thank you for your comment and we are sorry for the inconveniences at your arrival. We are glad you appreciated your stay and we hope to have the chance to host you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseille, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

The New Hotel has a nice location in the Pharo district, just in front of the Palais du Pharo entrance. Formely the Pasteur Institute building, the lobby is nice and the staff polite and helpful. Deco is young & trendy, rooms are OK (we had a problem with the flush and were immediatedly proposed to move to another room - actually we decided to keep the room and while having our breakfast a plumber came and fixed it first thing in the morning). Breakfast is fine, I did not try the restaurant. Two minor downsides: there is no fitness room (but well, when staying in Le Pharo, you can run on the seaside on about 12 km, so not a real problem I guess) and if I were the manager, I would heat the outdoor pool, so the guests can use the nice wooden deck, even in winter (OK it does not sound very environment-friendly, sorry). Overall, excellent hotel in downtown Marseille, 5-10 min walk to the Vieux Port attractions.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you so much for your comment. ideed, for fitness, you have “Palais du Pharo Park” but also “la Corniche” along the beach, there are some outside activities. Although I am the manager, I cannot heat the outdoor pool, as you understand. We hope to see you for your next trip in Marseilles. (in summer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

The entrance to the New Hotel of Marseille is in fact the old Institut Pasteur. Staff were very accommodating, food in the Victor café was excellent, and the bar had everything one might want. The room was fine although the carpet wasn't very new, and although it was just by the lift there wasn't enough noise to worry about. The only problem was that the power went off both when one left the room and when one used existing power sockets - difficult to work out why some went off and others stayed on. Situation very good especially for conferences in the park opposite.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
Thank you for your comment, we will welcome you again with pleasure next time you will stay in Marseilles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I chose the NewHotel of Marseille (La Pharo) based on a recommendation from my colleagues and I was very happy I followed her advice. The hotel is very well situated since it is far enough from the port that you do not hear any of the action, but also close enough to walk (5 mins) when you do want to see all the action. The check-in was quick and efficient. Throughout my stay the staff were very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is generous and varied enough. if you really want an over the top breakfast, then you can always try the Sunday brunch. I also had a very enjoyable dinner at the restaurant one night (see my review for the Victor Cafe). I was in room 129, which is right above the pool,but still too low to allow for an interesting view. The room was clean, but showed some wear, especially in the bathroom where there was clearly some water damage around the door. The bed was a little hard, but I got used to it eventually. But these a small details that do not outweigh the positives of this hotel. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the water, you need to make sure you get an uneven number room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, February 3, 2015
We will be very happy for your next return, thank you for your comment. Do not hesitate to ask a room in high level floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

If you're in Marseille on business or with family, this is an excellent hotel to stay at because it's slightly removed from the loud hustle and bustle of the old port and surroundings but it's close enough to it that you won't miss a thing. The hotel is right in front of the Pharo and the old port is a 5 minute walk down a small hill. The hotel staff is first-rate. They're willing to help and are friendly. The only criticism I have of the place is that the food is on the pricey side. A hamburger is 18 Euros, brunch on Sunday is 35 Euros per person. Ouch! If you're a government worker, like me, you might have some explaining to do when you submit your travel expense claim with those kind of prices. If you're on vacation traveling on your own nickle, then you might want to head downtown for food.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Luc_de_Bodisko, Director at New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, responded to this review, December 22, 2014
Thank you for your comment. For government worker or not, we have the best price of Sunday Brunch at 33 € all inclusive, food, wine, coffee, etc … Added to that, we offer all our guests a glass of champagne. We hope to see you next time and hope you will approved our best quality/price brunch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo

Address: 71 blvd Charles Livon, 13007 Marseille, France
Location: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Marseille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marseille
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marseille
#22 Business Hotel in Marseille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Marseille Le Pharo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel of Marseille - Le Pharo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.